We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great to members of the Blue Knights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Certificate of Excellence
Pocatello, ID
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great to members of the Blue Knights”
Reviewed July 27, 2010

The West & South-West Coast chapters of the Blue Knights had our annual conference at this motel during the end of July, 2010. 300+ of us invaded the motel - most staying at the motel, and others less fortunate staying elsewhere, but all attending meetings and dinners at the motel.

First off, the staff in the restaurant are EXCELLENT! They not only hosted the normal restaurant, but also put on a "light BBQ" our second day here. The BBQ consisted of hamburgers and hot dogs with potato salad and little bags of chips. The had naturally flavored water and ice tea available to drink and cookies for desert. Everything was cooked to perfection and nobody went away hungry. The restaurant staff had originally set up one line to feed everybody, but when they saw that things weren't moving real fast, they hurriedly set up a second line to get everyone through faster. Tonight we have an awards/annual banquet, and I am sure that it will go smoothly also. In addition, I have eaten a couple of meals at the restaurant, and the food was very good and not too costly.

The rooms we got were spacious, clean and well maintained. The A/C worked very well and kept my room at a comfortable 72. It was a welcome respite to come back to a cool room after riding a motorcycle in 90 - 100 degree heat. My room also had a good shower head (funny how you appreciate some of the small things) and big, fluffy towels. The room also came equipped with a large (around 40"?) LCD TV instead of a little TV - not that it got much use. The room also featured a nice desk (where this is being written) and a comfortable reading chair with ottoman and light.

I marked "Value" on this hotel/motel as four stars because I'm not sure what the normal cost for an average traveler would be. As a member of the conference, we received a reduced rate which would increase the "Value" up to 5 stars. The only reason I marked the "Location" down is because it's a little difficult to get into the parking area from the street. You have to wait on a traffic light to get in and out, and it was little confusing when I initially arrived. However, there are several fast food/restaurants and gas stations just down the road, and there was easy access to a major highway.

My only complaint/issue is with internet access. While there is free access in some of the common areas, if you want to access from your room you have to pay an additional $5 for 24 hours. Why is it that the big, fancy motels/hotels make you pay to access the internet, but the smaller establishments have it for free? At this time I have connected (barely) to the LaQuinta hotel across the street to write this.

One other item which will make some people happy and others not so... I am a smoker and this motel does have smoking rooms available. It is a sincere pleasure to be able to fully relax in my room, and not have to run outside to pursue my (bad) habit. Although the room I got was a smoking room, when I arrived it did NOT smell of smoke. Just another thing that made my stay that much more enjoyable.

Overall I have been very pleased with this establishment, and would definitely recommend it to others needing a place to stay in Grand Junction. As a member of the Blue Knights, I would like to thank the management of the motel for providing an outstanding stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mortimerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerNilsson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction, responded to this review, July 29, 2010
Thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay at Doubletree Grand Junction. I really appreciate your comments in particular about our food and beverage department. The Blue Knights group was a delight to work with. It was well planned and it was a joy for our staff to have such a great group in our hotel. Thank you very much for all your business and enjoy Doubletree Riverdale next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    305
    122
    53
    29
See reviews for
275
298
76
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
146 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

As a Hilton Gold member, I did get a room upgrade here. This is a nice hotel, but nothing out of the ordinary. Rooms were clean and good size. Beds were comfortable. I would say for a Doubletree, this hotel compares more with Hilton's Hampton Inn hotels. Only it has more stories. A big disappointment was that the bar was ridiculously smoky and this drifted through much of the lower restaurant level and pathway to the restaurant. Otherwise, it was an adequate hotel to overnight or spend a few nights.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A2Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerNilsson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction, responded to this review, July 29, 2010
Thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay at Doubletree Grand Junction. I apologize for the smoke in the lounge issue and the issue has now been resolved. Hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Very nice and clean and priced cheaper than most big city doubletrees.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehudson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerNilsson, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction, responded to this review, July 29, 2010
Thank you very much for your nice comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand junction
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2010

I will never pay money to stay at this hotel again.First the room was filthy. There was white goo running down a chair in the room. something red ( ketchup or blood) splattered on curtains, an inch of dust where the wall meets the floor and behind night tables, etc. Ordered rib eyes for dinner and spent over $70.00 with tip and the meat was tougher than a sirloin and tasteless, the grilled vegetables were raw and uneatable. Doors slamming shut until 2:00 a.m. I Love Hilton Hotels, but not this one.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleysmom19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerNilsson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction, responded to this review, June 7, 2010
Thank you for your comment about your recent stay at The Doubletree, Grand Junction. I would like to apologize for your stay. I tried to research your stay but based upon your e-mail address I could not determine the dates or what name the reservation was under etc. If you could provide me some more information I can research further. I would like to get back to you if at all possible

Thank You

Per Nilsson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
886 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 927 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Not real fancy, but it is real functional and probably the best full service hotel in Grand Junction. It's quiet, roomy and comfortable. What else do you need?! Would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it if you're going to The Junction. There are newer limited service and mid-price properties in the area, but I'd take this full service property over those any day-especially since the Doubletree seems to have a better rate.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romadaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerNilsson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction, responded to this review, June 7, 2010
Thank you very much for your recent comments about your stay at Doubleetree, Grand Junction. We value all guest feedback and I will share your comments with the staff. Next time you come through Grand Junction I would like to meet you

Thank You

Per Nilsson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouray
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2010

This was my second time to stay there. The room was spacious and clean. I would skip the breakfast in the hotel restaurant room service was much better.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ouray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerNilsson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction, responded to this review, April 21, 2010
Thank you very much for your positive feedback about our hotel. Hopefully I can introduce myself next time you are here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We had to travel from Denver to Grand Junction for the High School Regionals in tennis.
We were greeted with a warm welcome at the front desk. They were well organized with our group (team) reservations. The rooms were current (flat screen tv's) and clean. The beds were especially comfortable...besT I've slept in a while. I would definitely choose to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jameck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerNilsson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction, responded to this review, October 19, 2009
Thank you very much for your comments in regards to your recent visit. We value your comments and I will share them with the staff here at the hotel. Hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Junction hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Junction
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
#2 of 28 in Grand Junction
589 reviews
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
#7 of 28 in Grand Junction
544 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Junction
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 28 in Grand Junction
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Grand Junction
Courtyard Grand Junction
#16 of 28 in Grand Junction
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction
Address: 743 Horizon Drive, Grand Junction, CO 81506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand Junction
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Grand Junction
#2 Family Hotel in Grand Junction
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grand Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the breathtaking views and relaxing atmosphere of Colorado's Wine Country. Set amid a backdrop of lush valleys, beautiful mountains and alpine plateaus, The Doubletree Hotel Grand Junction is the perfect getaway for any traveler. Whether you are a professional business traveler or a family looking for a fun-filled vacation, the DoubleTree Hotel is the place to stay! During any season, guests can enjoy a wide array of outdoor activities, including downhill and cross-country skiing, snowmobiling, mountain biking, horseback riding, hiking, and vineyard tours. Whether it's a Stay 'n' Play Golf Package in the spring and summer months or a Stay 'n' Ski Package in the cool Grand Valley winters, the DoubleTree Hotel has something for everyone. We are centrally located close to Mesa State College, downtown Grand Junction, shopping, restaurants, and about 15 miles from Colorado's wine country and ski resorts. The Doubletree Hotel encompasses a beautifully landscaped 10-acre property that includes lighted tennis courts, a basketball court, sand volleyball, horseshoe pits, and an outdoor children's play area. A fully renovated Precor fitness center is available 24 hours a day. Guests can relax and soak up the sun at our heated seasonal outdoor pool and year-round jacuzzi. Guests can satisfy their hunger with a full breakfast, lunch, and dinner menu offered at the Bistro 743 Restaurant or stay in and experience our exceptional in-room dining. We feature nightly specials in our Lounge 743 where you can relax with friends and watch your favorite sports team on one of our three large flat-screen TV's. Check out the local band scene on Wednesday nights or kick off the weekend with Fiesta Fridays! The DoubleTree Hotel also offers more than 12,000 square feet of banquet meeting space, with up to 14 breakout rooms and a Grand Ballroom of 5,000 square feet. Book your meeting with us today! The Doubletree's 273 guestrooms feature the Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree sleep experience with plush-top mattress, luxurious linens, down comforters, and sweet dreams pillows. Guest room amenities include a 37" Flat Screen TV, Complimentary Wolfgang Puck coffee and tea, Neutrogena bathroom products, and a USA Today delivered every weekday morning. Refrigerators and microwaves are available upon request. Your warm chocolate chip cookie is waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Grand Junction Hotel Grand Junction
Doubletree Grand Junction
Grand Junction Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing