We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Rio Vista, California
Level Contributor
365 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Best view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We ate at the Grand Lake Lodge Reataurant and it is so great to get a seat on the porch overlooking Grand Lake and Shadow Mountain Lake. The Lodge is historic and was jist bought by a hotel chain - but it is lunch we like about this lodge. The front porch has swings where you can enjoy the view while waiting for your table or after eating. We have been stopping here for lunch for many years as it is right outside the National Park. A little pricey for small portions- bit you will fall in love with the view !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Crt1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    70
    36
    12
    3
See reviews for
60
77
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houma, La
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

This place is a nice, quaint place. The rooms are not fancy, but clean. The greatest thing about this place is the view. The lodge has a porch to sit on with swings and the restaurant has tables with this same view. It is not airconditioned and there is no TV, but in the middle of the summer it was very cool at night. It is definitely a place that is remembered. I would definitely stay here again. My husband and I really enjoyed our stay and the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We often stopped by this lodge on the way from/to Grand Lake and Rocky Mountain National Park. The main lodge is grand, somewhat of the type of national park lodges. It has fab views from the dining areas and 'front porch' swings, and inviting lobby with large fireplace. In the last few years it is being re-established after being closed awhile. Our cabin was small but the king bed was modern and the furnishings homey. There is a microwave, coffee-maker, and small refrigerator, no TV and no A/C. The bathroom was small but nice. I enjoyed the stay. The setting looks very different with so many of the trees forced to be removed, but it allows open vistas of the lakes. There are horses to ride right there. The breakfast and bar situation were under par so try elsewhere for dining. We booked with an online special because it was early in the season.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank altonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Here's the deal, this place has a fantastic view and is about as close to Rocky Mountain National Park entrance as possible. I can tell there is a lot of great history here. The lodge house itself is great. Large fire pit indoors, nice pool with great views. Really a neat place. The rooms were small cabins that were divided into two rooms. Fortunately we had family in the next room. The walls are paper thin and would have been very awkward had it been someone we didn't know. The cabins are old.... historic, but not nostalgic in the way the main lodge is. There has been some updating in the rooms and the furniture and bedding were new, possibly the carpets and walls as well.

I would say this would be a great place to stay for a jumping off point for trips into the park. The lodge would be a great place to stop by on your way through for lunch and to take in the views.

The staff was friendly, we had no special requests. They did allow dogs which was nice.

Room Tip: Go for the larger rooms which is essentially a small cabin to yourself with a small kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeamSmallState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

My wife wanted to stay here for nostalgic reasons. I was a little wary since the Lodge had been closed for a long time and the website didn't have any photos of the rooms. (I've posted some for you) We stayed in a remodeled Spruce half cabin. $125/night. The room was small but had new bedding that was very comfortable and the new shower was nice with fancy soap and shampoo. The cabin has heat but no A/C. In August it got cool at night so you probably don't need A/C to sleep. The room was a bit warm during the day but we didn't spend a lot of time in it anyway. The cabins are old and you can hear your neighbors footsteps as they walk around. Since the lodge has a sitting area and a nice porch and the rooms are so small, I don't think people will spend much time in these little cabins except to sleep. Noise wasn't to bad for us, we all slept well. You could get a full cabin for twice the price and then you wouldn't have to worry about noisy neighbors. The grounds themselves were quiet. The pool was clean and warm and had a great view. There were a few noodles for the kids to use. The lodge has an awesome porch and the restaurant has a beautiful view of the lake. The food at the lodge is pricey. Food quality was so so. I would eat in town and maybe have a drink at the lodge to enjoy the view. The restaurants in town had better food and better value. We liked the Fat Cat for breakfast and Max & T's Bar & Grill for dinner. Most of the staff were very helpful and friendly. We did have one encounter at the front desk that I would say was rude. Hopefully she was just having a bad day. I also think you should know that the Pine Beetle has done a number on this place. The lodge grounds lost a lot of trees but Rocky Mountain NP is still beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mr.Reisender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Not much has changed about Grand Lake Lodge since its re-opening, it still offers rustic cabin accomodations and a good restaurant in a location with a world class view of lakes and mountains. We enjoyed our stay.

Pros: The view is gorgeous. Cabin was very clean and the bedding was comfortable. Restaurant had good food and very good table service. Kitchenette was clean and in good shape. We enjoyed horseback riding. All employees we encountered were very nice and willing to please.

Cons: The rates seem high for what you get. Our double cabin had four beds (two queens, a full and a twin) and was priced in line with what you might expect to pay for two good-quality hotel rooms, but did not have the finish and amenities that one might expect at that price point. No phone, TV or clock/radio. Bare bulb light fixture, a window lacked a screen, a window lacked a shade (so it was light very early), shower curtains that don't fit tub, and doors that seem to constantly be hitting one another. Coffee machine could only make two cups of coffee (there was only one pre-measured packet of coffee that made two cups). Early check out time (10am).

Employees, though nice and very helpful, seemed to be inconsistent and/or untrained. For example, we were told when we reserved our cabin that dogs were not allowed (we have one small dog). When we arrived, there were dogs everywhere, so clearly others had been told it was OK to bring dogs. Another example was the poor hostess, who was nice and tried hard to explain the dinner reservation system, but even with us trying to help her out by echoing back to her what we thought she was saying, we never did figure it out.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieinMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We loved our stay at this hotel. The staff has excellent customer service. The bar was great! We got a room with a king bed and balcony. The downsides were that you can't really view the lake due to the trees; the ice machine was broken but you could get ice from the bar but only during the hours the front desk is open; they only have one soda machine and it was broken; the front desk is connected to the restaurant ... they serve breakfast but it does not open until 8 am which is late for a lot of folks that want to get on the road.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GGChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.5 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
18.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.5 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
0.4 mi away
Spirit Lake Lodge
Spirit Lake Lodge
#7 of 20 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lake Lodge

Property: Grand Lake Lodge
Address: 15500 US Hwy 34, PO Box 2239, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Grand Lake
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Lake Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic Colorado Summer Mountain Lodge offering a variety of rustic cabins. Grand Lake Lodge is surrounded on three sides by Rocky Mountain National Park, perched on a hill side overlooking Grand Lake Village, Grand Lake, and Shadow Mountain Reservoir. Full service restaurant. The Grand Lake Lodge is open late May to early October yearly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing