We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Have cleaned the place up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Vista Hotel
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Grand Junction
Moab
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“They Have cleaned the place up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

It's been awhile since I've stayed here, and on my last stay it was a pleasant surprise. We got a great rate and the location os right near the airport, they also have free long term parking and shuttle service to the Walker Field airport. It's far enough off the interstate (I-70) that noise is not a problem.

Room Tip: I'd say all rooms are great and pretty much the same. And as always stay away from the elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SonoraBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    140
    96
    46
    25
See reviews for
98
130
49
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room was very musty, I think it had been shut up for quite a long time; it was hard to ventilate as the windows didn't open. The bed was well sprung and comfortable, but the bed linens were of poor quality, the blanket was hard and scratchy and very worn. The shower had poor pressure, but the water was nice and hot and the bathroom fittings adequate. We had dinner in the Lounge; there was only one waitress who was run off her feet, so the meal was slow but simple and adequate. The wine was disappointing; supposedly the wine growing district of Colorado, but there were no whites available by the bottle and only one red; a merlot, which was drinkable but not memorable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dinkydye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangely, Colorado
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The breakfast I chose was one egg, hashbrowns and toast. The egg was good, 4 bites of hasbrowns, untoasted toast, cold coffee all for the low price of $5.95 (about 30 cents worth of food). To top it off, it was served by the restaurant manager. Would NEVER eat there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gofishway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

After discovering that the blanket and bed cover were NOT clean, I began to look more closely at the room! In general, it was old and poorly maintained. The TV was an old tube type and could only be seen from one place in the room. The chair was old and uncomfortable.The bathroom vanity was built for people 6'6" or taller. Temperature of water in shower was difficult to control and the towels were scratchy! Wifi was slow and undependable. Also only one elevator was working and very slow, noisy and vibratede alot! Tried to go to the lounge but door was locked 1/2 hour after sign indicated it should be open, only got dirty looks from people inside! Must say tho, that the front desk staff was friendly and tried to correct whatever they could! I wil be ataying at a different hotel next trip to Grand Junction!

Room Tip: Always read the reviews before booking, I forgot this one time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grand Junction hotels

Cortez, Colorado
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

They banned smoking... but all the stale smoke in the world would have been a vast improvement over the cheap "carpet cleaner" powder they chose to assault the senses with.

I wanted to gag as I opened the door to the room... it smelled like formaldehyde with a slight artificial pineapple undertone... it smells like the Riverside Resort in Laughlin... mixed with the air over Gary, IN...

At check in the clerk clicked the mouse hundreds of times... no typing.... just endless clicking, I wondered if they ever checked anyone in before after ten minutes of clicking.

The room was underwhelming in addition to the toxic chemical smell coming off the carpet... the television was of the olde style tube type... and the Jacuzzi tub had slime built up around the jets.

The wallpaper was coming off the walls in places, and it looked like there were several poorly patched "punch holes" from violent clientele.

The bed was clean, and the view is shrinking as more tall buildings go up around the hotel, like most things in suburbia the "Grand Vista" was named after the very thing that was destroyed by the building of a city... namely the grand vistas.

The "HOT TUB" was not.... not even close. More like a "Lukewarm Puddle" than an actual "hot tub", and exiting the barely warm water into the cold surrounding air was unpleasant... I was glad I didn't try the pool, as it was a bit colder than the "lukewarm tub".

There are a lot of new hotels in Grand Junction... If you are on a budget this one is better, and cheaper than the Clarion Inn down the street... but if you can afford it, there are better choices.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikethebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We opted to spend an extra $12 on our reservation for two full, hot breakfast buffets. The "hot" portion consisted of chafing dishes with eggs, pancakes, and potatoes. No other meat. The rest of the breakfast was an underwhelming continental. No bagels or English muffins, just white bread to toast. No whole fruit, just some canned fruit cocktail. And no sign of the tasty looking pastries that they displayed in the case by the restaurant entry.

I wish we'd saved the $12 and spent it ordering from the menu instead of settling for the buffet.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erinco425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel is good located just of the I70 in Grand junction where you have a lot of gas stations and restaurants in the area. The old town center of Grand Junction is about a 10-15 minutes drive.
The hotel has a large lobby with seating area. The front desk personnel could be more friendly.
The rooms are somewhat narrow. There is a fridge, microwave and coffee making facilities available. The bathroom has a loud airco unit which unforntunately turns on when you hit the light of the bathroom and not the shower.
The hotel has a large swimming pool open 6am till midnight but the location isn't terrific. It's at the ground floor next where all the meeting rooms are and since the pool is completely enclosed with glass windows you can't enjoy a private swim when there is a meeting going on.
There is also a restaurant on site but when you drive a few minutes there are lots of other restaurants as well.
If you are planning to stay in Grand Junction I believe there are plenty of other hotels to choose from within the same price range and offer the same amenities. This one doesn't stand out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ineke_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Junction hotels
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Junction
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
#5 of 29 in Grand Junction
4.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#16 of 29 in Grand Junction
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Grand Junction
Courtyard Grand Junction
#15 of 29 in Grand Junction
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Grand Junction
Quality Inn Grand Junction
#12 of 29 in Grand Junction
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Vista Hotel

Property: Grand Vista Hotel
Address: 2790 Crossroads Boulevard at Horizon Drive, Grand Junction, CO 81506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand Junction
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Grand Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Vista Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Vista Junction
Hotel Grand Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing