We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Major Dump and Over Priced”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Escape Cottages
Parker, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Major Dump and Over Priced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

This is one major rip off! Don't stay here. Way over priced, no privacy, pitiful services, small and old.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    12
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

The four of us -- two couples -- stayed in the 2 bedroom 1 bath Deer Trail cabin. Comfortable living/kitchen area with a TV and a view of downtown from the covered porch. Very short walk to the lake and to shopping, restaurants, bars. One of the two bedrooms was pretty small with very little room on either side of the bed but that would be my only minor complaint. Short drive to Rocky Mountain National Park and US Forest trails as well as Shadow Mountain Lake and Lake Granby. Not uncommon to see wildlife (moose, bear, fox, elk) passing thru town. Book ahead.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llennef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

We stayed in the Eagles Nest Cabin like the last people who wrote a review, and agree with the comfort of it. However, it was not what I expected. The way their website described their resort, you would think they were nestled next to the river. Yes, there is a river, and if there were no other buildings and trees, you might be able to hear a wisper of it. They also described our cabin as "lake view". Yes, we could see some of the lake, and maybe before there were other buildings and full grown trees, you could probably call it a lake view. The other cabins were literally in the small parking lot, and the "Lake View Cottage" and "River View Cottage" had NO such view!
We did make the best of our stay, and after seeing the whole town of Grand Lake, I don't think there are any resorts on the Lake or River (unless you want to rent your own stand alone cabin). I guess we are spoiled here in Minnesota and Wisconsin with all the lakes!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laura_jeans@msn.com
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

Our first trip to the Eagle's Nest cabin was last Labor Day (08) and the day we left, we reserved this year (09) and added a day to our mini vacation. I cannot say enough good things about Mary, Tom and the Grand Lake Escape Cottages and their guests! We moved to Denver from Michigan 2 years ago and we grew up in Canada and Indiana. I wanted to spend some time on a lake in a cottage/cabin like when I was growing up during the summer months in Michigan (my boyfriend spent summers on Georgian Bay, ON). We like to kayak, fly fish and just hang out and relax. This is a perfect place to go to do all those things and more! It reminds both of us of those wonderful times we had as kids. We eat breakfast and dinner on the quiet little deck (Eagle's Nest) that overlooks Grand Lake and some aspens and lunch on an island in Shadow Mountain Lake or right on the kayak! It is at the top of the hill of the property and is my very favorite place in Colorado! There is a gas grill and a kitchenette that meets all of our needs for cooking and refrigeration! The lake is a short block away and the river is right behind the cottages, also a short walk. The 3/4 wrap-around windows in the studio let the moonlight and the sunlight peek through perfectly and offer a great breeze. The town is about 1/2 block away and within seconds you can be at the restaurants, bars, shopping, ice cream, putt-putt, coffee shop, groceries or whatever you need (or want). As we were unpacking the car this year, I said "I love this place" and my boyfriend proposed less than 1 hour later! Now it will always be even more special to us. And you guessed it, I have reserved it again for next year!!!! :-)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura-n-rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
157 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

We were looking for a rustic cabin near downtown Grand Lake. The Eagle's Nest fit the bill perfectly. It was just what we wanted, even has some crooked walls it's so old.

It's a studio with windows on all sides. It sits on top of little hill which allows for wonderful breezes and no one can see in your windows - even has a partial view of the lake. The little deck was great for happy hour and morning coffee. Bed was comfortable and kitchenette met our needs, which were few. Fridge, two burner range top, micro, coffee maker, toaster and basic utensils.

We felt like we were far from the bustle of town when we were actually only steps away.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

The room was small, bed was extremely lumpy and uncomfortable. It smelled old. We left after one night and went to the Gateway Inn. So much better!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgypsyDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
1.6 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Pine Cone Cottages
#4 of 7 in Grand Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
18.9 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.2 mi away
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
#10 of 20 in Grand Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Escape Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Escape Cottages

Property: Grand Escape Cottages
Address: 1204 Grand Ave, Grand Lake, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Grand Lake
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing