We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girls weekend!”

Sombrero Stables at Snow Mountain Ranch
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Granby
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore the Rockies the Old-Fashioned way! Open Year-Round, Sombrero Stables on the Snow Mountain Ranch-YMCA property offers 1-4 hour horseback rides, wagons rides, and sleigh rides, seasonally permitting. Also available are our wedding carriage (may be rented for anniversaries or other special occasions as well...), a one-horse-open sleigh, and dining facilities for special occasions. What if everyone rode a horse or wagon to your... Rehearsal Dinner? Birthday celebration? Wedding Anniversary? Let us know your ideas! Family and kid friendly, pony rides available for the young buckaroos.
Denver
1 review
“Girls weekend!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We came to the riding ranch because we were visiting from Denver for a girls weekend. I love horses! We were able to ride with horses through the snow and even though rye often sunk through the snow because of the slush, they maneuvered perfectly. I wish we could have had a longer ride but it was great! All of the wranglers were awesome and so kind! Afterwards they took the time to hangout a little and chat about the ranch and area. Very cool!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adria Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    17
    1
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greeley, Colorado
1 review
“Family Spring Break”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Enjoyable ride! Very informative about the ranch history and any animal care. The kids absolutely had the time of their lives. We were treated very well, despite the cold weather.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SombreroStablesSMR, Manager at Sombrero Stables at Snow Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Wendy,

Thanks for driving over from Greeley to see us! We've certainly had some interesting weather this spring break season, and I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed yourselves on our winter ride.

Please don't be a stranger, I hope we can see you again when it warms up.

Best
Sarah and The Sombrero Stables Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful ride with beautiful views”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

My parents, fiancé, and me went for an hour horseback ride during our stay at Snow Mountain Ranch. We had a wonderful time, and it was one of the main highlights of our trip. Our guides were very friendly and the horses looked well cared for. We all had a blast looking at the beautiful scenery while riding the awesome horses. One of our guides, Marissa offered to take quite a few pictures of us which was much appreciated! A wonderful memory, look forward to coming back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stac70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SombreroStablesSMR, Manager at Sombrero Stables at Snow Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Stac,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're very glad to have been a highlight of the trip! Thank you also for mentioning our horses' appearance; we take a lot of pride in the upkeep and health of our equine co-workers. I'm glad Marissa was able to take photos for the albums!

We all look forward to seeing you again.

Best,
Marissa, Sarah, and The Sombrero Stables Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
1 review
“A great sleigh ride and dinner!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We came up from the Denver area on March 5. The drive was great. We had dry roads between snowy days. There was plenty of snow for our ride. Our driver, Laura, was personable and capable. We loved watching her direct the horses with mostly verbal commands. Merry and Pippin, our Haflinger horses were beautiful and enjoyed the trip as much as we did. Laura told us about their unique personalities, and about many of the other horses at the ranch. The crisp (but not frigid) air was fresh and clear. The views were wonderful.

Our dinner was great. We enjoyed the wonderful western flavors of our fish and chicken. The cowboy beans were flavorful and delicious. We also enjoyed topping off our meal with apple cobbler and ice cream. Our cook, Bob, was happy to visit with us.

We had a great experience!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SombreroStablesSMR, Manager at Sombrero Stables at Snow Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Sylvia,

Thank you for taking the time to comment here. Our budding youngn's Merry And Pip have been working there butts off this winter to become a more accomplished pulling team, and I know they appreciate your praise as much as Laura and Bob.

Laura joined us from Georgia this winter, and I'm glad you were able to catch her on her last day here. She's been an integral part of an incredible staff, and we're sad to be losing her back to the warmth of the south.

Very glad you enjoyed your meal, as well as the Bob's conversation on top of his cooking. I hope we see you again!

Best
Laura, Bob, Sarah and the Sombrero Stables Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Awesome sleigh ride”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I loved it!!! The people are always so nice, at any of the Sombrero Stables locations, including this one. This was our first time here and WILL NOT be our last either. Marissa, our driver was very social and super friendly. She gave everybody background knowledge of the area, the horses, etc. The food was good and the portions were huge, so come hungry!!! Definitely recommend to anybody, if youre just visiting or if you live in Colorado!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Goose20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SombreroStablesSMR, Manager at Sombrero Stables at Snow Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Goose,

A review that starts with "I loved it!!!" (triple exclamation mark) put smiles on all of our faces! I'm so glad to hear that you've enjoyed Sombrero Hospitality before, and that this stables lived up to expectations.

Marissa joined us this winter as an Intern from Winona State University, studying Recreational Tourism, and has been an incredible addition to our staff. Thank you for taking the time to highlight her customer service.

Thank you also for commenting on the meal, we're very glad you enjoyed the food, and pride ourselves on good ranch cooking! I hope you meant it when you said you'll be back; we look forward to your return.

All our best,
Sarah, Marissa, and The Sombrero Stables Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sombrero Stables at Snow Mountain Ranch also viewed

Granby, Grand County
 
Winter Park, Grand County
 

Been to Sombrero Stables at Snow Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing