We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stop Along Interstate 70”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Stop Along Interstate 70”
Reviewed May 30, 2008

My wife and I stopped here during our drive from Chicago, IL to Irvine, CA. The location was great for an overnight stay right off of the interstate.

Parking was free and abundant. The rooms were clean and came with a free bottle of water (I'm used to paying up to $4 for the same bottle in another hotel), free internet access, and breakfast was also included.

If you are looking for a good stop just outside of Denver, this is an excellent choice. We were well rested and prepared for the mountain driving the next morning.

  • Liked — Easy access off of the highway; included breakfast & internet
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dmx1759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear dmx1759, I would like to thank you for the positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you enjoyed the cross country trip from Irvine to Chicago via Golden Colorado.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    204
    87
    44
    24
See reviews for
260
164
32
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2008

The hotel is at the far end of W. Colfax next to a Home Depot and a sporting store. Its location means there's nowhere to eat or drink within walking distance, so driving is essential.

Parking is fine with some spaces at the front but more at the rear.

The room was a good size with plenty of space and power outlets to set up a laptop and use the inclusive wireless internet. You need an access code supplied with the room key to keep out the parking lot sniffers. The code expired on the morning of checkout so I had to get it renewed for a couple of hours.

Had a king room with a good quality bed and pleasant furnishings. The only annoyance was the TV which always defaulted to a loud volume when powered up requiring 5 seconds on the remote to avoid disturbing the neighbouring guests.

Breakfast was pretty good - a range of juices, muffins, danish pastries, cereals, and breads with two hot items each day. The food and drinks were monitored and replenished efficiently. There were two strengths of coffee as well as decaf and nice flavoured milks (french vanilla and hazelnut) to add an extra touch.

There is a small pool and workout area as well as a laundry room which requires a room key to access. Laundry was about $1.50 to wash and the same to dry.

Check-in and out was quickly handled.

All in all, good quality but would prefer somewhere nearer the Colorado Mills area restaurants so driving wasn't essential each night.

  • Liked — Quality of furnishings and bed
  • Disliked — Nothing withing walking distance
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinball_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Pinball_Traveller, I want to thank you for your review and I know it has been several years since your last stay with us. But since then there has been several restaurants open near the hotel all within walking distance in the same shopping center. There is Jack in the Box, Crocs Soup, Subway and Little Ricci’s. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, KS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

We decided on this hotel after reading other favorable reviews, and got a great rate. It was not difficult to find--directions on the website were clear and got us there. The lobby was welcoming, and the girl at the desk was efficient and friendly. Our request for a nonsmoking room on the second floor was honored. Beds were as comfortable as others have said. The room was large, and spotlessly clean. This was our first time at a Hampton, and we were impressed.

The only downside was that the room was warm. This was OK as we arrived after driving over the cold and snowy mountains west of Denver, but it was impossible to cool it down for good sleeping. We turned off the heat, left the fan on, tried the air conditioner, but it didn't come on, and finally opened the window a crack, which worked fine, until someone's car alarm went off repeatedly at midnight, and we had to close the window because of the noise. This resulted in us finding that the rooms are very well insulated for sound and were very quiet with the window shut. But that left the room still too warm to use the nice feather comforter that comes on the bed, but too cool to just use the sheet. A light blanket in the closet would have been nice and a convenient solution. But, all in all, the comfortable mattress made sleeping easier than it might have been otherwise.

Breakfast was a cut above the usual with both hot and cold items, all very good. There were plenty of tables, and the breakfast room was attended to by two hostesses who kept it well supplied and cleaned up. Check out was a breeze, and we were soon on our way feeling we would go back again, but perhaps ask for a downstairs room in the hope that it would be cooler than the upstairs room was.

  • Liked — spacious rooms and comfortable bed
  • Disliked — inability to adjust the room temperature easily
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dexldex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear dexldex, the Hampton Inn Golden would like to thank you for your review. Since your review the Hampton Inn Golden has had a complete renovation with need additions to our complimentary breakfast. We hope the next time you’re in the Golden area you choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2007

I was in Lakewood (Denver) for business. This hotel had great customer service, great beds, free breakfast and internet which is a huge deal when one is business travelling. There was ample parking and few restaurants nearby also. The breakfast pretty good and they have to go bags and free water bottles for those in a hurry. I thought that was great considering the "higher class" hotels charge an arm and a leg for breakfast.

The hotel only has wireless connections and I needed a wired connection, but they gave me a "bridge" which allows wired connections through a wireless device. The hotel is not accurate on any maps, so you must look for the Home Depot parking lot as it is in the same lot.

Overall, a good experience.

  • Liked — free internet and free breakfast
  • Disliked — location very hard to find
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dippen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Dippen, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the accurate and honest review. The hotel has gone a complete renovation since you last stay. We hope the next time you’re in the Golden area, you choose the Hampton Inn Golden as your home away from home.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

I just finished a 4-night stay at was very pleased. The bed was heavenly, the room large and the desk convenient. I especially liked how plugs were available on the outside of the desk so that I could conveniently plug and unplug--and not accidentally leave something after check out. The pool and spa were indoors and well maintained. The exercise room was simple but functional. Breakfast varied from biscuits/sausage/eggs, french toast/links, as well as the daily assortment of fresh fruit, cereal and breads.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank brownq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear brownq, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The hotel has gone a complete renovation since you last stay including state of the art Precor Fitness equipment. We hope the next time you’re in the Golden area, you choose the Hampton Inn Golden as your home away from home.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2007

We stayed in the Hampton/Golden for one night as we flew into Denver to begin a long vacation. It was worth the drive from the airport as the hotel was clean with very comfortable beds. The business center has two computers with free internet service. Breakfast was good with an adequate variety. Staff was courteous. The Hampton is very convenient to Red Rocks Amphitheatre and Dinosaur Ridge, which are worth visiting.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank TLHGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear IWillDare, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The hotel has gone a complete renovation since you last stay. The breakfast items have also been revamped to include a different item daily. We hope the next time you’re in the Golden area, you choose the Hampton Inn Golden as your home away from home.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

Stayed at this Hampton for one night recently, on the way up to the mountains for skiing with a friend. I was impressed by the cleanliness of the room and the comfort of the bed. We had a room with two queen beds, which had plenty of space. As others have mentioned, the bathroom is a little small, but this wasn't really an issue for me.

Breakfast was about what you expect from the "hot breakfast" at a chain...biscuits & gravy, some scrambled eggs, rolls, etc.

Nothing fancy, but the property was in very nice shape and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IWillDare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear IWillDare, thank you for reviewing the Hampton Inn Golden. Since you last stay in February 2007 the hotel has gone through a complete renovation. We hope you will think of us the next time you plan a ski trip.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denver West - Golden
2.7 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
1,013 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Denver West/Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Denver West/Golden
2.9 mi away
The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West Federal Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden

Property: Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
Address: 17150 W Colfax Ave, Golden, CO 80401-4841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Golden
#3 Business Hotel in Golden
#3 Family Hotel in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden Hotel Golden
Hampton Inn Golden
Golden Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing