We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The biggest nightmare ever”
Review of North Shore Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Shore Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you like to stay in a musty, run down, old appliances and furniture, and be talked to by a rude manager this place is for you! The "cabins" are extremely old! The refrigerator is literally a Frigidaire, at least from the early 60's. The bathroom was so tiny I barely fit into it. The bed in bedroom was not even nice! The place was very musty smelling! If you have breathing problems of any kind...this place is definitely NOT for you! I refused to stay there or pay one single dime to stay there! The manager then proceeded to tell us their cancellation policy. We had the confirmation notice! Nothing about policy. Nor was I told about policy during reservation process! Th managers were very rude to us about the policy. Basically called me a liar when I said I knew nothing about policy. I would NEVER recommend this place to anyone, including my worst enemy!
If you like a rundown small place, rude managers then this is exactly the place for you!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthShoreMgmt, General Manager at North Shore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

We’re sorry that our lodging was not what you imagined. You may have been confused after talking to several different places and to us about several of our units. Each unit is unique. It’s very important to us that guests get what they expect and expect what they get, so we do our very best to provide accurate descriptions. (It’s certainly not to our advantage do differently!) There are plenty of pictures on our website and additional pictures, even of bathrooms, will be sent to you upon request.

The reservation you made and then cancelled at neighboring lodging, before booking with us, not only wasted their time, but probably cost them in bank processing fees. You admitted to us that you lied to them and said you weren’t going to be able to come on your trip to Grand Lake at all in order to cancel with them. Our only regret is not having paid more attention to that “red flag”.

A reservation, is for our benefit as well as yours; It is a commitment on our part to hold the room for you (not renting it to someone else, which we could easily have done given notice) and a commitment on your part to pay for it. We make a point of stating our cancellation policy immediately after customers willingly provide us with their credit card information to make a reservation and before processing their deposit. Our policies are available on our website and our booking engine and we’re always happy to explain anything you don’t understand. If for any reason you did not hear or were not able to access the policy, then it was your responsibility to ask before you booked and obtain travel insurance if you were uncertain. As far as not paying "one dime", we shall see, as we are contesting the credit card charge-back.

Although North Shore, like much of Grand Lake, was built in the 1950’s, we work very hard to keep it well maintained. This summer alone, it received new boardwalks, landscaping (new grass and sprinklers, 14 trees, big troughs of flowers), gravel in the parking area and complete exterior paint.

The unit you had booked was partially remodeled about a year ago, too: new sink, counter, shelf, couch, pictures, daybed, shower curtain and comforters. The bed is clean and comfortable. We had guests both before and after your scheduled stay, who loved Unit #6 and we have never received any complaints about odor, the bed or the bathroom being “so tiny they barely fit in to it.” Thirty-five square feet (slightly larger than the master bath in our new home) is certainly ample bathroom space for most adults.

We have several spare refrigerators ready to put in service at a moment’s notice, but opted to keep the old “workhorses” in that unit and several others, because the guests in our rustic lodging find them as charming as we do! (That’s a Westinghouse brand, by the way.) The dining table is very cool, too- a metal one from the 1950’s that expands via “wings on springs”.

We tell people that North Shore is “a single u-shaped building. The shared 150’ deck is at the bottom of the “u”. We never say that the units are free standing. Although it’s not our habit, it would not be inaccurate to call them “cabins” like our regular customers do, as there are several definitions of “cabin”.*

The “old dry land” you’re complaining about would be the lake bed and you were told that the water was quite far down (to the end of our pier) this year due to the drought that is affecting the entire region this year. Last summer the water was 15' from our fire pit. North Shore still puts you closer to the water than where you’d booked in town. You told the Credit card company there was "No mountain view"???! Only the Continental Divide in the background of Lake Granby.

Your choice to not stay was just that- your choice. The unit was accurately described, blocked out for you, clean, ready and available for your use. The cancellation policy was explained over the phone at the time of booking and was available via several other venues. Management was available to answer any questions prior to your scheduled stay.

We were disappointed that you decided not to stay with us, but we were certainly not rude to you. We are very proud to consistently receive the highest rankings possible for “friendliness and helpfulness of staff” on feedback cards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for North Shore Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 53 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

Very beautiful scenary on Lake Granby. The rooms are very clean and they have everything you need for a perfect getaway whether it be for a weekend trip or a longer stay. The accomadations are perfect for either a couple or a family vacation.You can enjoy the many great outdoor activities nearby year round. The property managers are always available and will take greta care of you! I am definately coming back to stay again.

Room Tip: Check with the managers to meet your needs and all of the rooms open up onto a great porch.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sc0tt59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have stayed here twice and its just fine. Its a rustic getaway in a mountain town. All the whiners giving it bad reviews should just stay home and get over themselves. Its not the Four Seasons and i wouldn't want it to be. There's all the basics PLUS wifi and Direct TV. And besides, if your staying in your room the whole time, you're doing it wrong.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank JenniferGrimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

View was nice. Room was rustic but clean. Place was a little qwirky, odd shaped tub, temperature of shower was a little erratic, but it was what i expected from a mom & pop's hotel in the mountains. Owner was friendly with helpful information. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adan4adana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed at the Lake Granby Suite, and it was perfect for our needs. We stayed for 3 nights, during the 3 Lakes Ice Fishing Tournament, 2012. It was very clean and cozy, with a modern kitchen including a dishwasher. We had the choice of keeping warm with the wood burning stove, or the large fireplace. We especially enjoyed the convenience of lake access within 100 ft of our room. Parking right outside of our room. The view of the lake and the mountains was amazing. There were even kids games and puzzles in the room, my grand daughter played with them all. The hospitality was great, all of our needs were addresssed in a timely manner. I would definitely recommend to a friend, and plan to go back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug and Edie D, General Manager at North Shore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Thank you for your sweet note! We're glad you had a great time! The Lake Granby Suite is a favorite for larger groups for all seasons. With 4 bedrooms and 3 baths (with the Add-on Unit) it's a great "base" for family reunions and corporate retreats, too. We love that it has those huge windows looking over the lake. What a view! The best part about staying at North Shore in th winter though, has to be snowmobiling right out onto the lake from our backyard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Understand that North Shore is one of 2 locations owned by these people. The other is Mountain Lakes Lodges. The office is at Mountain Lakes Lodges which is off the main highway and more of an old hunters cabin complex. The North Shore is newer, in a great setting and on Lake Granby.

We LOVED this place and will definitely return. The stayed in the Couples Cabin which was clean and quite comfy. Satellite TV and Wifi were nice too, but nothing was like waking up to the views on the Lake. My husband loved the porch / veranda area for sitting. We both walked the shore of the lake each morning. Rooms weren't new with all brand new everything - so if you're picky and want pristine newness, stay somewhere else - but pay the price.

For the $99 we paid, I thought the value was the best of this vacation. We'd like to return with family and friends We highly recommend this place, especially for a couples getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mindieburgoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLLMGMT, General Manager at North Shore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you and your family! (Hint: We do lots of reunions!)

We have always loved the view of the lake ourselves- In inspiring in every season: The wildlife drinking at its shores in the Spring, the boats and mountains reflecting off it in the Summer, cotton candy clouds being drawn up from it in the Fall and rainbow crystals of snow sparkling across it in Winter- ever changing, always beautiful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

The Lodge has great views !! Wake up in the morning and walk out of your door onto the your deck over-looking the Lake. The rooms are clean and the Staff is Awesome. Doug and Eddy are friendly and welcoming. I read previous negative reviews , and all of those are prior management, before the new management of Doug and Eddy took over at North Shore.

They recently upgraded the Wireless connectivity at North Shore and Mountain Lakes Lodge and both are working flawlessly. I look forward to my future stays at North Shore and Mountain Lakes Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asdfasdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLLMGMT, Manager at North Shore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Core Concept Communications did a fabulous job optimizing our (free) wireless internet service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
4.9 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Grand Lake
533 reviews
5.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
9.9 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#6 of 8 in Granby
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
617 reviews
5.1 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
4.8 mi away
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
#14 of 20 in Grand Lake
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Shore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shore Lodge

Address: 928 County Road 64, Grand Lake, CO 80447-8615
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Price Range: $100 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside lodge on the North end of Lake Granby. A 150 ft back deck overlooks the lake and a 1/2 acre backyard with a fire pit, charcoal BBQ grills and rustic log seating. Gorgeous views of the Continental Divide and Lake Granby are available from almost every room. Average price is $129 and pet friendly. Kitchenettes stocked with basic cook ware and dining ware are in each unit. Full baths and all linens included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Shore Hotel Grand Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing