We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting, excellent restaurant”
Review of Rapids Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rapids Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We only stayed one night at the lodge, I wish we had had more time. We got their a day earlier than expected, but they were quick to accommodate us and even gave us a larger room for the same price of the room we had booked for the following day (it was occupied). The room was clean and well-appointed, though the bathroom was a tad small. Before dinner we had a glass of wine on the patio and listed to the river which run through the property. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was to die for! Even though they ran out of the trout I had wanted, the salmon was cooked to perfection. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 181 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed at the Rapids Lodge in Grand Lake, CO for four nights in August. Our goal was to see the west side of Rocky Mountain National Park before we went over to Estes Park for a family reunion. My husband and 12 and 14 year old kids stayed the first 3 nights in unit 8, an upstairs 1 bedroom plus loft condo with a kitchen. This unit wasn't available the fourth night so we moved downstairs to unit 7, a one bedroom unit. I wish we had just booked unit 7 for the whole stay. They were both nice, but unit 8 was the only upstairs unit that didn't have a nice balcony. Instead it had a one foot wide tiny balcony that wouldn't even fit a chair. With the beautiful location right on the river I was looking forward to sitting on my balcony with my morning coffee and enjoying the river. It wasn't to be until the last morning when we moved downstairs to unit 7 that had a very large patio right on the river with a table and chairs. Unit 8 didn't even have a table...we had to eat at the kitchen counter. We were able to sit on the lodge's patio area next to the river, but we had to carry everything downstairs...we couldn't eat a meal there cause it was too much to carry. The lodge itself and it's setting is very nice. The bubbling river is wonderful, although the website says you can listen to the river at night, which is somewhat true if you leave your bedroom door open. The bedrooms all face the parking lot which isn't so nice. Oh well, you can't have everything. Over all it was a very nice place to stay. Grand Lake is cute and fun to shop. We hiked on the Shadow Mountain Lake trail and say a moose in the water and some osprey in the trees. We also hike to Adams Falls, a nice, easy hike. We rented kayaks and went all over Grand Lake and Shadow Mountain Lake and it was beautiful.

Room Tip: Don't book number 8 -- no balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ntcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Thank goodness we talked to the owner over the phone before. We we're told, in a rather rude and ugly manner, " if you have to ask about the prices, you can't afford us." No we are not a wealthy family but certainly did not deserve this kind of treatment. After reading the other posts on this site, I'm really glad we did not stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank sally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were at the Rapids Lodge for another family reunion. The organizers love the area so they return us there every time. The owner is ruder each time, and should get out of the hospitality business. My husband and I stayed in one of the river view units which is dated but okay. Our children and grandchildren stayed in two of the condo units. The kids tried to turn in towels to get clean ones and were jumped for bringing in so many. My husband told the owner, who cares more about his dog than his customers, that he should smile more! Many in our party agreed. The kitchens are very well stocked if you want to cook on a vacation, but the beds/mattresses and pillows are awful. The restaurant is not open for breakfast and only minimally for lunch. They have no idea how to set up dinner for a group although they said they would do it. We had to improvise and did it better ourselves. For the money there are LOTS of places with nice views, full-service, and friendly staff; hopefully we won't have to come back to this place. We're already planning on Kansas City for the next one!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else! Or at least stay in a river view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emgTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We splurged and stayed in one of the rooms facing the rapids. It was beautiful. We have been coming to Grand Lake for decades, but usually stay at a family members cabin. The full kitchen was perfect for cooking meals in. I kept the window and door open all night and listened to the water rushing over the rocks. Very peaceful. http://rapidslodge.com/

Room Tip: spend a little extra for a room facing the rapids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverrock99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed in one of the smaller rooms which was very nice. Loved the quiet location right next to the mountain stream and enjoyed the one block walk 'into town.' Tom and his wife were very accommodating, and so was Carol. Would definitely like to come back. Madison, WI

Room Tip: The smallest room was very clean, overlooks the stream and was quite adequate. However, next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank esmereldaWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed in the "Chickadee" Cottage in early July 2011. The cottage itself was very cute. It had a nice size living room/kitchen area. The kitchen came equipped with pots, pans, plates, glasses, and utensils. We did use the stove and found it to be well maintained. The bathroom was cute, but a little oddly positioned.The toilet was up against the side wall and the only way to sit comfortably and un-cramped was diagonally. The shower was also on the small side. The upside to the bathroom is that it did have a heating unit in it, which, even in July, was much appreciated. The bedroom was also very nice decorated, however, the mattress was not that comfortable - I could feel the springs each night. The Rapids also has Wi-fi available, but not accessible from the Chickadee. Overall, I would still stay here again. It was clean, well equipped, and staying in a log cabin felt fun. Only next time, I would bring extra padding for the bed. As for the rest of the Lodge, the people were very nice, the view of the rapids (from the restaurant and picnic area) was awesome. And the location to the entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KesaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
1 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Grand Lake
547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
0.3 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Spirit Lake Lodge
Spirit Lake Lodge
#6 of 20 in Grand Lake
144 reviews
18.7 mi away
Estes Mountain Lodge
Estes Mountain Lodge
#22 of 28 in Estes Park
36 reviews
14.7 mi away
Dao House
Dao House
#53 of 74 in Estes Park
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rapids Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rapids Lodge

Address: 210 Rapids La., Grand Lake, CO 80447
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range: $81 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rapids Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Rapids Lodge and Restaurant (est. 1915) is located on the banks of the scenic and peaceful Tonahutu River in the town of Grand Lake. Known as "Grand Lake's Hidden Gem", we are just one short block from the end of main street in town (where all the shops are) and one short block from the lake. Most diverse accommodation in Grand Lake. Pet-friendly CABINS, RAPIDS SUITES (some pet-friendly), CONDOS (sleep up to 12) and LODGE GUEST ROOMS. The Rapids Restaurant is rated three diamond by AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Rapids Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing