We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love the mountains and the outdoors, this is a magnificent family vacation spot!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Granby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snow Mountain Ranch
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Granby
Certificate of Excellence
home
1 review
“If you love the mountains and the outdoors, this is a magnificent family vacation spot!”
Reviewed October 10, 2009

The family cabins were perfect for us. We had a 3 bedroom, 2 bath, full kitchen, so we could prepare our own meals when we were ready for them. We had a gas fireplace that kept us warm, and the rates were quite reasonable, as we were off peak in early October.
We hope we will have the opportunity to go back to Snow Mountain Ranch again! Since we were there specifically for a wedding, and had specific activities to help out the bridal couple, we did not participate in a lot of outdoor activities, although some had a chance to hike and horse-back ride. There really are activities for everyone!
The one downside is that the reservation desk could not guarantee that our cabins would be together, and they were not. Together, our families reserved 6 of the 3-bedroom cabins, some of us were spread out on different streets, so we were mostly driving back and forth, instead of just running to the cabin next door. While it was certainly manageable, we would have preferred to be all together.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booboohome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    116
    30
    18
    20
See reviews for
227
40
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

The YMCA Snow Mountain Ranch is rustic and quiet. It is a wonderful place to relax and unwind. It is near Winter Park Resort, which we love to visit in the summer for the alpine slides and biking. Winter Park is a nice town with good music and friendly people. The cafeteria-style food was very good, and they even made us box lunches packed full of food. We love this place!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyLynnOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2009

really had a good time and would reccommed the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3006bugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

I recommend getting a cabin & bringing groceries. The cabins were very clean and comfortable. Some have tvs, some don't. There are a lot of activities offered, great views, & you can have campfires as long as you reserve a campfire ring at the front desk.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachloverDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Went to YMCA of the Rockies for a family reunion. Price was the factor for my wife's family and having a campground. We stayed in the Aspen Lodge. Room was equivalent to a well used 1970's dorm room. We had the food plan in the cafeteria - food was fair to poor at best. The area has been devastated by the pine beetle so it is all in the open, dusty and hot. As of 8-2009, ongoing tree removal on the property. The "Y" is a Christian charitable organization and to be fair, this facility provides opportunities for families to stay in the Rockies inexpensively, in a Christian atmposhere, and should be judged accordingly. Everyone on the staff was quite nice. I could only recommend if cheap price, religion and the "Y" are your determining factors. If not, you may be able to do better at a family run dude ranch in this area with higher quality experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NedHickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, texas
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Snow Mountain Ranch is the best family vacation place we have ever seen. Our children and now grandchildren have grown up there and continue to go with us.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarterFamilyDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We've stayed at Snow Mountain Ranch numerous times over the years and plan to return again. We stay in the vacation homes--they're great for families. The cabins are clean and stocked with kitchen essentials. There is plenty of room around the table for six, plus a picnic table out on the roomy decks. The homes we stay in have wonderful mountain views. Activity-wise, there is plenty to do. Miniature golf is a family favorite. Members of my family have also enjoyed bike riding, horseback riding, the climbing wall, frisbee golf, canoeing and hiking the trails on the 5000 acre ranch. We've seen fox, deer and bear on previous visits. Buckboard's Cafe is a favorite place to grab lunch; we like to sit out on the covered deck and watch the hummingbirds visit the feeders and hanging plants while we eat.
We also do a lot of hiking in Rocky Mountain National Park during our stays. The west side of the park is only 30 miles away and is much less crowded than the east side of the park. It's also a short drive to grocery stores in either Frazier or Granby and not much further into Winter Park.
Snow Mountain Ranch is a family favorite. We've been there over ten times in the past 20 years and plan on returning again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioWriterGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granby
5.9 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#6 of 8 in Granby
66 reviews
11.5 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 15 in Winter Park
504 reviews
18.6 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
18.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
11.7 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Mountain Ranch

Property: Snow Mountain Ranch
Address: 1101 County Road 53, Granby, CO 80446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Granby
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Granby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Snow Mountain Ranch is Colorado’s affordable family resort & conference center. Enjoy 8,000 acres of activities, hikes, history and a wide variety of lodging options including cabins and lodge rooms. Meals available on site. Enjoy many free activities including an indoor pool, family programs, fishing, hiking, disc golf, mini-golf and much more. During the winter, enjoy our Winter Fun Park with XC skiing, snowshoeing, an ice skating pavilion and sledding/tubing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snow Mountain Ranch Hotel Granby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing