We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry, it's not great.”

Las Marias Authentic Mexican Restaurant & Tamales
Ranked #15 of 262 Restaurants in Grand Junction
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: (970) 241-2398
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sorry, it's not great.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

After reading raving reviews of this restaurant we went with great expectations. Sadly, it was just not good at all. The tamales I ordered were served mildly warm not hot, and the food was just not that great. Marginal at best and the house margaritas are pre-made from a bottle. I've had traditional Mexican food in Mexico and throughout the Southwest, this isn't fabulous.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flavorista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    29
    5
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have to give the Trip Advisor family of reviewers a big thumbs up on this one. We had never been to Grand Junction before and when we pulled into town we had no idea where to eat. We are not chain restaurant eaters so when I saw this type of place we thought , well lets try it. Well are we glad we did. we know good mexican food, being from Southern Ca and having mom and pop authentic cafe's near us we love this type of food and this obvious family run operation stacks up well against any we have eaten.
While the restaurant may not be in the best of areas it nonetheless is a great place to eat and get authentic Mexican Food I would encourage anyone to go to this great little gem.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevensroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
176 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The best and authentic food of Mexico”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Wow. This is the definition of hidden gem in Grand Junction. While visiting family they raved about this authentic family Mexican restaurant and took us there on Sunday. As they are regulars they were warmly greeted by almost everyone who worked there. Had the Chorizo con huevos with green chile. Fantastic flavor. Others had the Enchiladas con huevos which were very good. This is the real deal and authentic. Super service and great food. Will go for dinner next trip to the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
316 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Truly Authentic Mexican”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We hadn't been to Maria's in literally years although it is close to our home. We had dinner there last week and was pleasantly surprised by how the restaurant has improved. This isn't the homogenized, routine, swimming in atomically hot cheese meal that so many consider to be "good" Mexican. It was uniquely flavorful with enormous portions worthy of taking home. Absolutely the BEST Mexican in GJ. Maria herself always makes sure everything is properly served and greets/visits each table. The frijoles are to die for!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VincePCTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Hole
Level Contributor
98 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The Shotgunner Was Right on!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

While visiting Grand Junction I spent an afternoon shooting TRAP with some locals and overheard several of the shooters agreeing that "Marias on 50" was the best Mexican Food in GJ. My wife and I tried them for lunch and will definitely be back! It is not a classy joint, it is a great local, down-to-earth Mexican restaurant, which is just what we wanted!

Our lunch portions were sufficient and the flavors were wonderful! Maybe is was because of oils and cheese and other unhealthy things, but we were on vacation and cared not!

We certainly plan to return to Las Marias for more great food!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShootInJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Marias Authentic Mexican Restaurant & Tamales also viewed

 

Been to Las Marias Authentic Mexican Restaurant & Tamales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing