We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Beginning of our Southwestern Tour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Los Altos Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Grand Junction B&B and Inns
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Beginning of our Southwestern Tour”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here one night in late April. It was a perfect time of year as it warm during the day, cool at night. We enjoyed the balcony of the Sunset Room with stunning views of the Colorado National Monument. Our hosts were very kind and accommodating. We informed them the night of our arrival we would be later than expected and they said "no worries", and welcomed us when we got there with friendly conversation. The drive into town is only a few minutes and we enjoyed dinner and some drinks at Rockslide Brewery. The next morning we were served a fantastic breakfast. Lee was full of stories and information for the next leg of our trip. He gave us a great recommendation for a scenic highway to our next destination, and looking back I cannot imagine a better route to travel. If ever in Grand Junction, Los Altos is a recommended way to experience it fully.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlt_5266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
62
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Willow Grove, PA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed four nights at Los Altos in early June 2012, and we'd definitely stay again. Los Altos is located on a hilltop three miles southwest of central Grand Junction; it takes 10 minutes (or less) to get into town. The inn was built to be a bed-and-breakfast, so each room was designed to be self-contained--this is not a converted private residence.

Los Altos features wonderful views of the cliffs in Colorado National Monument, and views across the Grand Valley and Grand Junction to the Book Cliffs on the north. The inn is not, however, secluded in the "middle of nowhere" as some images of it may lead you to believe. It is in the midst of a high-end subdivision called The Cliffs, and the expansive natural panorama also includes views of houses and golf courses.

Our room on the second floor was very pleasant and exceptionally clean. The bed was excellent. We could enter the inn through the common rooms on the first floor, or we could enter via French doors that opened onto the wooden deck outside our room, which also featured two chairs for relaxing and enjoying the views.

The hosts, Young-Ja and her husband Lee (Leigh?), were exceptional. They were very welcoming and provided lots of information about Grand Junction (a place they obviously love), including places to eat and places to visit. Since one of the reasons we were in town was to consider Grand Junction as a retirement location, we asked the hosts to recommend a Realtor, and they set us up with a wonderful Realtor who really took care of us on short notice.

Breakfasts were outstanding--imaginative, generous, and leisurely paced. If you go away hungry, it's your own fault. Hot and cold beverages (including coffee, albeit coffee bags) and chocolate chip cookies were available in the comfortable common room at all hours.

I just have a few minor beefs. The inn has rugs but is not fully carpeted; if there are other guests, the sounds of their footsteps in the hall can be a bit loud. Also, as I've found in many bed-and-breakfast inns, there was almost no space on which to lay out toiletries near the sink; I ended up with toiletries spread on the floor.

If I could give Los Altos and its hosts a "4-1/2 dot" rating, I would. It's not heaven, but it comes pretty close.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott_McCandless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We recently spent two wonderful nights at Los Altos for a quiet simple wedding with just the two of us, having booked the inn's elopement package. Lee and Young Ja were wonderful hosts and really made the occasion special. We felt welcomed from the moment we stepped up to the front door. The home is beautiful, and the views gorgeous; Lee and Young Ja were friendly and fun. We enjoyed walking the trails near the property one morning. The inn is located within minutes of Grand Junction shopping and restaurants, as well as the Colorado National Monument. We had no problem finding the inn with our GPS. We stayed in the Vista suite on the second floor, which is much nicer and larger than it appears in the photos, and there are two balconies overlooking the incredible views. We watched the sunsets from the balcony while sipping champagne from our wedding (provided in the elopement package). Very quiet and romantic. The breakfasts were very enjoyable and the food delicious. I was never lacking for coffee refills from Lee during breakfast. We appreciated the set time for breakfast--it's like a family breakfast time, and I have always felt the premise for a bed and breakfast is to feel more personalized as opposed to a chain hotel. Thanks to Lee and Young Ja, our special time in Grand Junction will always be a time we cherish and remember fondly. Thank you for making our wedding and time in your lovely home special. We would definitely return, and hope to do so for our anniversary in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psumeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This B&B sits on top a small hill, and the views are gorgeous! The house is lovely. And it is very close to everything, including the Colorado National Monument for the outdoor enthusiast. However, the owners were very rigid with rules and we never felt at home. I received a cold stare-down when I unknowingly broke the rule - no guests allowed in the kitchen (despite no accessible microwave outside the kitchen). Breakfast was only served at two distinct times 8:30 and 9:30 - no deviation was allowed, meaning NO COFFEE beforehand, and again no accessible coffee anywhere else in the house. (My husband was in caffeine withdraw.) We were on our honeymoon but it felt like boot-camp! I wish I could say the breakfast more than made up for the military like treatment, but the portions were very small, and if you didn't like what they made that particular day - TOUGH LUCK! We left and stayed at the Hampton Inn in downtown Grand Junction instead. They also offered a free breakfast at our leisure and gave us the friendly treatment we thought we'd get at the B&B!!! The staff there was incredible helpful and nice. Go there instead.

Room Tip: Go to the Hampton Inn in downtown Grand Junction instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yjglee, Owner at Los Altos Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
I am sorry to learn that you felt like being in a bootcamp when you visited us in September, 2011. Obviously there had been a lack of communication and we apologize you for that. We do serve breakfast for two specific times because we want to keep the tradition of the old fashioned breakfst and serve a full sit-down breakfast wtih menues carefully planned to meet the needs of our guests such as glutton free, lactose intolerent, diabetic, vegetarian, etc. Breakfast is served at 7:30 and 8:30 and we have met the needs of guests who were on business and biking that needed different times and we made special arrangements for them. Breakfast is a high-light of the bed and breakfast experience and our guests cherish that for it is a dying art. We also have 24 hour refreshment stand with array of drinks including coffee and home-baked chocolate cookies. Again, we will strive harder to communicate with our guests and we appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Judy & I don't travel often, so when we do we like to go First Class. Lee and Young Jao, owner/operators of Los Altos B&B in Grand Junction, CO made us feel welcome and comfortable from the moment we arrived. Our King Suite was spacious and beautifully appointed. The fireplace in our room was especially cozy when the outside temp dipped below 30 on our first night. We enjoyed hearty and tasty breakfasts of french toast with cream cheese and fresh strawberries and link sausage on Saturday, and a mushroom, bacon & cheese omelet on Sunday. Young Jao's apricot scones were incredible and Lee never let our coffee cups go below halfway. We didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: We asked for the best room in the house...the King Suite pictured on their web site...and were delig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyN4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The initial approach from Grand Junction does not do this place justice. Suddenly you emerge from pleasant but very ordinary suburbs turning right up a steep drive and there is Los Altos with an incredible view.
Los Altos is immaculate and gives the impression of being run with military efficiency. The room was very comfortable with its own entrance; breakfast delicious; the owners extremely helpful but most spectacular of it all are the views - 360 degrees.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sands4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, MA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Great accomodations, super view overlooking Grand Junction & wonderful breakfast-definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfdada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Junction hotels
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
#4 of 28 in Grand Junction
621 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Junction
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#11 of 28 in Grand Junction
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
#5 of 28 in Grand Junction
592 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Jun...
#14 of 28 in Grand Junction
187 reviews
5.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Altos Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Altos Bed and Breakfast

Property: Los Altos Bed and Breakfast
Address: 375 Hill View Dr, Grand Junction, CO 81507-4606
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand Junction
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Junction
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Los Altos Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing