We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value for the money”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We spent a week here earlier this month. Great location to most Metro and foothills areas with easy access from US 6 or i-70. The staff is responsive and friendly, housekeeping is weekly, but if needed you can request cleaning or at least fresh towels. Free washer and dryers are a great convenience. The convenience bar is adequately stocked. The entire facility is very clean. My wife and I stayed here for a week. This hotel only has rooms of one size, unlike other Candlewood Suites locations that have larger rooms available. This hotel is great for the business travaler or a couple, but would be crowded if the kids were along. Nice place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiwayyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie O, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Hiwayyman, thank you very much for sharing your kind comments! I'm so pleased to hear that our team took good care of you during your stay with us. Yes, our location is so convenient to many attractions and highways. When you return to Denver, please stay with us again and we'll roll out the red carpet for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    46
    25
    7
    6
See reviews for
26
45
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sandy Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

First things first, Amy was GREAT!!! I travel a lot and my younger brother started traveling with me in the last year and half, and Amy is one of the only guest agents he has ever talked about with a smile on his face. That's saying a lot. He thought she was one of the kindness front desk agent he can remember that was really nice... Well, we arrive very early in Denver. We normally don't have trouble with checking in early if the hotel is not sold out. Well, we were dropped off super early and she was more than kine to check us in early. I also enjoyed David who checked us in another time we stayed there just a few days prior. We used our points to stay this time, and I have to say overall though one problem may have arose, it was resolve as only I know that a IHG property will. To make sure that the guest is satisfied. Thank you all again for good customer service. Rooms are o.k. Bathrooms are nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evangelist S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Evangelist S,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and being an IHG Rewards Club Member. I am very pleased that you found our hotel staff, particularly our front desk, to be nice and accommodating. It is always hugely motivating on our end to receive commendable feedback from our valued guests like you and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The day we arrived, there was a problem with the boiler room. Repairs took longer than expected and we had no hot water. Then, a pipe broke and did some water damage. The staff tried to do all they could to make the situation tolerable. I especially commend the General Manager, Jacquelyn, for going out of her way to make things right. Guests need to remember that some things can't be helped. Everything else was great! Clean room, plenty of space, and the staff is very helpful. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoosterTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie O, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
RoosterTexas, I remember you well and thank you for your very kind comments! We strive daily to go out of our way to make things right for all of our guests. I'm thrilled to hear that you were impressed with your clean and spacious room. We can't wait to see you again, and promise to continue providing the same helpful and friendly service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel. Staff has been so friendly and helpful. Property is quite and clean. Smoke free. The room has all the latest appliances. Nice work area/ eating area. I have no complaints. I like it so well I'll be back next and will stay here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candlewood Suit... D, Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Rick, thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay! I am happy to hear that you were impressed with the staff. They focus on making every guests' stay extraordinary! It's wonderful that you enjoyed the great amenities in the suites! Most of all, I'm thrilled to hear that you will stay with us again! We look forward to serving you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
267 reviews
246 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed 2 nights at this location.
Overall, it was a pleasant and comfortable stay.
Aaron at the desk was very nice.
I'll start with the few "minuses:"
--small lobby area, but it was fine as it was not busy when I checked in.
--only one packet of coffee per stay and no shampoo or conditioner.
--the carpeting was a bit 'grimy.'
---the 3rd floor hallway smelled horribly of smoke, but there was no smoke odor in my room.
--uncomfortable pillows
Now the "pluses:"
Nice staff
Good location
Great lighting over desk area
Full kitchen is awesome with nice dishes supplied
Plenty of outlets
Nice leather desk chair and easy chair in room
Comfortable bed
Good water pressure ... plenty of hot water
Bathroom was large with huge mirror
Nice living room area in room
Nice decor in hotel entryway
I would stay here again!
: -)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eulalia_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candlewood Suit... D, Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you Eulalia_3 for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to let us know your thoughts. Please note that we will be replacing our corridor carpet at some point this year...it is in the making. And although there is not much we can about our lobby size, we will be renovating it this year to at least make is more contemporary and comfortable. We are also trying to figure out ways to eliminate the smoke smell in the hallways on 3rd floor...while I know we will not necessarily eliminate the smoking rooms, we will at least do our best to make it a bit more pleasant while walking the halls. I love that you will return again and that you do appreciate the great amenities and an awesome staff we have. We look forward to your return and hope by then all these "minuses" will be more "pluses".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We needed a place close to family for the holidays and Candlewood suites was great! The staff was very courteous and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable. Having the kitchenette area was a huge plus for us as we were here for nearly a week. Free laundry and affordable prices in their food and pantry area were great pluses! This will become our 'go-to' place when in CO visiting family!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candlewood Suit... D, Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Candlewood Suites Denver West! Your feedback is very important to us. We are so happy to hear that our hotel will be your "go-to" hotel in Colorado! Many guests like yourself enjoy the amenities and staff you mentioned, and we're thrilled that they met your needs! We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home in Colorado!

General Manager
Candlewood Suites, Denver West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
500 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We got to Colorado a day early, so we needed a place to stay before we could check into our condo at Keystone. We picked this hotel because it only cost 10,000 rewards points.

We had a nice suite on the second floor, no smells in the hall, or room as other have complained. Very comfortable queen sized bed, A nice kitchen and bathroom. Very clean.

They offer free use of washing machines and dryers on the first floor(bring your own soap). No breakfast so bring your own to cook or eat out.

We will stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candlewood Suit... D, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hello IHG Rewards member! We so appreciate that you chose our hotel to use your reward points, and we're happy to hear your bed was comfortable and your room was very clean. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to make certain every guest room is spotless! Next time you are on your way to your condo, we will be here to welcome you back!

General Manager
Candlewood Suites, Denver West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Denver West/Golden
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Denver West/Federal Center
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Denver West/Golden
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Denver West/Federal Center
1.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Denver West - Federal Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood

Property: Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood
Address: 895 Tabor Street, Golden, CO 80401-4796
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Golden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Candlewood Suites Denver-Lakewood, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Big, built for comfort or extended stay, it is the ultimate suite for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the DVD player. Borrow your favorites from our free DVD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. This setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. Located 1 mile from the Denver Federal Center, 3 miles from Historic Downtown Golden, 10 miles from Downtown Denver and only 1 hour away from the nearest ski resort. Pets allowed with a non refundable fee based on length of stay. $75 For 1-6 nights and $150 for 7+ nights. One pet allowed per suite, must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Denver - Lakewood Hotel Golden
Candlewood Suites Golden
Candlewood Golden
Golden Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing