We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why I totally recommend this place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Sun dappled patio areas perfect for lounging, a beautiful lake right next door, and some of the best customer service that I have ever experienced! The cabins are actually quite large (our party had 7 or 8) They had full kitchens that you could actually cook in. The food in the restaurant was very good as were the appetizers on the patio, they even accommodated my special diet needs! Sheila, the manager who helped our party was amazing and friendly with a beautiful smile and a very warm welcome. We will definitely be going back here again in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 139 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stumbled upon Grand Lake and had not made any advanced reservations. A local restaurant proprietor recommended Daven Haven. My husband was leary of cabins because of past experiences, but I thought it would be a fun adventure. It was just okay. The cabin appeared clean. We were told it was a King bed, but it was a Queen. We had no reason to use the kitchen, but it seemed well equipped for longer stays. The restaurant was very pricey so we went back into tow which was a short drive, there was nothing around to walk to. We were disappointed the next day to find out they weren't open for breakfast. I would probably recommend it for a family vacation, but it's not a romantic, couples retreat.

Stayed: August 2012
Thank Lark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We booked nine cabins at the Daven Haven, sight unseen, so didn't know what to expect. But from the first phone contact with Sheila Brown, our impressions were all positive. A wonderful setup for individual families, comfortable lodgings in cabins equipped with full kitchens. The best aspect was the common space with picnic tables under a tent, plenty of green space for kids to run around safely, and a great horseshoe pitching area. Three generations of our family had a blast during our four-night stay here. The Backstreet Steakhouse right on the premises is also a huge plus! And Carey the caterer did a very nice job on our hors-d'oeuvres for a family party. Nothing but good things to say about our time in Grand Lake! I heartily recommend the Daven Haven, and Sheila Brown is a dream to work with.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We made our first trek to Grand Lake and visited the Daven Haven on the advice of several old friends.

The cabin was cute and clean, surrounded by fir trees and aspens. A cute common area was well-maintained with a variety of pretty flowers that seemed to enjoy the mild Colorado weather. We remarked at how big the marigolds were.

The rooms were comfortable, and we had plenty of room for our crew. The bathroom was big, and a basket of nice amenities was waiting for us, with nice plush towels. The kitchen was more than adequate. We could have cooked there, if we hadn't been enjoying all of the great food in Grand Lake.

The Daven Haven is a family business, with the owners and their sons helping run the place. It shows, with a friendly vibe that runs throughout the area surrounding the lodge.

We tried several things on the menu in the restaurant and lounge, and they were great. We enjoyed the happy hour food special, and got generous portions of potato skins (with whole strips of bacon) and the "adult" macaroni and cheese, bowtie pasta in cream sauce covered in shredded cheddar. I love a good bloody mary, and the bartender made one of the best I've had. She didn't use mix, and took a full minute adding tabasco, worchestershire, olives, lemon juice... it was certainly worth the wait.

A couple of good dogs wander around the paths. They're well-trained. One came up to our porch to check on us one morning when our door was open, but refused our invitation to enter.

Our human neighbors were nice, as well. They liked the place so much, they just bought one of the cabins for weekend trips up from Denver.

The Daven Haven is a short walk to the town boardwalk or to the lake. I think I was at the coffee shop in about a seven minute walk. The only time we took the truck in is when we were going up to the (gorgeous) falls.

By the time we had to go, we had enjoyed the beauty of Grand Lake and the friendliness of everyone at the Daven Haven so much, it seemed hard to leave.

Room Tip: We loved Cabin 30!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We booked this room to celebrate our 28th anniversary, it turned out to not be such a great choice. We were in cabin #36 with a queen & double bed. The rooms have been renovated moderately and acceptable for a rustic cabin. The uneven floors and small bathroom are tolerable and I'm sure would cost a lot to level up, but time needed to be spent leveling up the beds to compensate for the unlevel floor. We're talking 2-3 inches out of level. The head of the bed sleeps down hill on the queen and the double leans to one side. Needless to say two people are not able to sleep in one bed with a hasell so we slept in separate beds for our anniversary. Guess it will a anniversary to tell the grandkids about. The steakhouse had great food but HORRIBLE service! Definitely not worth the $100 price tag for two steaks and two hours between entering and leaving restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I really enjoyed my recent stay at Daven Haven. The cabins are spacious, open and inviting with a complete kitchen. The decorations make it feel so homey. All of the staff were helpful and friendly. The grounds are absolutely beautiful with flowers everywhere. I love all the jukeboxes and antiques in the restaurant. Every meal I had in the restaurant and bar was excellent, and the service was all I could ask for. I will definitely be back for another visit!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeAnn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Was so looking forward to a warm cabin with a fire and a wonderful all you can eat shrimp dinner at the steakhouse (as advertised) but instead what we got was a cold cabin NO firewood and the most expensive worst shrimp dinner ever...Long John silvers could have done better!! To start When we checked in at 5pm I asked to buy a bundle of wood and was told to go to the the local gas station because they didn't bother cutting any Wood for their guests, so we go to the cabin to drop off our stuff and the window was wide open and thermostat set down to 50 (it's freaking February btw) so we turn up the heat shut the window and decide to go try the famous steakhouse. Bad idea!! All you can eat shrimp except too bad 1 out of the 3 offered is all out! Ok fine try to make the best of it but the service was horrible, slow and the food that was available sucked and all for over 100$. After 2 1/2 hours of bad service and crappy food we try to get firewood at said local store and of course they are closed by now...so back to the cabin and guess what still freezing cold!! Never again will we stay at the big pile of expensive crap hole daven hell haven!!!!! Good luck if you do!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mvansic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.4 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
14.7 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#6 of 8 in Granby
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spirit Lake Lodge
Spirit Lake Lodge
#6 of 20 in Grand Lake
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins

Address: 604 Marina Dr., Grand Lake, CO 80447
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range: $156 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A part of Grand Lake since the 1930's Daven Haven Lodge has only had 3 long-term owners since its conception, beginning with Lester and Cornelia Piper and Mrs. Pipers mother Mrs. Davis. The main road to Grand Lake was the street in front of the present main lodge, originally made up of a gas station and several small tourist cabins. The original tourist cabins still remain on the back of the property and are used as employee housing. The Pipers and Mrs. Davis owned and operated Daven Haven until 1968 when they sold to Tom and Betty Sowell who continued to build up their clientele and great reputation into the 80's when they sold Daven Haven and ended up with it back shortly there after. Leasing the lodge proved not to be a good idea and with new ventures on the horizon Tom and Betty bid farewell. The lodge remained closed for a few years and in 1990 reopened with its present owners Greg & Carey Barnes, their sons Dustin & Patrick and their dog Buddie. Now in their 25th season, the Daven Haven atmosphere is still a comforting place to come back to time and time again. With several familiar faces welcoming back our long time guests and greeting our new ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing