We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT Beds!! Great Stay Overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT Beds!! Great Stay Overall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is located right at the end of the historic downtown strip, so great for going out to dinner and drinks! The hotel looks very slick as far as decorations go. Hotel staff was friendly. The pool is very small and we couldn't find any pool towels either. But on to the main attraction of this hotel! THE BEDS WERE AWESOME! Best nights sleep I have ever had, at a hotel, or at home. Beds were soft, pillows were great! My buddy who stayed with me also had the same opinion. So either our beds at really suck haha or these beds were the best! Thanks SpringHill Suites for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoCoBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    132
    45
    13
    5
See reviews for
127
147
11
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
175 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is right in downtown Grand Junction. If you are seeking something right on I-70, that is NOT a good location for you because it is a few miles off the highway. However, if you want to be downtown, then it's perfect because just outside the hotel is the cute town, where you can shop and eat. We were there on a Sunday evening, which meant pretty much everything was closed down though.

The hotel is nice enough. I liked the bathrooms which one area with a toilet and sink and then a separate room with a shower and sink. This configuration is convenient if you have a few people needing to get ready at the same time.

Breakfast was good. Springhill Suites has upgraded their breakfasts to include meat and cheese plus fresh fruit (we had strawberries here). That's really a nice touch.

Others have posted the $5 parking fee. I think that is absolutely ridiculous. Anyone who comes to Grand Junction is going to have a car. This is not in Chicago or New York. This is a small town. I would rather just have the $5 added to the room rate. And if the management wants to limit guests to one car per room in the lot and add the fee after that, then I would understand, but charging for one car is very tacky.

The other thing is that we had a first time horrible experience with terrible housekeeping in a Marriott branded hotel (which we stay in a lot). My son opened the pull-out couch. It had sheets already on it. But as he was getting in the bed, he noticed there was popcorn inside the sheets. We had not eaten any popcorn, so that means the previous guest had eaten popcorn, and then housekeeping had not changed the sheets. It's absolutely disgusting to think that if the popcorn had not been there, we would not have known the sheets were dirty, and my son would have slept on them.

Upon checkout, I told the manager about this experience. He explained that the housekeeping was being changed that day (strange coincidence) and then asked me if we called for clean sheets after discovering the popcorn. I told him that we hadn't needed to because we found a clean set in the closet, so we just pulled the dirty ones off the couch and changed them ourselves. He then told me that housekeeping is supposed to make sure there is no evidence of prior guests in the room...well, yeah, that's true, but I think changing the sheets is one of the basic and first things they are supposed to do. It's not about evidence of prior guests. It's about the disgusting dirty sheets not being changed.

Anyway, he did take a small amount off of our bill because of the complaint I made, but I was not happy that this happened in the first place, and it makes you wonder how dirty the rest of the place is.

Oh, then I thought we had forgotten something in the room, so about two hours after checking out, I called the hotel to see if someone had found it. The person who answered the phone said she would talk to housekeeping and call me back in "a few minutes." But, I never received a phone call, which I assume means they did not find the item, but still, it would have been nice for her to call me back like she said she would.

This hotel itself is nice. The location is fine. I just wish that the service and housekeeping were up to standards.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfandMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg B, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your visit. I just wanted to follow up with you on the parking fee. Being in a downtown location we do offer monitored parking with in and out privileges. We sincerely apologize that your sofa bed was not clean when you checked in. I had a conversation with our housekeeping staff and your issues were our first concern, and they are being addressed. We won't provide any excuses to why this happened, only a resolution so it won't happen again.

I have also followed up with our front desk regarding the return phone call to you, and have stressed the importance of guest service and accountability.

We take great pride in making sure every guest has a great experience with us. We hope that if you are in Grand Junction in the future that you will stay with us again so we can have another opportunity to host you properly.

Sincerely Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

After driving all day as part of our trek from LA to Colorado, all we wanted was a quiet room in a convenient location. As for the location, it is pretty great, since you can walk to restaurants and shops downtown. But as for the quiet room? Not so much. My husband and I were very disappointed in the room layout...awkward to say the least. The walls are paper thin and we could hear our neighbors at night, and then the people next to us slamming the door the next morning as they packed their car for what seemed like an hour.
We specifically asked for a quiet room upon reservation as well as check-in, and that was not what we encountered. Also, there is a huge light to illuminate the parking lot at night, and even with the double curtains, our room was too bright to sleep. Luckily I had my eye mask. But even with ear plugs and eye mask, it was a fitful, noisy night.
The breakfast is your average sub-par American continental, not even worth waking up in time for. There are, however, good places near by on Main street.

Room Tip: Make sure you are on the top floor. We requested this, but it was not granted, thus the light from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetfiretraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, FL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is our 5th family road trip of 40 or more days, and so we have stayed in quite a lot of hotels, including easily a dozen Springhills. Overall, this was the best Springhill so far because 1/ the beds were supercomfortable 2/ they were queen size beds (some Springhills have double beds) 3/ the rooms were the CLEARLY the largest of any Springhill we have stayed in 4/ the overall look and location of the place and last but not least 5/ both an indoor saline pool and the use of the outdoor chlorine pool at the Hampton Inn across the not busy Main Street at the Hampton Inn. This was great for our swim-crazy 11-year old, who used both pools.....a lot.

Size of room matters when you have five in your party and Dad needs to sit at the desk while junior sleeps in the sofabed. In many Springhills, once the sofa bed in opened, you can't sit at the desk. I travel with a road bike, and they let me store it in their office, although in this case there would have been plenty of room in our room.

The $5 parking was a turnoff at first, but if you don't like it, do street parking. If you drink, the lobby bar has 2 draft beer between 5 and 6:30. The Rock Slide BrewPub down the street may have good food, but the beer was average if you are a beer geek.

We ended up in Grand Junction because of a problem with our hotel in Moab. We are glad we did. Grand Junction is a good town to have a two night one day rest day in, with many ambitious restaurants and Colorado National Monument (CNM) literally just up the road. If you have visited Grand Canyon, Deadhorse Point and Canyonlands NP, then it is enought to drive some of CNM from Grand Junction towards Fruita (as opposed to doing it in the other direction). Go as far as the Echo Canyon, great fun for kids of all ages. Ask when you enter the park which stop the Echo Canyon is at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junglecat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg B, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the rave review! We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to give us the excellent feedback..We strive to ensure that our guests are getting what they pay for and it looks like this time we hit the nail on the head!

Thank You!

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We enjoyed our 1 night stay at the hotel. Great location with walking distance to Main Street with tons of restaurants and shops. Beautiful views from our window of the mountains. The room is spacious, modern, and clean. Walked to great pizza place Pablo's that I highly recommend as well. We would come back to this hotel, and area. Great start to our vacation.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Malinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American abroad
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect in downtown Grand Junction, but this hotel exceeded all expectations -- probably one of the best Marriott properties were have ever stayed in. The location was great for walking to downtown restaurants and the room was spacious and spotless. Would make this our first choice if we ever go back to the area and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zawojska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very nice location and easy access to downtown. Super friend staff and very good nice place to stay. Room is big and good for family to stay. Love to have the extra space with quality in mind. I really enjoy the time stay in this hotel and will recommend for any family to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Junction hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
#2 of 28 in Grand Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Jun...
#14 of 28 in Grand Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Junction
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Junction
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 28 in Grand Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
3.8 mi away
Residence Inn Grand Junction
Residence Inn Grand Junction
#10 of 28 in Grand Junction
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street

Property: SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
Address: 236 Main St, Grand Junction, CO 81501-7804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand Junction
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to SpringHill Suites by Marriott®, located in Historic Downtown Grand Junction, a hotel with space and style at an affordable price. Ideal for business and leisure, our guest suites offer a seamless blend of style and function along with luxurious bedding, a microwave, mini-fridge, large work desk, free high-speed internet access, and a spa-like bathroom to ensure your stay is anything but ordinary. Our complimentary hot breakfast, pool, fitness center and free WiFi in the lobby help you stay refreshed and connected outside of your room, giving you the freedom to set your own pace and work or relax your way. Located within walking distance to multiple locally owned restaurants, boutiques and salons. It's a balance made for you - the contemporary traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing