We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and memorable elopement experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Los Altos Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Grand Junction B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We recently spent two wonderful nights at Los Altos for a quiet simple wedding with just the two of us, having booked the inn's elopement package. Lee and Young Ja were wonderful hosts and really made the occasion special. We felt welcomed from the moment we stepped up to the front door. The home is beautiful, and the views gorgeous; Lee and Young Ja were friendly and fun. We enjoyed walking the trails near the property one morning. The inn is located within minutes of Grand Junction shopping and restaurants, as well as the Colorado National Monument. We had no problem finding the inn with our GPS. We stayed in the Vista suite on the second floor, which is much nicer and larger than it appears in the photos, and there are two balconies overlooking the incredible views. We watched the sunsets from the balcony while sipping champagne from our wedding (provided in the elopement package). Very quiet and romantic. The breakfasts were very enjoyable and the food delicious. I was never lacking for coffee refills from Lee during breakfast. We appreciated the set time for breakfast--it's like a family breakfast time, and I have always felt the premise for a bed and breakfast is to feel more personalized as opposed to a chain hotel. Thanks to Lee and Young Ja, our special time in Grand Junction will always be a time we cherish and remember fondly. Thank you for making our wedding and time in your lovely home special. We would definitely return, and hope to do so for our anniversary in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psumeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 83 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

This B&B sits on top a small hill, and the views are gorgeous! The house is lovely. And it is very close to everything, including the Colorado National Monument for the outdoor enthusiast. However, the owners were very rigid with rules and we never felt at home. I received a cold stare-down when I unknowingly broke the rule - no guests allowed in the kitchen (despite no accessible microwave outside the kitchen). Breakfast was only served at two distinct times 8:30 and 9:30 - no deviation was allowed, meaning NO COFFEE beforehand, and again no accessible coffee anywhere else in the house. (My husband was in caffeine withdraw.) We were on our honeymoon but it felt like boot-camp! I wish I could say the breakfast more than made up for the military like treatment, but the portions were very small, and if you didn't like what they made that particular day - TOUGH LUCK! We left and stayed at the Hampton Inn in downtown Grand Junction instead. They also offered a free breakfast at our leisure and gave us the friendly treatment we thought we'd get at the B&B!!! The staff there was incredible helpful and nice. Go there instead.

Room Tip: Go to the Hampton Inn in downtown Grand Junction instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yjglee, Owner at Los Altos Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

I am sorry to learn that you felt like being in a bootcamp when you visited us in September, 2011. Obviously there had been a lack of communication and we apologize you for that. We do serve breakfast for two specific times because we want to keep the tradition of the old fashioned breakfst and serve a full sit-down breakfast wtih menues carefully planned to meet the needs of our guests such as glutton free, lactose intolerent, diabetic, vegetarian, etc. Breakfast is served at 7:30 and 8:30 and we have met the needs of guests who were on business and biking that needed different times and we made special arrangements for them. Breakfast is a high-light of the bed and breakfast experience and our guests cherish that for it is a dying art. We also have 24 hour refreshment stand with array of drinks including coffee and home-baked chocolate cookies. Again, we will strive harder to communicate with our guests and we appreciate your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Judy & I don't travel often, so when we do we like to go First Class. Lee and Young Jao, owner/operators of Los Altos B&B in Grand Junction, CO made us feel welcome and comfortable from the moment we arrived. Our King Suite was spacious and beautifully appointed. The fireplace in our room was especially cozy when the outside temp dipped below 30 on our first night. We enjoyed hearty and tasty breakfasts of french toast with cream cheese and fresh strawberries and link sausage on Saturday, and a mushroom, bacon & cheese omelet on Sunday. Young Jao's apricot scones were incredible and Lee never let our coffee cups go below halfway. We didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: We asked for the best room in the house...the King Suite pictured on their web site...and were delig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlyN4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The initial approach from Grand Junction does not do this place justice. Suddenly you emerge from pleasant but very ordinary suburbs turning right up a steep drive and there is Los Altos with an incredible view.
Los Altos is immaculate and gives the impression of being run with military efficiency. The room was very comfortable with its own entrance; breakfast delicious; the owners extremely helpful but most spectacular of it all are the views - 360 degrees.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sands4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Great accomodations, super view overlooking Grand Junction & wonderful breakfast-definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tfdada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Beautiful location on a hilltop with gorgeous views. We stayed in the suite above the garage, which was huge, very clean, and very quiet. Owner is extremely knowledgeable and a great story-teller, a delight to talk with him.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poppyfield831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed here a few weekends ago. We loved it. Directions had a bit of an error (wrong street name for one street winding its way up), but the views were well worth the trip! The innkeepers were friendly without being intrusive. We would definitely stay there again. The room we originally booked had had some water damage so we got upgraded. Vey glad we did. All upstaris roms ahve lovely views and balconies. Also, only a ten minute drive to downtown GJ for restaurants and entertainment, and very close to Two Rivers Winery tasting room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mlb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Junction hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
#6 of 28 in Grand Junction
645 reviews
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
5.7 mi away
Grand Vista Hotel
Grand Vista Hotel
#15 of 28 in Grand Junction
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Junction
5.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction
4.0 mi away
Castle Creek B&B
Castle Creek B&B
#2 of 11 in Grand Junction
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Altos Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Altos Bed and Breakfast

Address: 375 Hill View Dr, Grand Junction, CO 81507-4606
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand Junction
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Junction
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Los Altos Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing