We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Clean, clean + Location too! Best deal in town!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Junction Palomino Inn
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Certificate of Excellence
Ortonville, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Clean, Clean, clean + Location too! Best deal in town!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was our second time staying at the El Palomino Hotel in GJ. The first was by happenstance, on Christmas day! two years ago. This time was purposeful, as we thought the place was great for the money.
It's like staying in a motel in the 50's, and is as clean as if it was just built!
It is very clean; around 18 unit motel; where the owners (Polish) live on site, and clean the rooms themselves. They are always around; and cater to your every need. They have a sparkling clean, (albeit RETRO!) pool, that we also enjoyed this time.
Our room (both times) had a microwave, coffeemaker, and small fridge. The bathrooms were updated and clean. The room appeared to have been updated since our trip there two years ago.
The room had alot of 'furniture', which we love! to put stuff on. It had like 4 chairs, 2 nightstands, a desk and small table. And, the room was plenty large enough!
Did I mention that Continental Breakfast is also included??? It's not anything fancy, but it's Free Food! What a great deal this place is!
The Pro's:
We cannot say enough Great things about this place; and I am afraid to post it on Trip Advisor; as Everyone will want to stay there; and then we'll have a hard time getting a room there (for as cheap!) next time we're in GJ.
The Con's: the only thing I can think of is that it's in Not the nicest area of town (but didn't seem unsafe); and it's on a busy road. With the AC running (which worked great!), the windows closed, it was quiet enough to sleep with the 'white noise' of the AC!

Room Tip: We've stayed in two different (King) rooms there; on two separate occasions; and both were great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MamaMona01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    161
    24
    9
    11
See reviews for
88
209
37
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new mexico
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at El Palomino based on TA reviews and agree that it's a a very nice place, plus it's a great value. Our King room was relatively small but contained a comfy couch and chair which was a nice touch.Furnishings appeared to be new and everything was spotless. If I have one negative it would be the tiny bathroom. A hook on the back of the door, along with a shelf next to the sink, would have made it more convenient. There was no place to hang or put anything. Breakfast is the typical rolls/muffins/cereal and is served in the small lobby. There is no place to sit but that doesn't bother us as we usually take something and eat at a scenic spot. The owner is friendly and helpful. We loved the large El Palomino sign marking the entry - a throwback to how most motels were identified back in "the day."

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mwcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were a little disappointed, given the stellar reviews. It is perfectly acceptable as a motel but that is all it is. It isn't charming or quaint. If you are comparing it to other motels that are dirty, with crappy beds, this is better than that. Beds were good and linens were very comfortable. It was clean enough, but not sparkling clean. Carpet was ok, but not clean enough but don't go barefoot.

Air conditioner wasn't adequate for the summer heat in July, but the noise from the A/C did drown out the road or other noise. Still, a little too hot with A/C to sleep well. Small bathroom in the standard room with two queen beds was cramped and VERY hot. So much so that you find yourself showering just as quickly as you can. Toiletries are packets of shampoo and soap but that was good enough on that score for us.

WIFI was great, didn't stick around for the breakfast, but got the impression it is very basic, a little coffee and muffins type thing available in the little office. TV remote didn't work, so had to get up to mute it each time; not a deal breaker but annoying. Refrigerator was handy and good.

A few fast foods in walking distance, but since this is a motel, it is easily to come and go in the car to get better choices. Pool was also not sparkling but looked good enough, but gate locked quite early in the evening (not sure what time but easily by 7:00 pm).

All in all, wouldn't stay again. Would pay more for adequate air conditioning and cleaner carpeting and a bit more counter space. Doubt we would have to pay much more as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thefriendlytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were passing through grand junction and checked trip advisor for recs on places to stay, el palo came up... We weren't disappointed in the least, excellent service, nice clean rooms, met all our needs at a great rate, the service really made our stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chuckybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We settled for this as it was less than half the price of similar lodgings in Moab and only 90 minutes drive from Arches National Park. The service is great, location very convenient, rooms are clean and simply the value for money unbeatable. There is a well maintined pool, free WI-FI, a microwave and fridge in every room and you will also get a breakfast ( choice of fruits, yougurts, muffins, etc.) in the morning. I highly recommend this motel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tmsglc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I couldn't wait to write this review before I even left the premises. Very nice, very clean, outstanding value money wise. Comfortable beds. It is just across from a mall. Some traffic noise, but not annoying. All the amenities, including WiFi and a swimming pool, if you like. I know this sounds strange, but I sometimes judge a place by whether the tub drains, water volume and temperature, etc. Plenty of hot water, good drainage, room to turn around in the shower! Extremely nice manager. One thing I could ask for ... the frig needed defrosted. It would have worked more efficiently that way. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank galfromkazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at El Palomino for a night on our road trip to New Mexico. It might not look cozy from the outside, but the rooms were not only immaculately cleaned, there also had everything we needed for our stay: comfortable king-sized bed, microwave and refrigerator, and the perfect-sized pool right outside our door. The owners were very nice and helpful, too. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnaGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Junction hotels
2.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
#6 of 28 in Grand Junction
601 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
#4 of 28 in Grand Junction
628 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn Grand Junction
Quality Inn Grand Junction
#10 of 28 in Grand Junction
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Junction Palomino Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Junction Palomino Inn

Property: Grand Junction Palomino Inn
Address: 2400 North Ave, Grand Junction, CO 81501-6435
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand Junction
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Grand Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Junction Palomino Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Junction Palomino Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing