We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite x-c ski place in the region” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Lake Nordic Center

Grand Lake Nordic Center
Ranked #4 of 24 things to do in Grand Lake
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grand Lake Nordic Center offers 35km of groomed scenic ski trails. One of our favorite trails "River Run" is parallel and crosses the Colorado River. We also offer snow shoe trails and a tubing hill. After skiing you may relax in front of a roaring fire and enjoy a cup of hot chocolate along with a scenic panorama view of Rocky Mountain National Park.
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Favorite x-c ski place in the region”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This has consistently been our favorite x-c ski place in the entire area. It has everything you need; x-c ski trails for experts to beginners, snowshoeing, glorious views, good maps and signage for the directionally challenged, fabulous friendly staff, even great soup on the weekends!

Everyone is very friendly. We've been coming for years. They encourage you to bring in food and eat it in the dining room, which only is open on weekends. The dining room area is cozy with fireplace, etc., perfect if you have a non-skiing family member; open with lovely views. The trails are great, and offer all sorts of views from trees and ponds (for windy days) to mountain vistas. The place offers the best skiing, best lodge, and best staff ... for the entire area. We generally come up 1-2 weeks every winter, and although we still ski YMCA, St. Louis Creek, Devil's Thumb, etc., this is our favorite.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Lake, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Using a Golf Course in Winter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Ski trails spread over both the golf course and through the nearby forest and vary from beginner to advanced. Staff is knowledgeable, professional and genuinely interested helping we who ski here. Lots of local residents are daily or weekly skiers at this facility.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank filmconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Lake, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“our winter saving grace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Without this place and the awesome staff, we would probably lose it in the winter up here.. the trails are beautiful and beautifully maintained. They have expanded where dogs are allowed which is awesome too... We took family here over Christmas and it was just perfect!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous cross country skiing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I have been skiing here since I could walk. The new addition of the sledding hill makes the day twice as fun..and for only a small donation! Make sure to take a midnight moonlight ski and stop for hot chocolate at the campfire. If you prefer the daytime, go ahead and bring your doggie on the dog loop. Truly something stir everyone and a great workout whether cross country skiing or ski skating!

Helpful?
1 Thank Femme_Fisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice, well organized center.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Nice trails, good variety of levels, quite scenic. They fet quite a bit of snow and conditions are usually good. Nice lodge (golf clubhouse in summer) with refreshments and rentals.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank xarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Lake Nordic Center also viewed

 
Grand Lake, Grand County
 

Been to Grand Lake Nordic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing