We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome way to see beautiful scenery”

Sombrero Stables at Snow Mountain Ranch
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Granby
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore the Rockies the Old-Fashioned way! Open Year-Round, Sombrero Stables on the Snow Mountain Ranch-YMCA property offers 1-4 hour horseback rides, wagons rides, and sleigh rides, seasonally permitting. Also available are our wedding carriage (may be rented for anniversaries or other special occasions as well...), a one-horse-open sleigh, and dining facilities for special occasions. What if everyone rode a horse or wagon to your... Rehearsal Dinner? Birthday celebration? Wedding Anniversary? Let us know your ideas! Family and kid friendly, pony rides available for the young buckaroos.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome way to see beautiful scenery”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

My family (4 adults, 3 kids, 2 toddlers) visited from Texas on a Sunday afternoon. We called to make reservations and were able to fit into the ride even though they were booked for the week. (: Since 3 adults are Veterans, we were very happy to see there was a Military Discount! The ride was amazing. Colorado is beyond beautiful, and our guide was more than friendly!! It got very cold, but each sleigh had blankets available. Definitely recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SombreroStablesSMR, Manager at Sombrero Stables at Snow Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
I'm so glad you and your family were able to visit us.

Please, active duty military and veterans, let us know whenever you're visiting. With your ID it's your whole family that receives the Military Discount, not just you! Thank you for all that you do. If there is a special occasion we can help you celebrate memorably, don't hesitate to let us know.

Best
Sarah & The Sombrero Stables Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    18
    1
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sleigh Ride”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We really loved it!! Incredible family Christmas Eve memory!! The staff was so nice and welcoming! The only reason this isn't getting 5 bubbles is the fire pit at the Homestead was small, we had 16 riders on our sleigh so it was hard for everyone to get warm by the fire (and it was cold)! If they would expand the fire pit and put some log benches surrounding the fire it would have felt so inviting and really would have been the perfect addition to this sleigh ride.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SombreroStablesSMR, Manager at Sombrero Stables at Snow Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Robin,

I'm glad our staff lived up to expectation, but I'm sorry our fires did not. We have added a second fire pit for larger rides like yours, and will be looking into possible benches instead of picnic tables next year; with so many lodge pole pines down from the beetles, we're always interested in new projects.

Thanks for the feedback, and many thanks for the photos! Always love to catch our seniors Bilbo and Beryl (brown team) goofing around.

See you again this summer for a warmer time?

Best,
Sarah and The Winter Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado, Usa
1 review
“Holiday horse back ride”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Had a great time, it was the first time for our kids to ride horses. Even though it was only 17 degrees, we had a blast and the mood of everyone was happy and positive.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SombreroStablesSMR, Manager at Sombrero Stables at Snow Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Lynette,

Thank you for joining us and bringing your kids on a unique snowy experience. We try to hire individuals with anti-freeze in their veins, and it's good to know our employees this year are up to the task. Hope to see you again when the warmer weather comes...

Best
Sarah & The Winter Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
“Happy Trails”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Did 4 hour ride up Snow Mountain...novice rider...horses took care of everything...take water and snack...highly recommend for city slicker like myself..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SombreroStablesSMR, Manager at Sombrero Stables at Snow Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
KR,

Glad you found us 'city slicker' friendly! Thanks for joining us on our half day ride.

Best
Sarah and the Sombrero Stables Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
“Wagon ride and cookout”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Took my sister here. 35 bucks for ride and cookout. Organic beautiful perfectly cook steak
Good beans and garlic bread.
Wagon master was cute and friendly

Cook was so dang entertaining.

Beautiful scenery. Lovely horses

Priced very good

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank twocupsfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SombreroStablesSMR, Manager at Sombrero Stables at Snow Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves!

I do want to clarify for future viewers that while the steaks are all natural, locally butchered in Denver, and are top quality aged Colorado angus sirloin, we cannot -currently- claim the "organic" slogan. But shopping local sure does show the difference in quality! Please feel free to visit our vendor's website and investigate their unique meat selection and aging processes: http://www.lombardibrothers.com/

Best
Sarah & the Sombrero Stables Crew (all of whom make very cute 'Wagon Masters')
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sombrero Stables at Snow Mountain Ranch also viewed

Granby, Grand County
 
Kremmling, Grand County
 

Been to Sombrero Stables at Snow Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing