We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Mexican food at a hole-in-the-wall location”
Review of Jose's Mexican

Ranked #14 of 34 Restaurants in Granby
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: under new management October 2011
Restaurant details
Description: under new management October 2011
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average Mexican food at a hole-in-the-wall location”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We went for lunch in July 2013 on a Wednesday. We were the only customers. They have about 7 or 8 tables--pretty small compared to the huge parking lot. But since it was ranked #1 on Tripadvisor we decided to give it a try. I had the enchilada dinner and the wife had the tamale plate--both pretty standard Mexican dishes--full meals, not lunch specials. We both left disappointed. The best I can say is that it was average food but at a little above average prices. We expected better from the top rated place in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Little Mexican Restuarant!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I ordered the Asada plate and it was GREAT! The service was fast and when we were almost done, the owner came over to our table and brought us something called "Cochinitas" for FREE! It was Carnitas (pork) with these chopped, spicy onions that were soaked in vinegar and hot pepper. It was sooooo good! He said it was their signature dish. My mouth was burning a bit but they tasted amazing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael-John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Small place with great food”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

It's rare to find REAL Mexican food, but my husband and I found it in Granby, CO. We had dinner there on July 3rd. I know a lot of people do not like menudo, but this was the best menudo we've ever had. We split a bowl of that, and then I had the chili relleno plate and my husband had a combo plate with 1 relleno and 1 tamale. All was very, very good. We waddled out of there. I would definitely like to return to try their breakfast and lunch menu as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoCarol2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic,delicious Mexican Food”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Went in for lunch and was very pleasantly surprised. Great food, Clean, friendly service. Would recommend this to anyone who is looking for excellent Mexican. Hidden Gem

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubs189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Wonderful food. The service was great too. If you are not looking for fancy environment, but authentic Mexico food, this is the place for you. Try the barbecoa burrito.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathi8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jose's Mexican also viewed

 
Granby, Grand County
 
Granby, Grand County
Granby, Grand County
 

Been to Jose's Mexican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing