We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Fun, Fun”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Escape Cottages
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our family has been renting from Mary and Tom for several years. We rent most of the cabins and just have fun visiting each cabins. We stay in the Grand Escape Cottages, because they are so close to everything, shopping, the lake, food and drink. The cabins are cozy, warm and inviting. We are there over New years, for snowmobiling, snowshoeing and of course the fireworks. They are sooo close to the lake, if it is too cold, you can see the fireworks from the porch. We also get to see they wildlife out our window, mainly the local moose and a hungry fox or two.. Tom and Mary do a very good job maintaining the cabins, and always making you feel at home. Thanks you both for a good time always.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Char F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 62 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

My family and extended family have been renting these cute, charming cabins from Mary and Tom for over 10 years now. We come up mostly for snowmobiling but always enjoy the fireworks display, the shops that are just walking distance, trails to hike up to, and of course the beauty of the lake wether it's in the winter or the summer!! The amenities here are great, plenty of clean towels, bath towels, paper towels, extra blankets, etc.... everything you could need or want for. The rooms are always clean and tidy.....we just love it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaroldLinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Location, location, location!!!! These cabins are located a few short steps to everything Grand Lake has to offer... The historic downtown board walk just 1/2 block to the west - leads to shops, restaurants, ice cream, candy, bowling… To the southwest – Grand Lake and the water front activities… And to the east side of the property - the river where we have spotted moose wetting their whistle. Speaking of the wildlife, we have often seen a fox or two right out our front/back door. Scenic hiking/snowshoeing trails are also within one mile of cabins.

Owners Mary & Tom make us feel like old family friends each and every time we come and are more than accommodating! Our group of 15-30 adults and children have rented 3 to 5 of the cabins located on the property for more than 12 years. (Deer Trail, Wolf Den, Brownie, Henry Snore & the Hummingbird) Each cabins décor has a warm, comfortable and inviting feel. All with different sleeping arrangements and all furnished with pots & pans, dishes, utensils, fridge, coffee pot, microwave, gas BBQ grills, towels, dish soap, and more. Some even have a fireplace you can cozy up to.

Whether you are looking for a place to get away enjoy the mountains, scenery and town or just sit back in a restful place, these cabins can accommodate your every wish. As for our family...being that we don't want to risk our rooms being rented for the next family vacation...we book them as soon as we check in!!! Great place to stay and you might find yourself doing the same, becoming a repeat guest year after year. Enjoy and thank you Mary & Tom for taking such great care of our family!!!

It is fun to watch the stirrings of town throughout your stay from either the Deer Trail or Henry Snore. These two cabins have a wonderful view of town.

Room Tip: The Deer Trail & Henry Snore have a wonderful view of town. It is fun to watch town evolve thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenBrightonCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Grand Escape Cottages is "our little cabin" in the mountains! Tom and Mary, the owners, know us by name and favorite cottage. We return each summer at least two times to enjoy comfortable accommodations at the end of Main Street. You can walk everywhere. Clean, neat and tidy with yearly improvements, I rebook our favorite cottage as we check out to ensure we get to be there the next year!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night. The owners were friendly and the cabin was clean. Location was near the lake at the end of downtown. One note- watch your speed around the lake. We were stopped way out of town for doing 42.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank DickCleburne_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My sister and I stayed here for 5 nights. The location is wonderful. I would have given our stay an excellent rating if we had been in a different cabin.
The Mackinaw was the only cabin available for our 5 nights but it was very small. It was one room with comfortable queen bed and futon with only a narrow shelf and chairs for dining. No table. Not much room with the futon out as bed. The kitchen is very small but we managed to cook meals. The kitchen was not really clean. We found dirty dishes, the silverware holder needed cleaning, and there were spider webs. We thoroughly cleaned and washed all the dishes. Bathroom is very small with small shower and sink. Some people might have to squeeze through!
For 5 nights we were given 1 hand towel, 3 bath towels, 1 kitchen towel. There were no paper towels in kitchen.
Salt and pepper and coffee filters are provided so unless you are using the cabin as a hotel room you do need to bring everything you want for cooking. That is what we were expecting and we drove from home so we had everything we needed. There is a very small, overpriced grocery store in town.
We would recommend this place but not the Mackinaw Cabin. For the same rate you could get a much nicer cabin.

Room Tip: A cabin with a bedroom and a dining table would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReeSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage that was set up to sleep 6. It was a wonderful place. Fully furnished kitchen, surprisingly comfortable pull out couch, tv with cable & DVD player, board games, nice fireplace, BBQ, and swing outside... No complaints at all, I hope to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViolinVixen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Lake hotels
0.9 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Grand Lake
543 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
0.2 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
#15 of 20 in Grand Lake
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spirit Lake Lodge
Spirit Lake Lodge
#6 of 20 in Grand Lake
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lone Eagle Lodge
Lone Eagle Lodge
#10 of 20 in Grand Lake
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Escape Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Escape Cottages

Address: 1204 Grand Ave, Grand Lake, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Grand Lake
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing