We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Reviewed January 9, 2009

We stayed here for one night between Christmas and New Year, booking using Priority Club points. We stayed here as a stopover after skiing and before out flight out of Denver

The hotel is to the west of Denver, about 30 miles from the international airport, but very close to Colorado Mills Mall, great for shopping, eating and I think there is a cinema there too

The hotel was clean, comfortable with basic kitchen amenites and the desk clerk was very friendly and helpful

My only complaint was the size of the bed against the size of the room, other than that everything was fine

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank CarolCochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 147 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2008

We booked a studio to stay three days with my family (spouse and a 2-year old daughter). The unit was rather small and the kitchen was not fully equipped. It's OK for a business traveler who doesn't plan to cook anything but it's not the best choice for a family. The location is great if you have a car. It's close to Colorado Mills Mall, about 15 minutes from Denver downtown and close to the major atractions in the Rockies (Buffalo Bill museum, Mount Evans, etc.)
I recommend it only if you are not planning to spend a lot of hours in the unit, just breakfast and sleeping.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Diego_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

This the best extended stay hotel I've seen. I was in town on business for 14 days and this hotel made me feel right at home. The beds are very comfortable, great linens and towels. The kitchenette is perfect, no need to eat out every night. Loved the free laundry. Plus this hotel is very quiet. No disturbances or noise at night at all. The suite is bigger than standard hotel rooms, too, making it more comfortable. Overall, for the price, it just doesn't get much better than this. Perfect for extended business trips.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank davab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

I only stayed one night here, but was very impressed with the the rooms, the ammenities in the room, and the cleanliness of the suites. I will definately stay at this and other Candlewood Suites in the future.

The manager (Donna??) was wonderful. After being delayed a day due to a cancelled flight, Donna did not charge me for the missed night and let me check in super early the nexty morning so I could shower and dress before my noon meeting. The other staff were friendly and willing to help. I really enjoyed my one night at the Candlewood Suites in Lakewood. Thanks again Donna!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LoshWVU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2008

We were originally booked at the Marriott Town Place Suites just up the street from this hotel. I had seen the property online, noted the lower price and similar features, but honestly had never stayed at a Candlewood Suites before and was hesitant.

When we got into town we stopped at the Marriott Town Place and looked around, and then thought, what the heck, let’s look at this property. We were first greeted by the general manager who was working the desk, and the warm, inviting greeting was a pleasant surprise. She showed us the one room suite and I was impressed, it was extremely clean, extremely nice, and much better than the Marriott. We than spent some time checking dates and availability, again outstanding customer service. It was an easy decision, book with Candelwood Suites and cancel with Marriott.

Our stay, each and every person behind the desk was so helpful and so friendly. The room was extremely clean, the kitchen was well stocked and everything almost seemed brand new. The facility was clean everywhere and very quite. It honestly felt like I was home. I can’t forget to mention the bed, wow was it soft and comfortable!

My wife and I come to Denver a lot to visit her brother and our new god daughter. I will only ever stay at your property! I travel the nation almost every week and stay in hotels almost 20 nights a month, and this was honestly the best I have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Amb_Medic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2008

My husband and I were on a vacation in Denver and we stayed at this hotel to be close to Red Rocks. We had only planned to stay at this hotel for one night, but enjoyed it so much we came back for another night.

The room itself was very clean, no noticeable smells (as noted in a previous review). We really liked having a microwave and refrigerator in the room. The bed was incredibly comfortable and very similar to our own. The decor looked fairly new, no outdated floral prints here!

The hotel is within driving distance to a new shopping area. (It's a 5-10 minute drive) We easily found a SuperTarget and lots of restaurants.

We paid an average of $100/night at this hotel. We thought this was a reasonable price for what was offered. We'll definitely stay again the next time we visit!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mich_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2008

After checking in, the clerk let me know that they serve breakfast on Wednesday morning. (I found out that was coffee and Donuts in the lobby when I showed up.)

I changed rooms 2 times within 5 minutes of checking in. The first room had a smell that I could not even describe. Maybe mold. The second room was so smoky I had to get out of there immediately. So I settled for the third room. Since my partner had the bedroom, I had the sofa sleeper in the living room. I opened the sleeper up and just about threw up. The mattress had no mattress pad, stains and dirt on the mattress and springs popping through. The sheets are in the closet so I am glad I could see what the mattress looked like. I grabbed the mattress and threw it out in the hallway and called the desk. I was told that the Maintenance Dept would be in the next day to replace it. I told them that was not Acceptable. So they brought me up another mattress. again no mattress pad. A little cleaner but a few springs sticking up. I was so tired I could not move again. I did go down to the desk and load up on blankets and bedspreads to use as padding on the mattress so I could cover the springs coming up through the mattress. There were springs missing from the foot of the bed which holds the bed together so the foot of the bed sagged and I had to put the coffee table under the foot just to keep the bed together. Whew!!

(positive)TV nice, lots of free movies to rent dvd and vhs(good), kitchen well supplied, internet connection convenient.

Make sure you get enough towels. Had to go down a few times and exchange them.

I don't know if I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ihearttotravel2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Denver West/Federal Center
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Denver West/Golden
5.1 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
1,104 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denver West - Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood

Address: 895 Tabor Street, Golden, CO 80401-4796
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Golden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Golden
Price Range: $128 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Candlewood Suites Denver-Lakewood, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Big, built for comfort or extended stay, it is the ultimate suite for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the DVD player. Borrow your favorites from our free DVD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. This setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. Located 1 mile from the Denver Federal Center, 3 miles from Historic Downtown Golden, 10 miles from Downtown Denver and only 1 hour away from the nearest ski resort. Pets allowed with a non refundable fee based on length of stay. $75 For 1-6 nights and $150 for 7+ nights. One pet allowed per suite, must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood Hotel Golden
Candlewood Suites Golden
Candlewood Golden
Golden Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing