We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Grand junction!! Can You believe it!”
Review of 626 on Rood

626 on Rood
Reserve with OpenTable
626 on Rood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Seventh St.
Barcelona
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“In Grand junction!! Can You believe it!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Went here because of Trip Advisor.
What a remarkable surprise.
The foie gras was outstanding especially with the peach chutney.
The lamb was truly the best we have had outside of 2 Michelin restaurants in France.
The chef says he sources it from a local ranch and even knows the pasture it comes from.
The wine flight was just awesome with some of the better French reds I have had and we spend time in France.
Service was great everything came together.
One of the great meals we have had

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elridder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    50
    23
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best restaurants in Grand Junction”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've visited 626 on Rood twice, on separate trips to Grand Junction, and had a fabulous experience each time. The food and service were both excellent. The restaurant is just a couple of blocks off of Main Street in the old downtown area, so it's conveniently located if you're staying at one of the hotel properties in that part of town. Reservations are recommended, but we walked in during our last visit and no problem. It's one of the pricier restaurants in Grand Junction, but worth it, especially for a special occasion splurge. Excellent wine list, including selection from local wineries. We met the owner both times we were there, so management is very hands-on, which might account for the consistent quality and great experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best Food in the Area!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a very special restaurant for those of us who live in the region. There is nothing like it for hundreds of miles. Excellent cuisine, which uses all the fresh ingredients that can be found in the area (a tomato salad this evening was divine). A terrific wine selection. An ambiance that celebrates art. And attentive and very personal service. Yes, it is pricey -- but, given the quality, it is money well spent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgway, Co.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I own a restaurant and this is a great find for me.”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have had lunch at 626 many times on my journey's to Grand Junction. I feel many of the negative reviews are unjust. This restaurant strives to make culinary in-roads in a culinary void town. I own a restaurant in Ridgway, Co. and I just want to say to the Chef....go for it and keep up the great flavors which have been amazing on every plate I've had. Kudos, and keep up the excellent menu (& duck) which I LOVE.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ridgwayfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We found the cuisine to be excellently prepared, and well served. The restaurant is a little out of the way, and has both indoor and outside seating. The service was great, and the server really knew about the offerings and the wine. Speaking of the wine, they have a long list of excellent wines both by the bottle and the glass. The prices, although on the upper end, were not completely out of line for the area and certainly the food and service was well worth the price. We were very well looked after, and constant checks were made to ensure our satisfaction. Next time we are in Grand Junction we will make a point of dining there, sure that it will be a great experience!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 626 on Rood also viewed

 
Grand Junction, CO
 

Been to 626 on Rood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing