We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Italian”
Review of il Bistro Italiano

il Bistro Italiano
Reserve with OpenTable
il Bistro Italiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 4th Street
Transit: Grand Valley Transit has a bus stop a few yards from the entrance of the restaurant on Main Street
Description: il Bistro Italiano opened in August 1998. Our focus is on bringing a combination of traditional Italian dishes together with some innovative ones created within the boundaries of modern Italian cuisine. The pastas, breads, sauces, and desserts are all made at the restaurant from fresh ingredients. Our wine list features a large selection of wines from Italy and Colorado, and whenever possible, we use local ingredients in our kitchen. There is always something going on at the Bistro, so look at the Events Section to learn of special wine nights, cooking classes or other featured events.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
136 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tasty Italian”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Our hotel recommended this restaurant and it enjoyed good ratings on Trip Advisor both of which were spot on. Archer assisted us in selecting our dinner from the several specials and the menu offerings. My wife enjoyed sole with a salmon mouse wrapped in p rosette while I devoured a very filling small order of their Lasagna. The meals were accompanied by glasses of Cab Sav and Carlson Riesling. By the way the Riesling was served cold vs the room temp you get at some restaurants. The portions were very filling so no room for the various deserts well with in sight. Dinner and wine ran $75 w/o tip. We left 21% because of the great service and Archer's good humor.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    156
    53
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent, no need for a long review”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Excellent food, atmosphere, and value. The other patrons were obviously enjoying themselves as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Illinois-Yokohama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“High quality”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Had an early dinner en route to the opera. No reservation, but we were seated immediately, since it was early. It is a very cheery and pleasant interior (there is also outdoor, streetside seating). There are about a dozen tables for four and about a half dozen for two in the main dining room, so reservations are definitely recommended. The menu has many desirable items, and the prices are reasonable for a classy restaurant. The wait staff was pleasant, helpful, and completely competent (our waitress was quite knowledgeable about lactose intolerance, for example). We both enjoyed our meal immensely, and look forward to our next visit. This establishment deserves its high rating. Note: there is no Saturday lunch (downtown seems to be rather deserted on Saturdays).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reservata2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton
Level Contributor
88 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice Place Good Food.”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We started out with a nice BRUSCHETTA-sautéed mushrooms and provolone cheese on white bread and roasted garlic spread. My wife decided to go with the SALTINBOCCA-veal medallions folded with prosciutto, asiago cheese and fresh sage-sautéed in a garlic and white wine sauce-served with sage flavored potato augratin and seasonal vegetables. While not what you would find back east she found it to be very good. I really enjoyed the TAGLIOLINI DI MARE-shrimp, cold smoked salmon, bay scallops, roasted vegetables in white wine cream sauce, tossed with their own egg Tagliolini pasta.The entrees were more than sufficient to fill us up and did not leave us with any room for dessert.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dragonass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“delicious!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

right when you walk in the amazing smell hits you and it doesn't disappoint once you get your food! The chef was super accomidating, I am a vegitarian and he made a special speghetti dish that had amazing gourmet mushrooms in it. The salad was amazing too! Would def. check it out if you're in the area. Great location too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamiemontgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il Bistro Italiano also viewed

Grand Junction, CO
 
Grand Junction, CO
 

Been to il Bistro Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing