We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the View”
Review of Grand Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go for the View”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Not much has changed about Grand Lake Lodge since its re-opening, it still offers rustic cabin accomodations and a good restaurant in a location with a world class view of lakes and mountains. We enjoyed our stay.

Pros: The view is gorgeous. Cabin was very clean and the bedding was comfortable. Restaurant had good food and very good table service. Kitchenette was clean and in good shape. We enjoyed horseback riding. All employees we encountered were very nice and willing to please.

Cons: The rates seem high for what you get. Our double cabin had four beds (two queens, a full and a twin) and was priced in line with what you might expect to pay for two good-quality hotel rooms, but did not have the finish and amenities that one might expect at that price point. No phone, TV or clock/radio. Bare bulb light fixture, a window lacked a screen, a window lacked a shade (so it was light very early), shower curtains that don't fit tub, and doors that seem to constantly be hitting one another. Coffee machine could only make two cups of coffee (there was only one pre-measured packet of coffee that made two cups). Early check out time (10am).

Employees, though nice and very helpful, seemed to be inconsistent and/or untrained. For example, we were told when we reserved our cabin that dogs were not allowed (we have one small dog). When we arrived, there were dogs everywhere, so clearly others had been told it was OK to bring dogs. Another example was the poor hostess, who was nice and tried hard to explain the dinner reservation system, but even with us trying to help her out by echoing back to her what we thought she was saying, we never did figure it out.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieinMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    70
    36
    12
    3
See reviews for
60
77
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We loved our stay at this hotel. The staff has excellent customer service. The bar was great! We got a room with a king bed and balcony. The downsides were that you can't really view the lake due to the trees; the ice machine was broken but you could get ice from the bar but only during the hours the front desk is open; they only have one soda machine and it was broken; the front desk is connected to the restaurant ... they serve breakfast but it does not open until 8 am which is late for a lot of folks that want to get on the road.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GGChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We came here for hiking and relaxation and achieved both. The lodge benefits from an excellent location overlooking the lakes and our cabin and the front porch (part of the dining room) had superb views. If you're looking for rustic accommodations (very comfy beds), and good, unfussy food in a great location then this is a good choice. Now for the problems. The service at both the front desk and housekeeping are barely adequate. Our cabin was being painted through much of our stay (6 nights booked 4 months in advance) and requesting a stop to the invasion of privacy and noise yielded weak affirmation that it would be stopped, but no action. The toilet paper wasn't replenished so we ended up buying our own. We had a kitchenette, but there was no table or chairs so we had to perch on the beds, which along with chests of drawers, were the only furniture. There were no plugs for the basins. The antique refrigerator was either a freezer or off. "Fully equipped" kitchenette was lacking basic utensils (wooden/large spoons, spatula). The windows rattled until jammed with paper. Housekeeping consisted of emptying the trash, fresh towels and vacuuming on 1 day out of 6. The shower curtains were far too long covering the floor of the bath; bath was rusting; there was no place to put shampoo bottles. Parking: was it allocated to the cabin or was it not?! The lack of "business" type facilities doesn't seem like a problem until someone has an emergency - which we did - and the lack of ability to at least receive/send a fax was disappointing. We did experience some noise from other guests as in previous posts, but considering there was a wedding party during our stay it was less than we have experienced in other similar places and the music stopped fairly early. Overall we enjoyed our stay but left frustrated that it could be so much more.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Our family decided on a vacation to Grand Lake this year and after much thought, we decided to stay at the Grand Lake Lodge, which was recently reopened under new management. This is the mountain lodge every Colorado family should experience - the veiws are to die for and the cabin experience is terrific. Though our cabin was not one that was recently "renovated", it was clean, with new linens, and comfortable. The only point of issue was the bathroom's poor shower design, but not too big a deal. The lodge itself was a great spot to gather, have a cocktail and a meal. We loved the pool which overlooks the lake! We also sprang for horseback riding with the on-property wrangler, which was a great decision! "Banker Bob" taught our kids some riding basics and took us on a great tour of the park and surrounding areas of historical interest. Great places to eat in town too - don't miss the BBQ at the Sagebrush BBQ and Grill and the pizza at Grand Lake Pizza. Great getaway experience - we'll be back.

Room Tip: Try for a room closer to the back of the property - further up the hill. Longer walk from the lodge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thompson_Boulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My wife and I had lunch at this property based on a recommendation from the person working at the local tourism office.

We were seated on the outdoor deck that has a very nice view of the surrounding lake area. The deck is well thought out with sliding glass windows that are easily adjusted by diners to control shelter from any excess wind or weather. However, the plexiglass window in front of me was smeared. I chose not to touch it to find out what it was smeared with.

The service we experienced at lunch was a bit of a comedy. We had a very polite server who communicated in somewhat of a grandiose style letting us know that he was taking care of our every need. Our experience was in contrast to what he represented.

For example, my wife ordered a glass of white wine from the menu. After much delay and no drinks, we were told that the bartender was busy changing a keg, but not to worry because we were being taken care of. After more delay, we were told that they were out of the wine that my wife had chosen from their menu. Being accommodating to their shortcomings, my wife asked for any alternative sauvingon blanc wine as long as it wasn't from New Zealand. You guessed it, the waiter brought a New Zealand wine but stressed that if my wife didn't like it he would bring something else and that we were being taken care of. He never came back to check if she liked it or not.

Our lunch was fine, the wine by the glass choices were just OK.

The lodge itself has a bit of a run down look and feel. The main lobby of the lodge has a women's restroom in it. The men's room is only accessed by walking out on the porch.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank A_traveler_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I couldn't wait to stay here again after it reopened from renovation. The area is still beautiful, but more congested than I remember. We stayed in one of the duplex cabins.
It was quiet and peaceful and we enjoyed natures best in a thunder and lightening display.
The cabin was tiny, which didn't matter. The worst part is that it was really hot and there was only one tiny window, so no ventilation. The temperature at night went down to 58, but we slept uncomfortably warm with the window wide open.
Even though the were only opened in June the bathtub surround had already separated from the wall and you could see 2 x 4's and some wiring underneath!
The lodge food was good and service great.
Overall it was worth it to drink wine on the porch in the swing while watching lightening over the
lake. I won't be back though.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cornchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is a difficult place to rate. The property had been closed for a few years and reopened this year. We had stayed here 40 years ago and had pleasant memories of the place, as had several people on TA forums who wondered how it is now. Well, the view is still great, of course, and the lodge itself doesn't seem to have changed much. The landscaping is very attractive. Sitting on a glider on the front porch continues to be an exhilarating experience as one looks down at the lake and environs. However, realize if you stay here that you are paying 75% for the view and 25% for the accommodations in a cabin. Rating the room would yield a one star or even a no star if there is such a thing.
Our room was in a duplex - a cabin with two units. Some effort was made to upgrade it with a new carpet, nice bedding and pretty valances on the windows. Also, the bathroom was modernized and the room had a microwave and a fridge. The front door was opened with an electronic key card.So far, so good. However, if one prepared something in the microwave, where would one eat it? The room was so small that it had no table and not even one chair. I guess you could eat in bed or standing up. It also lacked a TV, a phone, and there was no A/C. I realize that air conditioning is not normally needed in this location, so I can understand why none was provided. However, we arrived on a very hot afternoon and certainly would have welcomed one. It took about six hours for the room to cool off to a pleasant temperature with all the windows and the door open. Also, one doesn't go here to watch TV so not having a set in the room wouldn't be a major problem for most people - just letting you know there wasn't a TV. Also, the fridge made so much noise we had to unplug it.
For me the major negatives of the room involved both cleanliness and safety. It didn't look as though the windows had been washed properly in a very long time. There were dark-colored blinds on the two windows. One of them didn't work so it couldn't be raised or opened and it had a large coating of dust. Also, there was an outline of a decoration from years ago on the wall and it still had two sharp nails (brads?) protruding from it. The porch floor was not in good shape: boards were loose and raised nailheads were a hazard to the unwary in flip flops or bare feet.
A word about the bathroom door - the bathroom had been recently painted, perhaps by a five-year old. The door was probably the original one and the painter had managed to get yellow paint from the wall on it and on the woodwork around the window. It looked terrible.
I should mention that there is a very nice pool in front of the lodge in which we swam and also a jacuzzi. While there we talked with some of the interesting young people who work at the property. They were from all over the world including Bulgaria and Kazakstan (sp?) and even from Wisconsin.
We had dinner on the front porch of the lodge so we had the view during our meal. The meal itself was satisfactory and the service by a young woman originally from Poland was excellent. Our dessert of bread pudding with some sort of raspberry sauce and vanilla ice cream was memorable. We thought the restaurant would be open for breakfast and maybe it was, but when we arrived at 8:05 the door was locked, so we went into town to eat.
The last thing I'll mention is that the potential quiet of staying in a pine forest was often not realized. During the day there were frequent noisy Yamaha Mules and pick-ups zipping around with employees or contractors going to their duties. There seem to be some units that are away from the road so I'd advise asking for one of those. The worst noise was at night when a group of four or five kids about ten years old decided to gather across from our unit and yell and screech for an hour between 9:00 and 10:00. Presumably they had parents somewhere. We couldn't call the office to complain because there was no phone in the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.5 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
16.8 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,293 reviews
17.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.5 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lake Lodge

Property: Grand Lake Lodge
Address: 15500 US Hwy 34, PO Box 2239, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Grand Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Lake Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic Colorado Summer Mountain Lodge offering a variety of rustic cabins. Grand Lake Lodge is surrounded on three sides by Rocky Mountain National Park, perched on a hill side overlooking Grand Lake Village, Grand Lake, and Shadow Mountain Reservoir. Full service restaurant. The Grand Lake Lodge is open late May to early October yearly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Grand Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing