We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This motel comes with a high rating for a reason!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Junction Palomino Inn
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Certificate of Excellence
Johnstown, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
152 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“This motel comes with a high rating for a reason!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This little motel was purchased ten years ago after having been sitting vacant and for sale for ten years. The current owners have put a lot of effort and reinvested a lot of income back in to the motel to make it a very nice place to stay. Everything has been cleaned up, fixed up, painted up, and they continue to make improvements all the time.

This is a husband and wife operation and they are very hard working and responsible owners (as we learned from talking to them). They clean the rooms every day and then rent the rooms themselves. I believe they came from Romania and the husband doesn't communicate as well as the wife does so if you encounter him at the front desk remember he is uncomfortable in that position and would rather be out working on the property!

The parking lot used to be gravel and is now paved. The large pool is clean and well kept. There is just a great comfortable feeling about being at this motel and you will probably be just as impressed as we were so I'm suggesting you give it a try next time you're needing a room in Grand Junction.

There is a great Mexican restaurant within walking distance of the motel too and they have wonderful margarita's!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BQmaxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    156
    19
    8
    11
See reviews for
85
192
37
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our flight arrived in GJ after midnight. Based on price/reviews, we called the El Palomino and were told by the male owner that a shuttle from the motel would pick us up at that time. We called when we arrived and he told us it was too late for a shuttle. The next morning we needed to return to the airport to pick up our rental car. The owner helped us load our luggage into the back of his pick-up (the shuttle). I had made a pot of coffee in our room and took a cup with me for the ride to the airport. Within the first block, he rudely said, " Watch the coffee." I asked if he would like me to pour it out and after he said "yes", I did. I asked where he was from and he went on a rant that people ask him that and he was from "Europe, that's all. Do people ask where you're from?" He was very rude and verbally abusive. We felt very uncomfortable being in the vehicle with him.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brycehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

For the money, El Palomino Motel is a very good value. It is an old-school vintage 50's/60's motel with the pool in the center of the parking lot and parking around it. If you get there early, you can park directly in front of your room, which makes it easy to unload your luggage.

Yes, the rooms are a little bit out-dated, but they do have several good things going for them: The room was clean. They had DirectTV. They have a fridge. The A/C worked well. The shower was really good and strong, which I loved. The bed was a little too springy/bouncy for my liking though. They had a really nice breakfast selection in the front office area. The Polish lady who checked us in and out was really nice and friendly.

Sure, it is not the fanciest place in the world, so don't go in expecting the Four Seasons. But for the price, El Palomino is a good place to stay. Recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pfatalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights based on Trip Advisor reviews, and were not disappointed.
The room (and specially the bath) was a little small for a family of 4. But besides that, For a very low price comparing to other options, you get a clean room, very nice pool, breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shlomo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Upon the advise of tripoadvisor we stayed the one night at this Motel. Dated property, however;
quite comfortable, clean, nice size room, and location in town on old highway originally used to travel through town many years ago. Continental breakfast was good and convienent as we packed up and headed out with coffeee in hand. Staff and or owners helpful and gracious.

Old downtown with Antiques, Brewery, various shops,and restaurants not far away. 12 street was real close with another Brewery and Restaurant featuring their microbrewery beers. Everywhere were young people having fun enjoying theirselves.

Nice town and if we had more time would enjoy staying longer.

Room Tip: Just watch for placement of A/C if you need one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I read the reviews of El Palomino while looking for a room for the night in GJ. This is a good little motel with vintage, but updated feel to it. The rooms we super clean. The host was very nice. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a king bed and a friend stayed in a room with 2 double beds. Both suited o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Br1an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Indiana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Basic hotel with not many frills. A simple breakfast was nice considering the low price we paid. Check in was easy and very helpful. The rooms are a bit small and the beds not the most comfortable but our stay was clean and we experienced no problems. For a quick one night stay this is a fine place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Junction hotels
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Junction
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
#2 of 28 in Grand Junction
589 reviews
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction
2.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
#7 of 28 in Grand Junction
544 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Jun...
#14 of 28 in Grand Junction
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Junction Palomino Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Junction Palomino Inn

Property: Grand Junction Palomino Inn
Address: 2400 North Ave, Grand Junction, CO 81501-6435
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand Junction
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Junction Palomino Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Junction Palomino Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing