We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing family vacation”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Granby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snow Mountain Ranch
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Granby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Went to Snow Mountain Ranch for a family vacation for three days. We had a wonderful time. We stayed in a three bedroom two bathroom cabin that had a full kitchen with dishwasher and bunk beds for the kids to enjoy. We were a one mile hike from the main area of the resort, and we walked it once or twice.

As a family we really enjoyed the variety of activities, from archery to miniature golf to rock climbing. As a family we especially enjoyed doing the arts and crafts. The coolest activities do cost a little more, but not very much. One of the original homesteads was largely intact and we enjoyed going there to hear history from an interpretive storyteller.

We read that the food there was not great so we brought all our own meals. Plus, the dining facility was very far from our cabin.

Sometimes the staff wasn't quite on the ball, which is why I only gave it a 4. Nothing serious, just occasionally late for activities or having forgotten an activity roster.

We loved it so much we already are booked to return again! Thanks for the great family memories.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank ColoradoDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 359 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

Wife and I stayed with son and grandson Fri-Mon. Beautiful location; lovely cabin; kitchen well stocked with pots, pans, silverware, plates, glassware. Relaxing sofa/chairs after hard days of hiking, swimming, miniature golf, lawn games, playgrounds, or just sitting on the porch admiring the view.

Room Tip: From the pictures I saw and the hiking I did, I expect all cabins to be pretty much like ours, so ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cj02139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was our 8th year going here! We still get so excited going here! The craft shop, horse back riding, and all the other activities at Snow Mt. Ranch are great! I highly recommend the horse back riding!

This was our 6th time staying at Mt. Pine. The first few nights were good, but then one night we had the bathroom window open. Turns out there was a hole in the screen! So a bat comes flying in! The kids are screaming, as we try to get the bat! Finally one of us (I can't remember who!) hits the bat with the fire poker. We tried to find it and can't! So we call maintenance and they come on up to help us look. They can't so they leave.

Finally we find the bat in a suitcase! We toss the suitcase out, with the bat in it. We decide that we will not be staying in the cabin, so we get a room at the lodge. This was surprisingly very nice! It was clean, and a great place to hang our hats for the night!

The next morning we get moved to the nicest 4 bedroom vacation home on the property for the same price as we would pay for with Mt. Pine! I think the vacation home was called Misty. It sat right at the top of the mountain.

Over all the staff was superb, from helping us with the bat, to finding new accommodations for us. We can't wait to come back next year!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vacationer1277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We tent camped in the Hopi campground - make sure you don't get a spot near the road as it is pretty busy. They have really nice bathrooms and showers within walking distance at the campground. Even a place to wash out pots/pans. Lots of fun things to do on the property. We went canoeing, fishing, did archery, mini golf, tennis and swimming. There's also a zip line that's 30 feet high, so we skipped that one since our kids are a little young. You definitely feel safe there. The activity staff is really friendly and fun. We might try out the cabins some other time, as they looked really nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeriKerryT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Nicely located in the middle of a valley in between Granby and Tabernash and next to the Pole Creek Golf Course, Snow Mountain Ranch is a pleasant surprise for any family vacation. Owned and managed by the YMCA of the Rockies, the ranch offers several lodging options, all appropriate for a mountain vacation experience: cabins, lodges and so on. I stayed with my family in one of the reunion lodges, in a room with two twin beds, a sink and a bathroom. While the amenities are basic, and the shower did not impress in any way, including the water pressure, the range of activities offered by the YMCA, plus the hiking opportunities in the beautiful landscape make the Ranch a nice family vacation spot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeSipos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Plenty to do and great service. We canoed, zip lined, hiked and played badminton. The setting is absolutely gorgeous! Definitely plan on returning. We made a trip to Granby and Fraser nearby - shopping is good at both.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rrduty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I chose Snow Mountain Ranch for the variety of activities offered at their location and was not disappointed. I wanted to provide a camping experience for my Grandson (age 7 1/2). Most of my camping gear has been lost over the years. We stayed in a Yurt which provided a somewhat similar tent experience with more convenience's (electric lights, microwave, small refrigerator and BBQue grill as well as campfire ring. Although the temperature hit the 40's at night (an unusual early July temperature), we were warm in our beds though getting up and dressed was chilly.
The staff was exceptional and scheduling activities very easy through the program office when we arrived. The facilities and equipment are well maintained. We intend to return next year for a longer stay (this stay was three days).

Room Tip: There are a variety of 'lodges' and cabins available in addition to the Yurts. You can also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granby
18.6 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Grand Lake
547 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
18.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
5.9 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#6 of 8 in Granby
69 reviews
11.5 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 14 in Winter Park
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Mountain Ranch

Address: 1101 County Road 53, Granby, CO 80446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Granby
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Granby
Price Range: $74 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Snow Mountain Ranch is Colorado’s affordable family resort & conference center. Enjoy 8,000 acres of activities, hikes, history and a wide variety of lodging options including cabins and lodge rooms. Meals available on site. Enjoy many free activities including an indoor pool, family programs, fishing, hiking, disc golf, mini-golf and much more. During the winter, enjoy our Winter Fun Park with XC skiing, snowshoeing, an ice skating pavilion and sledding/tubing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snow Mountain Ranch Hotel Granby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing