We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daven Haven is the Best Lodge in Grand Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Daven Haven is the Best Lodge in Grand Lake”
Reviewed January 9, 2009

We go up to Grand Lake twice a year, and have stayed at several local properties. Daven Haven is by far our favorite! Even when we stay in other locations (Spirit Lake Lodge, etc.) we end up at Daven Haven for dinner because it is the best restaurant in town.
I read the other reviews and some complained about the cleanliness and lack of luxury in the cabins. I am a clean freak and germaphobe, and I am more comfortable at Daven Haven than anywhere else. The kitchens are completely renovated, the bedding is clean and comfortable. The accommodations have a "rustic" feel, but we love that about it. We also love that the property is just off the main road.
We went up with 3 other groups of friends and were able to get private cabins and yet spend time easily with eachother.
I HIGHLY recommend Daven Haven!!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank skiintobreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    34
    30
    15
    13
See reviews for
48
48
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, CO
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

Just returned from a spontaneous trip through the beautiful Colorado high country with my wife and 2 kids (age 2 & 4). Grand Lake was an absolute highlight for all of us. Before I left the house , I checked TripAdvisor for insider info on lodging options on our route. I nearly scratched Daven Haven off my list based on a couple rough reviews. We would have missed out on a really neat place.

I believe we were in Cabin 30 (2 bedroom, full new kitchen, fireplace, full renovated bath w/ tub). Thoroughly clean, new carpet, some new furniture, plenty of room and the price was right. But these are cabins, not penthouse suites. Grand Lake is, thankfully, not Las Vegas.

It's about 2 blocks off the main street and lake access. And it has its own nice restaurant ($$$$, but very good).

This was our first trip to Grand Lake, but we will definitely return in the summer with an eye on Daven Haven for our lodging. Our kids just LOVED it.

  • Liked — The staff was so good I have to give them credit here.
  • Disliked — Had to go to the local market (2 blocks ) for firewood.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank QuickTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

Website is misleading, I thought we'd have a short walk from the cottage to the lake but found no lake access without going thru someone's back yard. The site also makes it seem like the cottages are well appointed. The beds were very uncomfortable, the carpets were dirty and gave contradicting information about cleaning services and grilling information. It's been almost 2 weeks since our stay & I'm still waiting for a credit to show up on my credit card. Grand Lake is beautiful but next time we will stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — it had a kitchen
  • Disliked — beds
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plhfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grand Lake hotels

California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2005

At the time of writing this review, there are two reviews for Daven Haven, one good, one bad. I was worried about the bad review but booked two cabins (#'s 32,33) over Labor Day weekend anyway. I think that the problem is one of expectations... if one expects a luxury up-scale property, this isn't it. If one realizes that the flavor of staying at Grand Lake that it is rustic and old cabins and a great town with no fast food chains... things go much better. I have stayed at Grand Lake Lodge, which has a cool main lodge and little noisy cabins and the Bighorn Lodge (typical econolodge hotel) and Daven Haven was great in comparison. It is .5 miles walk to the park in center of downtown, a shorter walk to the water (Point Park) and very quiet. The cabins are old and somewhat reminiscent of summer camp, but the kitchen, bath and carpets have been upgraded. There are nice quilts on the beds (gets cold at 8400 ft at night). For our family of 10, it gave us enough beds and a kitchen to save some money on meals and a nice place to sit out and watch the kids run around and play. We love Grand Lake - don't miss renting a kayak (Grand Lake Sports is great).

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank madoden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2004

The website makes you think you will be staying at a fabulous property - with all the wedding receptions and corporate retreats being held there. They even mention on the website that they want to give you a 5-star experience. The price sure makes you think they will! We spent 2 nights in cabin 33 which was a 2 bedroom/1 bath cabin and paid $195/night. I don't mind spending money on something I get value out of, but this cabin was dirty. I made my kids leave their shoes on because the carpet was so dirty - it had not even been vacuumed. The living room furniture was in bad shape and the doorknob came out in my hand, and there is no porch - just a cemented area in front of the cabin with 2 chairs overlooking the dirt parking lot. After one night I tried to speak to someone to leave, but was told there is a 2 night minimum stay and was dismissed. The only caveat with my review is that it was a cold rainy weekend and that didn't help my outlook and experience.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PTCTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2004

We have been to the Daven Haven every summer for the past 5 years and absolutely love it. The cabins are so quaint and fun. They have kitchens so you can cook if you want to. We usually cook breakfast and eat other meals in their restaurant or downtown. There are wonderful places to eat in the village. They have water sports or you can just lounge on the beach of Grand Lake. The nice thing about Daven Haven is that you feel you are really in the woods apart from civilization, yet there is a wonderful lounge and restaurant right on the property and within walking distance to the village. If you go in August, the turtle races are a blast!! It's truly a relaxing yet fun place to visit.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PV-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.4 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
13.0 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#6 of 8 in Granby
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spirit Lake Lodge
Spirit Lake Lodge
#6 of 20 in Grand Lake
136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins

Property: Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Address: 604 Marina Dr., Grand Lake, CO 80447
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A part of Grand Lake since the 1930's Daven Haven Lodge has only had 3 long-term owners since its conception, beginning with Lester and Cornelia Piper and Mrs. Pipers mother Mrs. Davis. The main road to Grand Lake was the street in front of the present main lodge, originally made up of a gas station and several small tourist cabins. The original tourist cabins still remain on the back of the property and are used as employee housing. The Pipers and Mrs. Davis owned and operated Daven Haven until 1968 when they sold to Tom and Betty Sowell who continued to build up their clientele and great reputation into the 80's when they sold Daven Haven and ended up with it back shortly there after. Leasing the lodge proved not to be a good idea and with new ventures on the horizon Tom and Betty bid farewell. The lodge remained closed for a few years and in 1990 reopened with its present owners Greg & Carey Barnes, their sons Dustin & Patrick and their dog Buddie. Now in their 25th season, the Daven Haven atmosphere is still a comforting place to come back to time and time again. With several familiar faces welcoming back our long time guests and greeting our new ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing