We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!”
Review of Rapids Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rapids Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I've been coming here for several years and this time was the BEST!
I've always stayed in the cabins, which are great, but this time in a lodge room and it was wonderful as well! Sitting by the river is soooo peaceful! The food at the restaurant is superb and what a view! Can't wait to be here for the fall colors.....looking forward to the snowmobiling in the winter! Thanks Tom and Lynne .....great hosts!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clearick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Rapids Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 179 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

My family of five (2 adults and three grown kids 19-22) stayed at the Rapids lodge in early august. Had plenty of room and was within walking distance of Grand Lake. Very comfortable beds and very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed at Rapids Lodge in July. Stayed in one of their adult rooms in the lodge. The rooms there are very quaint and I loved the old lodge feel. Our room was nicely decorated and the bed felt comfortable. The owners were a Mr. & Mrs. The Mrs. was very nice, sweet, and helpful with everything. We liked her a lot. The Mr.'s manner was rather rude and gruff. He could be more pleasant and friendly. The restaurant with large windows looking out on the river is very lovely, but the menu is quite expensive. The food was good. The Lodge is located along the beautiful Tonahutu River and we slept comfortably with the sound of the water flowing by. The outside patio with tables and chairs is wonderful. We enjoyed spending time out there with our cocktails and watching the river. A very beautiful, relaxing, and tranquil spot. This place also offers little cabins and new condos. If you like quaint and rustic accommodations, along a gorgeous river, you will enjoy staying at this lodge.

Room Tip: Pro: All the rooms in the lodge are pretty and nicely appointed. Con: Our drinking glasses had lip...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naturechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Booked "cabin" sleeps 4. Not really. Sleeps 2 average sized adults in double bed and a ratty old mattress on a futon big enough for 2 small children or an average adult.in living room. Property decimated by "BARK BEETLE" so all pretty trees gone. Get to look at dumpsters and gravel parking lots, trailers and propane tanks. Noisy location on corner of street. Illegal overnight parking of RV in town parking lot running their generators. No stream, no quiet, no a/c. PROs: Price was not high, very close to town, and great hiking trails. Good for active people not spending any time there. 2 overweight couples could NOT stay there comfortably. My wife made the arrangements-she "volunteered" to sleep on floor on a sleeping pad we bought at camping store in town. Front desk lady didn't seem to think there was a problem with it?

Room Tip: Ask about getting a real bed
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fred k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed in Rapids condo 5. There are many lodging options here and its hard to visualize from the website. The front desk was very helpful in helping choose the best accommodations for us. You open your door to the sound of rapids rushing by! Very relaxing and clean condo. Nice restaurant too

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Domino04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

The Rapids is a collection of lodge rooms, condos, and pet-friendly cabins. The rooms are well appointed for any season, and the river view condos offer a wonderful view. The location is can't be beat, as it is one block off the main street, two blocks from the beach, and backs up to the river which provides a relaxing setting for reading a book or just enjoying nature.

Room Tip: Book early for the best selection of rooms. Check out thier website for individual room description...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tigertraveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Stayed in the Never Summer cabin: great! Just what I wanted and expected. Dinner in the restaurant was fabulous; staff and owners fun and accommodating. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TroubCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
1.0 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
532 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
18.0 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,055 reviews
18.2 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
70 reviews
16.4 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rapids Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rapids Lodge

Address: 210 Rapids La., Grand Lake, CO 80447
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range: $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Rapids Lodge and Restaurant (est. 1915) is located on the banks of the scenic and peaceful Tonahutu River in the town of Grand Lake. Known as "Grand Lake's Hidden Gem", we are just one short block from the end of main street in town (where all the shops are) and one short block from the lake. Most diverse accommodation in Grand Lake. Pet-friendly CABINS, RAPIDS SUITES (some pet-friendly), CONDOS (sleep up to 12) and LODGE GUEST ROOMS. The Rapids Restaurant is rated three diamond by AAA. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing