We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unassuming and simple with high quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pearl Dragon

Pearl Dragon
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Granby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Excellent place for good Chinese food! On the outside, the place looks like nothing special, in fact, it looks closed. We decided to try it out, thanks to other YELP reviews. Our waitress even asked us where we'd heard about this place, so we told her, and she said I hope everything is great. She was fun, attentive, and gave great customer service. She was happy to explain the menu and any item we asked about. Truly enjoyed our meal! We tried the PINEAPPLE CHICKEN, and WOW, that was the freshest lightly fried chicken slices, in a light flavored pineapple sauce, with pineapple chunks. The Pot Stickers were the best we've ever had!! After going thru a few menus at the more pricey restaurants in this area, we chose this winner!! We were very impressed, and we will be back on our next visit to Granby/Grand Lake/Winter Park area.
Decatur (Atlanta), GA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unassuming and simple with high quality”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

After suffering through awful and overpriced food in Estes Park (including bad Chinese food), we finally enjoyed a meal at Pearl Dragon. Obviously one wouldn't think to visit a Chinese restaurant in a small town in Colorado, but the meal was flavorful, fresh, and affordable. Service was also excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mindynate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    34
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berthoud, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food. Friendly Staff”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The food was as good as I've ever had. My wife and I wanted to try a Chinese food dish we had never eaten before. The waitress was very helpful letting us know what items (snow peas, carrots, etc...) were in the dishes and she never got frustrated or made us feel like we were imposing - she was very patient and friendly. Another bonus - if you don't like an item that is in the dish you want, (example-my wife doesn't like water chestnuts) they will substitute for another item no problem (in my wife's case she got snow peas). I definitely recommend this place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank WallyPah-zing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winter park
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great American Chinese”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

After posting about far flung restaurants I finally looked at reviews for my small county. Pearl dragon is always consistent. Lynn is amazing in that if you go there more than two times she will probably remember your name and what you ordered. Lunch or dinner, eat in or order out, you can count on what you will get.
When our kids were little they loved the sweet and sour pork or chicken. Today as young adults they get the spicy dishes when they return home. If you are craving Chinese you will not be disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank wpwilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Chinese at good prices”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We are local and eat here every time we yearn Chinese food. Lynn and company always welcome with a smile. Good food I big quantities for reasonable prices. Some meals are big enough for two people to share

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We discovered this restaurant in July 2013 and have already been 6 times while traveling near Granby. Every item we have tried on their menu is amazing. It is the best chinese restaurant we have found in all of Colorado. I wish they had one in Denver! Sesame Chicken, orange beef, hot n sour soup, crab cheese wontons, sizzling hot plate trio, and cashew chicken are all amazing! Owners and employees are very friendly and hospitable. It is a ton of food for the price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank codylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Dragon also viewed

 
Granby, Grand County
 

Been to Pearl Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing