We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views and Very good food”
Review of Grand Lake Lodge

Grand Lake Lodge
Ranked #8 of 34 Restaurants in Grand Lake
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: t re-opened this summer. Lodge has been reconditioned. View is spectacular and food is wonderful and resaonably priced.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views and Very good food”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed there with another couple, and went to dinner on our first night. I had trout, which was cooked and presented in an unusual way, but was very good. I usually like it sauteed, but this was baked, as I recall, and it turned out a little drier than usual, but very nicely presented.

The view from high over Grand lake is spectacular. We were seated aat the window on the deck, which is semi-enclosed and heated.

A very enjoyable meal. Our waiter was Croatian, and learning English, but he did very well. We had him again at breakfast. teh following morning

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    104
    49
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Lake, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Grand Lake Lodge does not hire locals”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

It has been awhile since I was at the Grand Lake Lodge. This is a beautiful place with great scenery but the management sucks. I had a job here for one day, got a shirt and had to call about 5 times to get my pay for the day. it was ridiculous and the girl that manages the servers needs to be fired. She is the rudest woman I have ever come across in my life.

Also we went to a birthday party there with several friends. We paid $25.00 for brunch, bought drinks and tipped the waitress well for the drinks and then she charged us a 20% gratuity for brunch. She didn't even pick our plates up. We had to take them up to the cook because she did not want to do here job but she sure charged us that gratuity. I have not been back there since and I think that was two years ago. Don't even have the desire to go there again until they get different management!.

It is too bad this place only wants to hire international people as well and they do not do a good job. The one day I did work, all the girls complained about the bus boy because he did not bus the tables. Whey did they hire him then? Oh Well These people need to realize that they need to support the locals or they are going to talk bad about them and tell everyone what a bad experience they had and not recommend they go there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had lunch, server was fine but kitchen was very slow. Dinning room was filthy - dirty window sills and carpet that had not been vacuumed in several days. Portions were generous taste was only ok. Probably will not return

Helpful?
Thank Rushmidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
321 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Awesome view of the lakes, great service, friendly staff”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were well greeted as we entered into a great atmosphere and aromas.
We sat on the porch overlooking a beautiful landscape.
It was lunch time and after driving from Estes Park we were very hungry. My bride of 29 years ordered the tomato soup & turkey sandwich. (Very reasonable.)
I ordered the local favorite Buffalo Meatloaf instead of something healthy. It came with a summer vegetable, yellow cauliflower, mashed potatoes, and a generous helping of meatloaf.
The only reason I did not give them five stars is the meatloaf was very dry, not my style.
Other than that it was very good.
For $15. I should have sent it back and ordered a heathy salad.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mickeynbranson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

If you like the rustic feel of a wonderful lodge with an even more spectacular view, this location is for you. We attended a wedding on site and stayed in one of the cabins. We enjoyed our stay but were somewhat frustrated by the spotty wi-fi.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jadams1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Lake Lodge also viewed

Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 
Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 

Been to Grand Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing