We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phenomenal Food and Drink in a Surprising Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 626 on Rood

626 on Rood
Reserve with OpenTable
626 on Rood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Seventh St.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Food and Drink in a Surprising Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is easily the best food you will find in Grand Junction, and for that matter for probably quite a distance.
Very professional, knowledgeable, courteous, and friendly staff.
Excellent choice of wines and creative selection of wine flights. If you're unsure, ask your wait staff as they are trained to be knowledgeable and provide feedback about the wines. If beer is more up your alley, they have a modest but high-quality selection of craft beers.
I had the buffalo tenderloin, which was on the pricier side of the menu but was absolutely worth it. If you get it, order it rare, trust me (even if you don't normally get meat rare). Fantastic dish.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank potatohamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    45
    23
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb Thanksgiving Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Special occasions are always a challenge for smaller restaurants. We had Thanksgiving dinner at 626 and were a little nervous about how the evening would go. I was afraid we would not be seated at our reserved time and would feel rushed.
Much to my pleasant surprise, we were seated right on time and had fantastic service. The restauarant was busy, but they were so well prepared.
My kids are picky eaters, so when they say a meal is good, it is. They loved the traditional turkey dinner. Even though we cleaned our plates, they surprised us with indvidual "leftovers" boxes to make it feel more like a family experience.
We are definitely looking forward to a return visit to try more of their outstanding fare.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steveatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fine Dining!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

If you are looking for fine dining 626 on Rood is by far the best restaurant in Grand Junction. The food, wines, atmosphere and service are all excellent by any standard. The owners, Brenda and Theo have made this restaurant "their baby" and are attentive to every detail. They have trained their staff to be professional and knowledgeable about the details of the food and wine that they are serving. They have a regular menu and a "sharing menu" that has excellent choices such as lobster mac and cheese, mussels and truffle fries and much more. If you are a foodie you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palisade, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The best dinner restaurant in Western Colorado”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

The food was excellent, the service even better, and the atmosphere was relaxing and very nice. They even had a clean bowl of water near the front door for dogs. I couldn't believe I was in Grand Junction, the waitress even gave my service dog an organic homemade dog biscuit. The food was a little expensive for me, but well worth every penny. I just can't say enough good things about this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best place in town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

By far the best food and service in town. My only complaint is that I don't go enough! Plenty of wines to choose from. The staff is extremely knowledgeable of all the terrific foods and drinks. Don't let the wonderful dining experience take away from the tremendous atmosphere!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lance L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 626 on Rood also viewed

 

Been to 626 on Rood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing