We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change from the BBQ, Mexican, Burger, etc...”
Review of O- A Bistro

O- A Bistro
Ranked #8 of 34 Restaurants in Grand Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Casual Fine Dining in the heart of the Rocky Mountians!
Long Island
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Nice change from the BBQ, Mexican, Burger, etc...”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a nice change of place from all the places in this area that look or taste the same.
They do a six course meal for under $30. We liked the food. Thought some of the courses could have been a touch bigger. Main courses for the most part were fine in portion. The shrimp course could have been better. On plate it looked large but it was mostly head. The tail was very small.
Very good service, the wine pairing was nice

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tabhauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    34
    12
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good experience for a small town.”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This restaurant is something you might find in a trendy neighborhood in a big city. It was quite a treat to have this sort of a meal in Grand Lake. Grand Lake actually has a lot to offer in terms of restaurants which is a bit surprising. If you are a foody, you will love this restaurant. The chef does some real interesting food. The portions are not real big but they shouldn't be for a six course meal. Otherwise, you won't make it through the entire dinner experience. On the service side, our waitress wasn't the most attentive, but fortunately there was a lovely young lady who was waiting other tables who also kept an eye on our table and was quick to ask us if we needed anthing and cleared the dishes off our table when we were ready. Overall, we had a nice family dining experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sherwood12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery County, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Relaxing Evening”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you are looking for good food and a relaxing evening in Grand Lake you should try O A Bistro. Dinner is 5 Course and price depends on the entree chosen. (Mid $20.00 to upper $30.00's.) All other courses are a set menu. Expect to spend about two hours dining. There is also a wine pairing you can add-on for $20.00. It is a sampling served with each course. Reservations should be made during winter and summer, high seasons. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Very nice restaurant - particularly for a small town”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have traveled to Grand Lakes 3 times in the last 7 years. We are from DC. We go to hike and relax. Yes this is a very small town and the staff was not in a hurry, but you should expect that when the restaurant only does two seatings a night, and its a six course dinner. This is a restaurant for adults. The food was on par with gourmet restaurants that I have gone to in the DC area. The veal shank was the best we have ever had. The summer strawberry soup was great. Given the prices we are used to, this was a great dinner the money. I was so pleased we returned the following morning for their breakfast. Also a very good choice.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PamandMark_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Prais is Grand Lake, CO???”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were on a tour to Rocky Mountain National Park with a lunch stop in Grand Lake. The town is very touristy with much of the usual bbq and lunch type fare. As two semi-foodies we were pleasantly suprised to find a restaurant/bistro with two pages of crepes and tappas! Cute, intimate setting for lunch! We ordered crepes - and having visited Paris not long ago we're picky about our crepes. O - a Bistro's crepes are fabulous! The owner engaged us in pleasant but not intruding conversation while she took our order and served us. Despite other reviews our food came quickly, full rich flavors and textures, simple but classy presentation and reasonably price. I'm selective as to who I take time to write reviews for but I made a point of grabbing their card to do so. If you are in Grand Lake for an hour or for an extended stay this is a great place to get lunch. Particularly if you are looking for more than fried chicken, bbq or a hamburger from some of the other establishments in town.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2walkonh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O- A Bistro also viewed

Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 
Grand Lake, Grand County
Grand Lake, Grand County
 

Been to O- A Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing