We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it loved it loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of C Lazy U Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
C Lazy U Ranch
Ranked #1 of 4 Granby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We loved it loved it loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

I can't even begin to describe this place. Old-school, refined, elegance yet un-pretentious and comfortable in every way. Staff was exceptional - programs were amazing. Although I know every detail was very well planned - nothing felt contrived, this place is authentic. We rode horses, had spa treatments, fly fished, zip lined, played tennis. The kids programs were unbelievable - they took special interest in all kids to make sure that they all had a great time and a successful experience with the horses.

Room Tip: Book early! Ask about location if it's important to you to be close to main area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgspc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    3
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
122
13
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

From the very first moment when we were welcomed to the ranch by the operations director and the ranch hands we felt truely at home at the C Lazy U. We have taken many vacations at "family friendly" places and have never felt as comfortable as we have here. The service staff is top notch, and ready to provide any thing you may need or desire at a moment's notice. The food and bar service is truely 5 spur rating, and you will never be hungry. Cabins are upgraded with very comfortable bedrooms, and provide a truely unique western living experience. But the best part of all is the riding program for both adults and children. The C Lazy U herd is a truely beautiful thing to see; healthy, happy, and well conditioned. The horses are superbly trained and comfortable even for riders with minimal experience. For riders with more experience, a more energetic horse is readily available. Our kids absolutely loved the childrens program. They were kept busy all day long with riding, swimming, outdoor games, and just about any other thing you could imagine. A truely perfect family vacation and one we will cherish the memories of for a life time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKSteve_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

The whole experience was fantastic, which explains why the majority of guests have been coming for years. The staff / service is incredible. The riding is outstanding. The children's program keeps the kids busy all day from 9 - thru dinner. Although if you want to spend more time with them, you can take them fishing, zip lining, rock climbing, biking, hiking, or shooting instead of using the camp. The spa had an excellent massage therapist. It was an easy drive, but others took the train and loved it. The room was nicely decorated, the bath room had nice amenities, and they put new snacks and fruit in the room daily.

Best for us: the riding, the scenery, the resort, the camp, the other guests, and the staff.

Least: My husband was not really into riding, hiking, or biking. He was not motivated to find activities for himself. They do have someone who works with the guests to help keep them happy and occupied. After a few days, he met with the ranch concierge. They planned out his days. He met Wrangler Tony, who made a rider out of him. He started to love riding and ended up wining the guest Rodeo. (If you have a non-rider have them call the ranch and see what else they can do - there is great fishing, national parks, boating, golf, and other activities in the area.)

Other things to know:

They will lend you helmuts and boots, but it is first come first serve on the boots. We were the last guests in and we had no trouble getting boots.

Most lunch and dinners are adults only at group tables in the lodge. Be prepared to meet new friends.

There are no tv's in the rooms.

There are laundry machines in patio house - they supply soap. Machines and soap are free to use.

Room Tip: The rooms are all nice. If you want something quiet ask to be away from the patio house in a single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

This is our second summer here at C Lazy U .... And I cannot imagine going anywhere else! Our children get the experience of going to sleep away camp except we all get to gather together in the evenings to share our stories of our daily adventures! My husband, an avid fly fisherman, looks forward to his fishing expeditions and I get to enjoy the trailrides. And then we get to have a great dinner at a 4 star restaurant!

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valvo8568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

We have visited C Lazy U three times now and my daughters are begging to go back again. We travel all over the world and this is their top vacation spot. The landscape is fabulous, the people are warm, friendly and feel like family, the food is out of this world and the horses are well taken care of. I highly recommend this vacations to any family wanting to basically go to a luxury camp together!

Room Tip: Loved the Hill Cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momof3ponies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Have just returned from our 3rd family vacation at C Lazy U. Our 3 children are 12, 10 and 8 now. It has been one of the best family vacations we have taken together. Your children go on vacation and the adults go on vacation -- you get to do it together. From the moment of arrival, you know you've landed at a special spot. Children are embraced instantly by the counselor wranglers as you are shown to your accommodations and given the week's activity schedule.
Everyone is given a horse to ride for the week. Excellent horses and they are well cared for, the "Jingle" at the end of the day, never gets old. Our children and I have all been able to ride the same horse three years in a row. Riding isn't the only thing to do, fly fishing, ropes course, archery, trap shooting, wonderful spa, mountain biking, hiking, white water rafting, golf, tennis, ice cream in the hot tub (what could be better?!) ... Wranglers are so warm and friendly. You always feel as though you are part of the ranch family ... along with all of the other families there. We have made friends with families all over the country. And, continue that friendship -- actually plan to be together each summer the same week.
The food is fantastic, wine list excellent. Adults eat separately from the children, as the children prepare the evenings activity -- talent show, carnival, karaoke ... Smiles abound.
There's so much more to say about the excellent service and warm, welcoming atmosphere -- I'm afraid words can't do it justice. We'll keep going back for as long as we can.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FancyNancy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

The first time I visited the ranch was when my parents took me there with my sisters back in the 70's. It was my introduction to horses and Colorado and what planted the seed for me to move out West as an adult.

Returning back with my three boys, I worried about my expectations thinking that perhaps I should let my memories stay just as they were, as memories.

The trip, which now seems like a fantastic dream, was incredible and it began with the kids program and the dynamic and nurturing counselors, many of whom had stayed at the ranch with their families.

The comraderie shared between other guests and staff members was a rare experience, as we rode our horses together and ate the delicious food pared with exceptional wines.

I have so much more to say and it will all be available to read on my blog, Aspen Real Life.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AspenRealLifeAspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granby
10.9 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
15.5 mi away
Wild Horse Inn
Wild Horse Inn
#2 of 3 in Fraser
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
17.2 mi away
Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Ute Trail Motel
Ute Trail Motel
#2 of 3 in Hot Sulphur Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
11.1 mi away
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
Daven Haven Lodge & Cabins
#10 of 20 in Grand Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
11.4 mi away
Western Riviera Lakeside Lodging & Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to C Lazy U Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C Lazy U Ranch

Property: C Lazy U Ranch
Address: 3640 Colorado Hwy 125, Granby, CO 80446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Granby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Granby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1919 The C Lazy U luxury guest ranch has been celebrated around the world for its rich history, rustic elegance, legendary cuisine and signature 5-Spur Service. There is something for everyone. Kids enjoy adventure & discovery while adults do everything they want, or nothing at all. Corporations & groups enjoy this all inclusive ranch as a simple and secluded retreat destination. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
c Lazy u Ranch Hotel Granby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing