We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place and friendly owners”
Review of North Shore Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Shore Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Reviewed July 21, 2009

This was a relaxing place to be. JP and his wife were great anything we needed they supplied. They also recommended a great horse riding place nearby. The cabin which is set up like a motel was nicely decorated as it was redone not to long ago. We had my 6 yr old, and 2yr old with us as well as our dog, she was able to run around out back with others as well.

There are many activities out back like horse shoe pits, volleyball net with balls, fire pit, and grills, as well as a couple swings. There is a boat rental place two doors down. Seriously this was a cool place for the price too. JP even came out a couple evenings and chopped some wood and hung out and chatted with us. I know we are going to be there again, and even try to get a whole group to go there with us.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catiyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 54 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2009

The staff was friendly and accommodating. The views from the back porch were amazing. You could see the lake and mountains, and the sounds of nature were relaxing. The views at night were stellar! The cabin was quaint and cozy, with plenty of room for 2. If you want to avoid the hustle and bustle of the city and towns..like Grand Lake...this place is for you. (it's only 10 minutes from everything) Peaceful, serene, and once again the staff was very friendly. If you enjoy camping and nature, this place is perfect. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cywolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

A buddy told me of this place so I went. He had been there three years ago and loved it. I guess in the meantime the new owners forgot how to water the grass or put towels and blankets in each room. There are old boats, cars, trailers all around property. The "artists rendition" is there for a reason. I highly suggest finding another place until the new owner pulls his head out.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank coloskinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

This qualifies as the worst property we have ever stayed at.

Where to start? The best description is of an old motel with a common front porch and a nice view of the mountains - tough to mess that part up.

The room was a one bedroom with a 'fully equipped kitchen,' in actuality the one bedroom had a decent queen size bed and a wobbling bunk bed. The bathroom was very small with no fan. When we arrived we found two towels for our family of six and limited silverware so plan on bringing your own.

Driving up to the place will make you wish they hadn't swiped your credit card since it is in a clear state of disrepair or remodel depending on your perspective. The property has a new sign and new roof, other than that it looks like the Bates Motel.

The back door opens onto a full-length four foot deep deck with stairways at either end. The structure itself is the only single resemblance to the deceptive photo on their website. All the 'amenities' referred to are the following: faded benches, a firepit with no wood, standup barecues (3) like at a state park, two rickety swings (no exaggeration), three faded picnic tables, two kids type swings and about a half-acre of mowed weeds.

Don't take my word for it, nor take the photo and descriptions on the website as valid; go to google maps or zillow and pull up and see the actual property for yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coloradoboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthShoreMgmt, Manager at North Shore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2011

My husband Doug and I are the new management team as of 1/26/2011. As seasonal renters here for five winters, we and our children have always appreciated the fabulous location- spectacular views of Lake Granby and the surrounding mountains, abundant wildlife, excellent fishing and proximity to the trail systems and other activities.

During our stays, we often discussed the changes we would like to make if we were the managers. We are thrilled to now be the managers and to be making those changes. North Shore Lodge and Mountain Lakes Lodge (the sister property) have both seen and will continue to see many upgrades and a new attention to detail. We'd love for you see!

Edie Dafoe, manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

We have just completed our 3rd visit to the North Shore Resort. As always we had a wonderful time. The owners are very kind and helpful when you are looking for things to do in the Grand Lake area. The room was clean and comfortable and the view is just beautiful. I am writing this review to say thank you for all the wonderful vacations the owners have provided me and my family. We have now visited in the summer and the winter and this place is one of the most awesome vacations in the country. If you are coming to Rocky Mountain National Park you should stay a the
North Shore Resort.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LuvmyGolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2007

We were informed that the cabin would hold 8 people but when we arrived and after we had to pre-pay ( I understand why now) we where amazed to find a room that 4 could fit in with some luggage. Bathroom so small, one person could barely turn around. We tried to inform them that this would not work for us but they would not refund any of the money to us. Bad attitude. No view but of the junk in the yard. The picture online is extremely deciving. Water has receeded and not close at all. Junky area.Don't waste your time.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhansen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2007

Not much of a "resort". Dirty rooms, no screens in windows (at least the bugs love the place), enough hot water for one person to shower, threatened to charge us $75 per room if they had to clean anything in room, trashy neighborhood, bad attitude. Take my advice, find another place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank deadtedw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
4.9 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Grand Lake
536 reviews
5.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
9.9 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#6 of 8 in Granby
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
5.1 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
4.8 mi away
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
#15 of 20 in Grand Lake
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Shore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shore Lodge

Address: 928 County Road 64, Grand Lake, CO 80447-8615
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Price Range: $100 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside lodge on the North end of Lake Granby. A 150 ft back deck overlooks the lake and a 1/2 acre backyard with a fire pit, charcoal BBQ grills and rustic log seating. Gorgeous views of the Continental Divide and Lake Granby are available from almost every room. Average price is $129 and pet friendly. Kitchenettes stocked with basic cook ware and dining ware are in each unit. Full baths and all linens included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Shore Hotel Grand Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing