We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Lake Tap House - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Grand Lake Tap House
Cuisines: American
Description: restaurant opened a few months ago
Restaurant details
Description: restaurant opened a few months ago
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
159 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I visited shortly after Labor Day for lunch. Being off season, they were a bit empty, with one person covering the bar and food service. The room was pleasant. We were immediately informed that they were out of about three dishes and one of the beers. The sandwich choices were very limited, and cheese or bacon cost extra. We had a chicken pizza, which was pretty good. The beer was OK, but nothing special.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sondra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    0
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good Beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Good beer and food. Paul, the bartender was outstanding!! We had such a good time the first night, we decided to go back the next night. Our growler was mysteriously empty and needed to be refilled. ;-)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great beer and food was delicious. Casual, laid back restaurant. Come in your hiking clothes and restore your energy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dkmurray59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great beer, delightful owner and staff, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We visited the Tap House twice during our stay in Grand Lake. The first time, we sat in the bar and had a sampler tray of beer - large variety, tasty! The second time, we went for dinner as we were impressed by the menu we read the first time and it was OK. The owner and all the employees were very friendly and helpful. The salads had dark greens and lovely tomatoes. The bread was uninspired thin slices of sandwich bread - puzzling. My husband had the fettuccine alfredo and wished he had tried the blackened salmon. I had the stroganoff it was OK if uninspired. The calzones, however, looked PHENOMENAL and I'm sure we both would have been happier with those.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kmjohnson1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good beer...Food needs some help”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We happened by this restaurant last weekend and pulled in. I always like to try local breweries. We arrived mid afternoon (3 pm) on a Saturday. The restaurant has a nice open feel and a big outdoor deck. We tried the Stumpjumper IPA which was excellent. The menu is large and diverse. The food, however was average, at best. Between the 4 of us we ordered a burger, soup, a brisket sandwich. and some ribs. Guess we were all in the mood for meat! The restaurant was not busy. There were quite a few folks just having beers. We were one of two seated tables when we arrived and 40 minutes later our order finally showed up.

Servers were friendly. Not sure what was going on in the kitchen... Portions were gigantic, but just didn't taste that good. The burger and the ribs were too well done and the rib seasonings were pretty unpalatable. The kids didn't want to eat them. I sampled and agreed. Tthe dog did think they were great, though.

5 star beer
3 star cuisine

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ryq333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Lake Tap House also viewed

Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 
Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 
Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing