We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Melanie” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Melanie”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We would definitely go back to Grand Lake but not to Grand Lake Lodge. We have never had such a terrible experience, ever. It was not that the cabins are so small or that you can hear your neighbors' conversations (the linens and bed were very nice), it was the service. When we checked in, the lady argued with us that our name was someone else (it was in the wrong slot) but after that got straightened out, we found our cabin easily. After a fun day on the lake (rented a boat) and driving around (we saw three moose, fox, osprey, etc.) we decided to try the lodge dining. We wanted to sit by the windows and it was a 40 minute wait but we did not mind. We played games and people watched. Our name was called and we were back by the fire and she sat two other people before us so we waited at the hostess station for our turn. She had given out our table to someone else who stated that their last name was the same as ours (thank you to the girl with the colorful straws for hair and the boy with the bright red hair). The hostess, who is older with white/blonde short hair, apologized and said she would get us the next available table. The "hostess" came back 10 minutes later and said she could seat us in the main dining room but it did not have the views that the others did (well, yes we knew that as there was only one table (Miller, party of 6) that occupied the main dining room). So probably 15 minutes later we had a table and the "hostess" said it was the best table in the lodge (really?it was across from a portable busing station) and "H.....", would be right with us. So, for the first five minutes we were entertained by the buslady, wondering if the pack of cigs in her pocket was going to fall on the floor (they did not). At first we thought it was a bit funny that we were not acknowledged (not a head nod, water or "Sorry, I'll be right with you"). In fact, a waitress with dark long curly hair and another waitress, the blonde with her hair in a ponytail, would look at us, but that is as far as any acknowledgement of our existence went. After eighteen minutes (being generous with the time) it was no longer amusing. We got up to leave and then and only then did someone acknowledge us but only to state that she was sorry we had not been waited on (that was truly the first genuine nice thing that we had heard). She said that she was suppose to be our waitress but then she had been pulled to wait on "the front" but she would be happy to help us now (really, thank you and she should be given a raise). We finally had enough and said thank you and left our "best" table. The "hostess", who did not do anything but give our table away and then give us the "best" table in the restaurant (who truly could see that we had not been helped, as she kept looking at us) literally stated, as we passed back by her podium, "Well that was quick". When we said that we had not been waited on, she said sorry. Yes, the Grand Lake Lodge service was more than sorry that evening. You would have thought that possibly the people who said they were us would have been asked to wait or that maybe we would have been offered an appetizer or a drink or even when we had not been waited on, even when we were eventually seated, it would have been taken a bit further. I will say that the cabin was clean but the cigarette butts on the tree stump outside the door could have been picked up. Basically, I feel that no one that we encountered had any pride in working there. We do believe that there is a reason for everything and we were on vacation and it was Saturday night and we went to downtown Grand Lake. We found "Sagebrush" and was promptly waited on and it was a fun atmosphere and did have great food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank COTravels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    70
    36
    12
    3
See reviews for
60
77
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Grand Lake, Colorado is at the western gateway to Rocky Mountain National Park. It is a vacation city with lots of restaurants, shops and lodges. By far the most interesting of these is Grand Lake Lodge, just outside the park and a half mile north of the Grand Lake.
Grand Lake Lodge reminds one of the glorious national park lodges of old with a its log great room, fire pit, and dining hall. It speaks of a long history with most impressive views of Grand Lake and the nearby Rocky Mountains. There are something like 68 cabins on the property. Ours was recently updated with electric heat, good plumbing, a smallish shower but comfortable furnishings. The cabins are generally without views and basic, but it is the overall property that is outstanding. There's a heated pool and hot tub, decks, guest laundry, playground, a rec room, stables, basketball and volleyball courts and trails into the National Park.
In my experience the cuisine at the dining hall was outstanding for dinner and cocktails with views of the lake and town. Breakfast was more basic and coffee service could be ramped up to match the general ambiance of the lodge. Staff was friendly and efficient. This is a seasonal lodge, closing in October after fall foliage and snow begins to fly.
Grand Lake Lodge is a good base camp for several days of trips into the park and surrounding area. While the Estes Park side is closer to many high country trails, it is also more crowded with less of a Rocky Mountain High.

Room Tip: Well, take a look at your cabin before deciding. The cabins offer a very quiet night's sleep wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was our first stay after the new owners reopened the lodge. The cabins have been extensively upgraded, but could have been better. The spacious bathroom has a tiny shower stall you can barely turn around in. Lots of unused space around the commode would allow for a much larger shower. The vanity was tiny. A larger vanity would easily fit in the unused space. The blank wall next to the vanity could have had towel rods or shelves for toiletries. The queen bed was OK but was pushed up next to a wall so that one person would have to crawl down to the foot of the bed, or over the other sleeping person in order to exit the bed. There was a nice 3 - person couch although the bed only accommodates 2. TV a bit small, but OK. There were 2 clothes hooks in lieu of a closet. 5 or 6 hooks spaced apart for clothes hangers would have been nice. Heaters in both rooms was appreciated as it gets nippy at night in September. We will return for the view and the lodge even though the cabin is not exactly a bargin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We attended a lovely wedding -- held on a beautiful deck/porch overlooking the Grand Lake views.
The reception was in an indoor/outdoor patio area nearby (steep stairs - be careful in heels!!) that also was rustic, lovely and had great views of the lakes and mountains nearby. The Lodge catering staff did a great job and were friendly, smiling, upbeat and yet in the background. The BBQ chicken, corn, cornbread we had was very tasty and freshly prepared. For the event space - it seems the only restrooms are back up the very steep stairs - a few older wedding guests found this a little tough.
The staff were able to open and close some clear, plastic type window coverings as the weather kept changing from warm the slight rainy breeze and later they lit some space heater lanterns.
Our friends who hosted the wedding seemed very happy with the staff, etc. We didn't stay at the Lodge only bc of high price and they were all booked up already (I waited too long).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CONearNative1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The view of Grand Lake and surrounding mountains is unique-- a magnificent site to view the abundant beauty of the area. And that's what you go there for, luckily. Because other than the main lodge building , the hotel itself is little more than a series of small, uncomfortable motel rooms. Describing these as 'cabins' is misleading.

Yes, there are mini-fidges and microwaves in the rooms. Yes, the tiny bathrooms have been updated. But the rooms are cramped, ugly and no better than a cheap motel- even for someone who expects and even enjoys 'rustic' accomodations.
No house phone, so no way to contact the desk. End-table /reading lights on one side of bed only. No closets and no hangers for the motel-style wall-mounted hangar-bar.
No air conditioning or fans. Broken venetian blind and tv did not work in our room.
They mixed up the reservation, so my daughter, son in law and grandson did not get the room with pull out sofa I had reserved, had to put a very uncomfortable cot in the room instead.
Her room did not get cleaned /replenished on one of the 2 days we spent there.
The soda/water vending machine along the path to the 'cabins' was inoperative.

Lodge restaurant food was decent, on par for the area, but service was slow and unprofessional.
The desk clerk's attitude ranged from indifferent to uncooperative. No maps of the area available.

A visiting cousin left her cell-phone behind, and when I tried to get information to have a UPS or Fedex pickup to send it back to her-- of course I'd have made all the arrangements--the clerk 'didn't want to be responsible' for the package- and told me to take it to Granby myself.

We've travelled to these mountains many times over the years and hope to visit Grand Lake again-- wonderful pontoon boat rental on Grand Lake, great wildlife viewing, and the pool & spa were very clean and enjoyable-- but we won't stay at this lodge again if we can find better accomodations with a similar view. You should get more for what they're charging.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I booked this lodge after a short search for some kind of cabin type lodging in Grand Lake, Colorado. This 90 year old lodge has the best views of anywhere in the Grand Lake area. The cabin are all like a duplex cabin. Small bathroom/shower, sink is in the bedroom but up to date, clean and very charming. The main lodge has a resturant/bar and seating that look over the lake and town. Swimming pool is heated and the hot tub is well kept. Can't go wrong with the views. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a lake view and if you do get one there's benchs outside the rooms to sit and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We shared a cabin with family/friends at Grand Lake Lodge in August - my boyfriend and I had one side of the cabin and his brother's family had the other side. The room was small and rustic but the bath is pretty nicely updated. Pro: Comfortable bed, coffee maker, small fridge in the room, heater in the bath/shower room as well as a tv (which we didn't even turn on but it's there). Con: Small room (fine if you are only staying a night or two), the water pressure was non-existent and parking could be a bit of a confusing challenge (we were told our cabin had a parking space where there actually was no parking space --?). There was no air conditioning but it gets cool enough at night to just open the window so it never felt hot or stuffy (in fact, I had to turn on the heater in the bathroom in the morning). We were not on the front row of cabins but we just happened to have a clear view down to the lake which was beautiful. Eating in the dining room was nice but expensive (we ate both dinner and breakfast). While waiting to be seated you have the option of browsing through their gift shop or playing old-time family friendly games by the couches. There is also a bar in the main room if you are interested in something to wet your whistle. After dinner, we relaxed on the swings on the large porch then took a stroll down the Nuptial Knoll - the walk down was a little dicey but you had an outstanding view to enjoy at the end. Other things to do around Grand Lake: Rent scooters, take a canoe or kayak out from the marina, there is also a great coffee shop in the middle of town I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickel_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.5 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
18.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.5 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
0.4 mi away
Spirit Lake Lodge
Spirit Lake Lodge
#7 of 20 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lake Lodge

Property: Grand Lake Lodge
Address: 15500 US Hwy 34, PO Box 2239, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Grand Lake
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Lake Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic Colorado Summer Mountain Lodge offering a variety of rustic cabins. Grand Lake Lodge is surrounded on three sides by Rocky Mountain National Park, perched on a hill side overlooking Grand Lake Village, Grand Lake, and Shadow Mountain Reservoir. Full service restaurant. The Grand Lake Lodge is open late May to early October yearly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing