We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lakefront stay for the price. Great Stay here.”
Review of North Shore Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Shore Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Understand that North Shore is one of 2 locations owned by these people. The other is Mountain Lakes Lodges. The office is at Mountain Lakes Lodges which is off the main highway and more of an old hunters cabin complex. The North Shore is newer, in a great setting and on Lake Granby.

We LOVED this place and will definitely return. The stayed in the Couples Cabin which was clean and quite comfy. Satellite TV and Wifi were nice too, but nothing was like waking up to the views on the Lake. My husband loved the porch / veranda area for sitting. We both walked the shore of the lake each morning. Rooms weren't new with all brand new everything - so if you're picky and want pristine newness, stay somewhere else - but pay the price.

For the $99 we paid, I thought the value was the best of this vacation. We'd like to return with family and friends We highly recommend this place, especially for a couples getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mindieburgoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLLMGMT, General Manager at North Shore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you and your family! (Hint: We do lots of reunions!)

We have always loved the view of the lake ourselves- In inspiring in every season: The wildlife drinking at its shores in the Spring, the boats and mountains reflecting off it in the Summer, cotton candy clouds being drawn up from it in the Fall and rainbow crystals of snow sparkling across it in Winter- ever changing, always beautiful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 54 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2011

The Lodge has great views !! Wake up in the morning and walk out of your door onto the your deck over-looking the Lake. The rooms are clean and the Staff is Awesome. Doug and Eddy are friendly and welcoming. I read previous negative reviews , and all of those are prior management, before the new management of Doug and Eddy took over at North Shore.

They recently upgraded the Wireless connectivity at North Shore and Mountain Lakes Lodge and both are working flawlessly. I look forward to my future stays at North Shore and Mountain Lakes Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asdfasdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLLMGMT, Manager at North Shore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Core Concept Communications did a fabulous job optimizing our (free) wireless internet service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We along with two other couples visited the Rocky mountains for the Fourth of July weekend and stayed at the North Shore Lodge for three days. We rented a family getaway cabin which has two bedrooms, kitchen, one bathroom . It has a rustic feel to it. It was cozy,clean and very comfortable for the 6 of us. The kitchen was well stocked, the bed was comfortable. There is a common balcony which runs at the back of the cabins and looks out onto the Granby Lake. The view from here is very pretty with the mountains in the backdrop with the blue water and the sail boats. The other guests staying at the lodge were very friendly and let us share their camp fire. The manager of the property was very helpful with giving directions and answering all our questions. The lodge is about 4 miles from Grand Lake and about 6 miles the Rocky Mountain National Park entrance. You must visit the Grand Lake village and the nearby Adam's falls.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KCGirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I came up to the lodge with my young sons (5 & 7) and was warmly greeted by Edie, the new manager. Since it was early in the season she let me pick which unit we stayed in (so I got to peak at many of them). She was really sweet and explained all of the updates her and her husband had been making. We stayed in Number 8 at NorthShore. The boys had a blast running around the yard and walking out to the water. We grilled outside and just had a really nice weekend. It is a quaint place - rustic and cozy. I was very pleased to get a very clean room with excellent service (and a fully stocked kitchen). Thanks for making it such a nice weekend!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ginafrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug and Edie D, General Manager at North Shore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Fall is so beautiful in Grand Lake- We're glad you got to see some of the gorgeous fog that comes off the lakes and streams this time of year! Thank you for staying with us, for the lovely review and the photos. We're happy that you enjoyed the Lake Granby Suite and hope you'll stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Stayed there again this year, as we are going to go back every year. We stayed in the corner suite with the walk-off too. We have a 7 and 3 year old as well as our dog. We had another family of 4 and a single friend who also had a dog stay with us too. Awesome time there and the suite was well worth it. We also had family stay in a seperate room and we had our meals in the suite together.

The room was great for big groups and enough space where no one felt cramped. The view with the huge windows was awesome. The newly redone deck out back was great too. We got to use the fire pit outback 2 nights and loved it. Always recommended and convinced everyone to go back with us every year too. Thanks JP :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catiyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Took my two kids (9&7) and my 83 year old mother for an extended relaxing weekend. The price was right but unfortunately you get what you pay for. I should have known that being on the water at that price came at a cost. The room was 'ok'. We had 4 towels for 4 people for our 3 night, 4 day stay. I pulled the murphy bed down at 10PM the first night and found no bedding and no extra in the entire place. I didn't assume I needed to check when I got there! Everything was barely there. No soap or anything in bathroom and about 2 drops of dish soap in the kitchen. No washcloth or dishtowels in the kitchen. We were given 10 napkins. With that said, a phone call the next morning and a trip to the office and the grocery store and we had everything we needed. The worse though were the filthy carpets. The "resort" is pet friendly which is great but there were MANY stains in the carpet of who knows what. I would not let my kids take off their shoes or sit on the carpet. Also, you could hear everything in the rooms next door and we had a screaming baby in the next room. No ones fault but bad luck - but again - you get what you pay for and the walls are paper thin. We did love being on the water and the kids had a blast. The view is beautiful and the deck is great. My mother took a horrible fall over the very poorly done edging/landscaping attempt in front. Also, people did not do a good job at picking up after their dogs and there was dog crap all over which no one took care of - at least the four days we were there. While the kids had fun we will not be back and next time I will spend the money on a nicer place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdcpmdnemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

The manager Paul was very helpful and friendly... The cabin was fun and the porch overlooking the lake was breathtaking to look at all day long. My husband and I plus our 2 boys had fun around the cabin and fishing off the Granby banks.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wolfstacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
4.9 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Grand Lake
542 reviews
5.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
21.8 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#6 of 8 in Granby
68 reviews
5.1 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
5.1 mi away
Spirit Lake Lodge
Spirit Lake Lodge
#6 of 20 in Grand Lake
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Shore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shore Lodge

Address: 928 County Road 64, Grand Lake, CO 80447-8615
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Grand Lake
Price Range: $100 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside lodge on the North end of Lake Granby. A 150 ft back deck overlooks the lake and a 1/2 acre backyard with a fire pit, charcoal BBQ grills and rustic log seating. Gorgeous views of the Continental Divide and Lake Granby are available from almost every room. Average price is $129 and pet friendly. Kitchenettes stocked with basic cook ware and dining ware are in each unit. Full baths and all linens included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Shore Hotel Grand Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing