We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no butterfies when I visited just one not inpressed at all”

Western Colorado Botanical Gardens
Clifton,Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“no butterfies when I visited just one not inpressed at all”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Would not go back or bring friends here while visiting area there are other places to see better in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joyce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    13
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
129 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Loved visiting!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

A great way to spend an hour or two! There are very unique garden areas outside with a lot of photo opportunities. The conservatory inside isn't very large and butterflies were not on site during our visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palisade, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The number one site to visit in Grand Junction”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a remarkable place. It joins the River Trail; a great place for bicycling or walking - I have seen deer, raccoons, badgers, beavers, grey herons, horned owls, red-tail hawks, a red fox, all sorts of smaller birds, rabbits, and my favorite: the red-winged black bird here. The Botanical Gardens is just that: exotic tropical flora and many varieties of flowers. There is also a Butterfly House with a huge variety of butterflies. Ms. Harris and a non-profit organization, took many years to collect and save the money to build this dream place. It took a great deal of effort just to acquire the land. Much of the upper part of the building is made of highly insulative but transluscent Lexon. The thick greenhouse glass can not be broken by hitting it on the surfaces with a sledge hammer - it can only be broken on the edges. This glass is almost a quarter inch thick and very heavy: these glass panels were ordered from Texas. There is a large outdoor fantasy area especially for children. Anyway, there is much more to this place than I am telling you. It is very much worth the visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cudahy WI
Level Contributor
328 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“I wish more of their plants were identified”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We visited this garden on a recent trip through the area. The gardens accept American Horticultural Society reciprocal memberships so our admission was gratis.

Visiting near the end of September by it's very nature means that flowers will not be in their peak form but a garden is a garden and there are interesting things to be seen in almost any season when you can see the ground and plants. :-)

It's a smallish garden; still growing; and growing pains are evident. A lot more plants could have been identified than were. That said, we enjoyed the garden immensely as it gave us a better sense for the local vegetation. The historic garden at the far end was particularly enjoyable.

A visit won't take long, but it's also right in town, so you don't have to go far to get there.

Go, support local gardening and enjoy a break from the regular pace of your life.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palisade, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a nice little botanic garden with a nice litttle gift store. They put on some very good educational programs and have a good room for programs or parties. The library in there dept me busy for as long as I was willing to stay. I have not toured all the new gardens lately and when I was there they were hoping to get some butterflies soon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Colorado Botanical Gardens also viewed

 
 

Been to Western Colorado Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing