We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Colorado for a reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Best place in Colorado for a reunion”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I organize and put together a golf weekend for a bunch of my high school buddies. We have been doing this for over 20 years and used to switch venues every year. We went to Vail, Durango and La Vita amongst other places and ended up in Grand Lake about 8 years ago. Ever since that experience, we have gone back to the Daven Haven in Grand Lake every year. It is the perfect spot for a reunion or get together of any type. The staff is accomodating and friendly, the cabins are neat and clean and the food is awesome. The steakhouse is the best resaturant in Grand lake and Carey always puts her personal touch on our awards banquet barbeque. If you have never been to Grand Lake, it has a little bit of everything to offer--golf, hiking, fishing, horseback riding, go-karts, shopping, etc etc, and they are pretty much all in walking distance of the Daven Haven. We already have our cabins booked for this year and can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    33
    29
    13
    12
See reviews for
45
44
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

If you like a really good burger -- handmade and cooked to order -- Daven Haven serves one of the best!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WesternRiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Had a spectacular dinner in the restaurant!!! The food is really quite good and the service is great. Our server was very friendly and knowledgable. We stayed in cabin 33 and really enjoyed the accommodations. I was expecting the cabin to be very rustic but it wasn't. It was very clean and cozy with everything you need. We truly enjoyed our time!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We booked two nights in one of the cabins at Daven Haven, and our experience was good to start. However, when we went to bed things took a turn for the worse. The sheets in both beds were obviously not clean - the bed my wife and I slept in had dirt and pine needles in it and the kids bed had long black hair throughout. It was late so we decided to wait to address the situation in the morning. When I talked to the owner, he dismissed my complaints as untrue and made no attempt to rectify the situation. I then told him that we were not staying for the second night and we wanted a refund for the second night. My mistake was leaving before securing that refund. It has been two months since that stay and still no response from Daven Haven. I have talked to Sheila twice on the phone, and sent two emails that included pictures of the dirty sheets. We will never stay at this establishment again and I would definitely not recommend it to anyone else considering a cabin rental in Grand Lake.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MJAllen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grand Lake hotels

Denver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We went up to Grand Lake for a last minute getaway. I have been visiting Grand Lake for years, but never ventured over to Daven Haven. I am so glad that we finally made it !
We stayed in cabin #29, and were so pleasantly surprised. The kitchen is new, and huge ! We only stayed for the one night, but this would have been perfect for a week's stay, and easy to cook meals in the space. We did make our own breakfast, and all the supplies were at hand.
The bathroom is new, and very clean. The bedroom was quite comfortable, and the sitting area/living room was cozy as well.
We did treat ourselves to dinner at the steakhouse on site, and enjoyed a wonderful meal. The salads, steaks and dessert were wonderful, and the waitress went out of her way to cater to my dietary needs. ( Gluten allergies)
We are so looking forward to a return visit, and next time we'll stay much longer !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcc-inc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Not only are the premises at Daven Haven Lodge in Grand Lake beautiful and clean, the pesonnel to a person are friendly and go out of their way to make you comfortable. I am very impressed with this facility. The Lodge is in the gorgeous Rocky Mountains within walking distanceto the lake. The cabins have kitchen facilities and are fully stocked with dishes, and towels. You have all the amenities of a hotel plus the beauty of the surroundings and pure air.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl32724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2011

I stayed here while visiting some friends. The Service is remarkable. Everybody had a smile on there face and went out of there way to make my stay comfortable. Had an extremely cold night, -36 degrees and the pipes froze. The maintenance staff came out at 11:30 at night and got the pipes thawed out. Couldn't imagine getting that kind of service around Houston...very refreshing people here.
Checked out the Restaurant and I was not let down. The food is absolutely amazing and the service was on point.
Can't wait to get some time off in the summer to come back out and stay here again. I'll have to bring some more friends next time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dsanders883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.4 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
19.8 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
0.3 mi away
Spirit Lake Lodge
Spirit Lake Lodge
#6 of 20 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
17.0 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#42 of 78 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins

Property: Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Address: 604 Marina Dr., Grand Lake, CO 80447
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A part of Grand Lake since the 1930's Daven Haven Lodge has only had 3 long-term owners since its conception, beginning with Lester and Cornelia Piper and Mrs. Pipers mother Mrs. Davis. The main road to Grand Lake was the street in front of the present main lodge, originally made up of a gas station and several small tourist cabins. The original tourist cabins still remain on the back of the property and are used as employee housing. The Pipers and Mrs. Davis owned and operated Daven Haven until 1968 when they sold to Tom and Betty Sowell who continued to build up their clientele and great reputation into the 80's when they sold Daven Haven and ended up with it back shortly there after. Leasing the lodge proved not to be a good idea and with new ventures on the horizon Tom and Betty bid farewell. The lodge remained closed for a few years and in 1990 reopened with its present owners Greg & Carey Barnes, their sons Dustin & Patrick and their dog Buddie. Now in their 25th season, the Daven Haven atmosphere is still a comforting place to come back to time and time again. With several familiar faces welcoming back our long time guests and greeting our new ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing