We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!!!”

Azteca Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 35 Restaurants in Granby
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“We loved it!!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Food was fantastic! Price was reasonable. Staff was so very friendly!! Yes, we loved it.
We were only in town for 4 days, mostly for the Rocky Mtn Natl Park. We ate here our 1st nite, and loved it so much we came back for lunch before we left town.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pam_from_indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    46
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

My family and I enjoyed our meal. Three of us had enchiladas and I had the steak burrito. The food was served quickly and was hot and fresh. We will definitely eat here again. We enjoyed the slaw salsa and the regular salsa had a nice kick to it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good food, large portions!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We are at Azteca last night after seeing good reviews on Trip Advisor. Like others have said, the regular salsa is a little different, but the slaw salsa they bring is unique and really good. I love Carne Asada and always order it, but also wanted to try the Chili Relleno since it was highly recommended on this site. So, I ordered the combination plate that also comes with an enchilada - I assumed that it would be small portions of each - the plate that came out was MASSIVE! Twice the size of my husband and sons plates.....I was a little embarrassed, but it didn't stop me from almost cleaning it - the Carne Asada was perfect, so I did share a (small) bite with my family. The crispy Chili Relleno was fabulous as well. The others in my party ordered the Azteca Enchilada and Chicken Chimichanga - they really like it as well and plates were clean. Sangria was good, but I am used to a wine sangria with fruit, this was a thicker fruit purée kind of beverage, but still very good. Margaritas at other tables looked really good....may have to go back and try one. We have all week!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoadAgain-5ofUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Marginal Mexican”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

So far on our trip to Colorado, we are not experiencing any better Mexican than home in CT. Which is sad commentary on CO Mexican food. Although Cortez, CO has some excellent Mexican restaurant. Azteca has posted on their door that they open daily at 11 a.m. We arrived at 11 a.m. only to be informed they actually open at noon. So an hour wait....my husband really wanted to eat a heavy lunch before a long trip home to CT. The cabbage slaw served with the chips is very good. However, it went downhill shortly afterward. The steak portions were not available because they had not prepped the beef yet that morning. So I ordered spinach enchiladas with chicken. The dish came out lukewarm, with barely enough assume to know it was there and hard tasteless chunks of chicken. My teenage son who usually will eat anything refused to eat his combo plate after a few bites. Said the sauce tasted sour. My daughter ate only one pice of her giant quesadilla saying it was making her feel sick. It also contained the hard, tasteless,past its prime chicken. My husband ate his meal and didn't complain but he will eat anything Mexican, regardless of quality or taste.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2462skiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldspring, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Better than expected.”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My first impression of any Mexican restaurant is formed by their Salsa and Chips. These were "mixed". The cool Salsa was palatable. The warm Salsa reminded me of canned vegetable soup. Not great. The Chiles Rellenos were excellent. The food, overall, was more than adequate. I would eat here again. Now, if they would only fix the Salsa.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bureaucrat377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azteca Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Granby, Grand County
Granby, Grand County
 

Been to Azteca Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing