We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Enough Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice Enough Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

First of all, the photo listed above is doctored. We view behind is not quite that nice, but still OK.
We stayed here in June. The rooms were nice, clean and had a good bed, fridge, coffee maker & a rather noisy AC unit. We would not have needed the AC, except they were having record hot temps there. We mostly slept with the windows open, though. There was a problem with our room when we arrived, but it was solved very quickly. The staff did a good job, but are not very chatty. I can see why some of the previous reviewers thought customer service was substandard.
It appeared to us that there is very limited staffing at the hotel.
We enjoyed spending time on the deck outside the bar. It was very nice with good Wifi access. There is Wifi access in the room area as well. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but you can get some mediocre bar food at the bar if you get really hungry. If you need anything in town, be sure to go in before 7 pm. Everything closes early. There is a small grocery store in town, but it is very expensive. We drove around 15 miles to Granby to find a large grocery store, City Market.
The Gateway is a nice enough place to stay if you are looking for easy access to the west side of RMNP and the lakes.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the road are cheaper, but there is some road noise from the highway if you leave th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thestanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    171
    58
    26
    15
See reviews for
146
232
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

What I learned from this visit is to separate the room experience from the location experience. The hotel was nearly empty; April is an off month. The clerk was very friendly and gave us an upgrade...nice king size room with a lake view. What I learned about Grand Lake is that it is best a place to sleep while you adventure in the Rocky Mountain National Park. Unless you are right on the water, the town is not picturesque. Our balcony lake view also included an excellent view of roof of the large fire/ambulance station and numerous other roofs. The lake was an afterthought. Driving through Grand Lake, most of the hotels were not on the lake so expect the same. As a place to rest after a day in the Park, the hotel was fine. The best views are in the Park.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Fredband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom with a queen bed and bunk beds. The hotel is very clean and nice. The restaurant was closed for the season, but they had a very nice happy hour in the bar. I enjoyed cocktails while the kids had shirley temples. We played card and board games in the bar. It was very fun and relaxing! There was no pool and the hot tub was almost always occupied this was the only downside to this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Snob72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

The accomodations were clean, comfortable and well decorated. The room was spacious and cozy. Staff were friendly, professional and attended to requests promptly and courteously. Price was very affordable and exceptional value for the level of service/accomodations, especially in comparison to some lower end hotels that cost the same or more.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank medic_wolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

The Inn was in a beautiful location and was very relaxing. Our room was beautiful and very clean. We weren't around the staff that much, but from what we could tell service was great. We would come back here for sure!

Helpful?
3 Thank DREA1476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

My family truly enjoyed our stay in the rocky mountain national park area in July of 2011. We stayed in Estes park for 3 days and then 2 days in Grand lake at the Gateway inn. The west side of RMNP is quite different than the east side.
The hotel is a very nice knotty pine type decor befitting the rockies, sitting outside with the fire pits on the deck at night or spending time in the hot tub on the patio at night was wonderful and the town is neat. We had a room with 2 queen beds with one of the beds having a bunk bed over half of it. It worked very well for our family of 5.
The hotel was a nice place but if you want to eat I would not recommend the restaurant. Although we were the only ones sitting in the restaurant we were ignored for 20 or more mins till I asked about food and menus by the staff only 10 feet away, then when we ordered we waited over an hour for our burgers and fries only to have them brought out very cold. They had actually been ready and sitting for some time. I rarely in my life have walked out of a restaurant but we did not eat that meal or try the restaurant again. We ate meals in town daily and bought snacks at the small store.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KcRadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

We went up for a night, for our anniversary, it is a beautiful place with plenty of amenities, it is right at the head of the snowmobile trail, so great in the winter. We are going to go back in the summer for a golf trip. They told us they have packages for golf and rooms. The room was very nice, it had a fireplace and a balcony. Since it had just snowed, the view was beautiful, especially the next morning. You can see the lake very well from there. The only thing was the bed kind of rolled in to the midle, but was very cozy. They have a bar with local microbrews, very tasty. Sauna, hottub, workout room, very nice people working there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
17.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
18.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
18.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,272 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Property: Gateway Inn
Address: 200 West Portal Road, P.O. Box 1169, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Inn is situated along a national scenic byway, 1 mile from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and the charming unspoiled village of Grand Lake. Our spacious & comfortable rooms are furnished in beautiful hand made log furniture with recently purchased upgraded mattresses and bedding to ensure a great night of rest. Guest rooms are equipped with A/C, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, and flat screen satellite TVs. Our amenities include a lounge with shuffleboard, a full bar, and a total body fitness center including sauna, hot tub, weight room, and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Grand Lake
Gateway Grand Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing