We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night in August. This was our second visit and it was great to be back. The location here is absolutely beautiful- right on the lake shore with no road in between (there is the hotel car park, but this is very quiet and does not obstruct the view at all- this is coming form someone with a severe aversion to cars blocking views- so it Really is not an issue!).The view across the lake to the mountains beyond is idyllic- you will never forget it. We were given exactly the same room we stayed in four years ago and were very happy! The room is a really good size, and very clean and comfortable.Our room was on the ground floor, opening onto the beautiful deck with outdoor tables and chairs-this was so gorgeous we decided to have a take -out picnic supper on the deck and enjoy the views, rather than go out to eat- best table in town!The staff were extremely friendly (remembered us from last visit!)and helpful. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms have access straight onto the beautiful deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MillyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 259 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in the amazing area of Grand Lake, Colorado. We stayed in one of the 2 room lakeside cabins and were well pleased. The cabins are sorta basic, but clean and served our purpose perfectly. The kitchen was small, but we ate at local eateries. The cabins were a bit pricey,but we were on the lake and walking distance to everything. Rocky Mountain National Park is only a short drive and is a must see. If location is important to you then this is the place to be. Would stay here again, probably next year. Staff was helpfull and nice. The deck at the front of our room was overlooking the lake and has great views of the lake and the mountains. Very relaxing!

Room Tip: The 2 room cabins have the best views and have an extra 1/2 bed in the living area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fufys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We rented one of the small lakefront cabins for one night. I asked to see the room before committing because we had driven past the "cabins" and they seemed dilapidated. The room, while tiny, was clean. I thought the price was a bit high for the accommodation (they must factor in the location), but we did not plan to spend much time in the room. We enjoyed sitting on the plastic chairs on the front walkway and watching the play of shadows on the mountains beyond the lake. The facility displays a travel advisor review level sign which convinced me it was worth considering. We plan to return for a longer stay next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank enniscs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This review is for the "small lakefront cabin" room, not the motel rooms.

I really liked this place, my wife and I stayed here while attending a wedding in Grand Lake. The "cabin" label for this room is a bit misleading, as it was not a standalone structure but a row of 5 small rooms along a boardwalk style front walkway facing the lake. You are sharing walls with other guests, and I'm guessing they're fairly thin, but it wasn't a problem for us, the neighbors were very quiet. The view is simply unbeatable, you are maybe 50 feet back from the lake and waking up in the morning to the view and sounds of all the fun going on on the lake is invigorating. The room is almost comically small, think NYC hotel room, just enough space for the bed and a suitcase beside it, and that's all. Bathroom is equally tiny, but who goes to Grand Lake to hang out in the hotel room anyway? Everything was clean and comfortable, and it is steps away from Grand Lake downtown with all the restaurants and bars.

Hotel policy is 2-night stay minimum, but give them a call and they might be able to let you in for a single night, that's what happened to us. The lady at the front desk was very friendly, but obviously very busy and with no patience for prima-donna tourists and their demands. Treat her right and she will treat you right, just remember that this is a mountain cabin and not the Four Seasons.

They advertise wifi in every room but it wasn't working the night we were there and I suspect this isn't uncommon, the woman at the desk didn't seem like she would be excited to drop everything and troubleshoot your Internet problems. Relax and unplug for a few hours. Grab some breakfast at the Bluesomething bakery on Garfield, walk down and eat at one of the picnic tables by the lake, and you'll realize that all is right in the world.

We stayed here at the end of August when the outdoor temp was in the high 70's during the day. We didn't need to run either AC or heating during our stay and it was very pleasant. I'm not sure what it would be like in the winter though, the insulation on the building was definitely minimal from the looks of it, and it might be quite chilly during the winter. Just a guess though.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
8  Thank zonker77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed there a couple of days ago with my grand children. It is an older hotel, nothing fancy but clean and in a great location. In town and on the lake. The woman at the front desk was very friendly and helpful! They also had a nice deck with patio furniture that was nice over looking the lake. I think the cost was high for the quality of the rooms, but again the location was good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank srwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This hotel and cabins are located directly on Grand Lake with beautiful, unobstructed views and perfect access to the beach, lake and town of Grand Lake. There are boat rentals immediately available as well as a public beach and park. The cabins and rooms are spotless and the staff is extremely customer-friendly with good suggestions and ideas for local dining and activities. All of the employees are friendly and accommodating to guests. The barbecues are abundant and guests have a wide range of options between local dining and the full kitchens available in some rooms. The hotel and cabins are quiet at night while being very busy with lots of families visiting Grand Lake on a summer weekend. I have never seen so many people walking through a town enjoying ice cream! Western Riviera Lakeside Lodge is clearly the best place to stay in Grand Lake for regatta week at the Grand Lake Yacht Club or any other time during the year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SanDiegoCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I am one who will research on line but when it comes to making reservations, I make phone calls.

Last year, I probably made 10 calls to Western Riviera and to other businesses to confirm the information. We were not disappointed.

We came back this year. It was a last minute trip, and we really wanted to go back to Grand Lake. It is peaceful, and is our life style.

I called Western Riveria and they were able to accomodate us. We knew we wouldn't be disappointed. The staff on the phone and in person are very accomodating.

If you really want to be on the lake, then call Western Riviera. This was our main goal. The view is priceless. They deliver what they tell you. The staff is friendly and informative.

If you are like us, taking a vacation is a big deal. So where ever you want to go, call and ask questions so you won't be disappointed.

Grand Lake is a special place and Western Riviera gets that.

Room Tip: We have been there twice and both places where great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AngieB888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.7 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Grand Lake
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
16.7 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
17.7 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
848 reviews
18.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 28 in Estes Park
2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events

Address: 419 Garfield Street, PO Box 1286, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Price Range: $108 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lake, Colorado lakeside hotel, cabins, condos & wedding venue at west entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. All properties within walking distance to shops, restaurants and activities. Offering outdoor year round fun from boating and hiking to snowmobiling, ice fishing, Nordic Skiing, snowshoeing and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events Hotel Grand Lake
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging And Events
Western Riviera Lakeside Hotel
Western Riviera Lakeside Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing