We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, housekeeping needs some work” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, housekeeping needs some work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We reserved two rooms for New Years Eve and spent the evening in Central City. The staff is very friendly and the lobby is comfortable and welcoming. In one room, we found a really old discolored apple juice in the refrigerator, and in the other room a dirty sock on the floor by the bed. Things like this makes you wonder how clean the room really is. The bathrooms are very small with the door barely missing the toilet.
We did have to park a little out of the way when we returned in the early morning hour and things were ripped off of our car while it was parked. Be careful where you park your car in this area. There were kids in the area making noise and "peeling out" in the parking lots. This is also a reminder not to leave valuables in your car.
Breakfast was served until 10 which I found to be a little early considering it was New Year's Day and many guests could be sleeping in late. We were in the lobby before 10:15 and I was disappointed we did not get to have breakfast. It would have been wonderful had you extended your breakfast hours for a holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ima_Homesick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Ima_Homesick, Thank you so much for your feedback and apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We have addressed the issues you mentioned, and know that the comfort and safety of our guests are our highest priority. We hope that the next time you're in the area you see an improvement.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    191
    81
    40
    19
See reviews for
241
152
29
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for five nights after Christmas Day. The room was very clean and soooo comfortable. The hotel staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent and a big thanks to the lady who maintained it, very friendly and welcoming in the mornings. The maid service staff have to be commended for maintaining the cleanliness of the rooms.

The availability of fresh coffee, hot chocolate or tea, not to mention the cookies, was a welcomed pleasure after coming in from the cold. Our party consisted of three adults and two children. I highly recommend this hotel for families with children of all ages. We will definitely be back to stay next year. Thank you very much to all the staff at the Golden Co Hampton Inn for making us so comfortable during our stay.
Florida Family

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gulfbreeze2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Gulfbreeze2010-

Thank you so much for staying at our hotel during the holiday season and for your wonderful review of our property and our staff. I am pleased to know that your family had a pleasant stay and that our staff made you and your kids feel welcome. We truly look forward to having you stay with us again, and please do not hesitate to contact myself if you need any assistance with future reservations. Thank you once again and Happy New Year from the Hampton Inn Golden!!

Jaclyn Olson
Guest Service Manager
jaclyn.olson@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff. Really nice room, nice decor. Very clean. Loved the jacuzzi tub in my room. Very nice bathroom. Great breakfast area. Highly recommend. Great location near many restaurants. Was here on business and enjoyed my stay very much. Will stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MTHockeyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your review and your kind words towards our staff and property. We are so pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and we truly look forward to you visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
142 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

After traveling cross country for several days, we decided to "treat" ourselves and stay at a Hampton Inn. Cost was $140 compared to $90 or less we had been paying at competing hotels. As others have mentioned, it's hard to find. We passed it twice. It's sandwiched between a Home Depot and several strip malls. There is a view of the mountains if you can ignore the PetCo. The staff was friendly, prompt and professional. The room was fairly quiet. We could hear the tv next door and once rush hour started in the morning the traffic noise picked up. The bedding and decor were typical Hampton except for the 60's throwback carpeting(yuck). The bathroom had issues. As others have commented, it is very small and the door swings very close to the toilet. The shower rod was the old straight kind rather than the more current curved one. Both walls where the shower rod attached had been repaired and not well. One still had the drywall patch unsanded and unpainted. The other side had visible colorful wall screw anchors. The tub faucet had been repaired and still had untreated drywall and the faucet was mounted crooked. There was mold on the soap dish. The door handle had been "fixed" by placing a white paper shim under the plate. The door itself looked like it had seen better days. The toilet seat is cheaply made and tries to slide off if you sit on the cover. There was no shower cap, no makeup remover towelette, no mouthwash. We've had this and more in hotels chains that cost less than half of staying here! The carpet was frayed in places. We had the temperature set at 62 which caused the air conditioner to turn on and off all night even though it was only in the 30's outside. Not sure what you have to do to qualify for the paper delivery in the morning but it looked like we were the only ones on our floor that didn't get one. No biggee since they have them in the lobby. Breakfast was our last glimmer of hope. The coffee was good, the rest no so much. We got there just after 6:00 so we expected the food to be hot and fresh. The "scrambled eggs" were little yellow dried up tasteless globules and already cold. There was something called a bagel topper but we couldn't tell what it was ... maybe a bagel with cheese? The smoked sausage would have been great and different except it too was cold. The oatmeal was a big congealed lump so we didn't try it. Our last resort was cereal or some bread item. We opted for the cereal and it was ... cereal. There was some "fresh" fruit but it looked old. Overall we were very disappointed in this stay especially considering how much we paid. We'll go back to staying at the "cheaper" hotels.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Headwindtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Headwindtom, We appreciate that you chose to stay with us even though we know you had many other options. I apologize that you were disappointed with your experience and we are working with our staff to address the maintenance and noise issues. I'm discussing different options for neutralizing the outside disturbances with our security team and we're currently fixing the thermostat and untreated drywall. I've also spoken to our team to ensure we're offering quality breakfast items. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience and we truly value your business. We hope you'll give us another chance if you're in the area.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hampton Inn West Denver/Golden for 10 days in October 2012, during a trip for our 40th anniversary. I contacted the hotel prior to our arrival and asked for a room with a view of the mountains, explaining that it was for our anniversary and that, since we are from Florida, a mountain view would make the trip especially memorable. When we arrived at the hotel, not only were we greeted very warmly by a young lady at the front desk, Lily Chau, but given roses, a card, chocolate-dipped strawberries, AND keys to our room with a mountain view!

Throughout our visit, the entire staff was extremely helpful and friendly, but Lily was a real delight! Not only did she greet us by name every day, but always inquired as to our plans, if we needed any help or maps, and just made us feel very welcome.

Our room was immaculate, the breakfast excellent, and the staff (especially Lily) superb. While we always stay at Hampton Inns when we travel, this stay at the Hampton Inn in Golden was absolutely the best we have ever experienced!

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly and speak to the helpful staff ahead of time should you have any special req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBradys33486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear TheBradys33486, we are so pleased we were able to provide you the best stay ever. Happy 40th Anniversary from all of us at the Hampton Inn Golden, we are happy you decided to stay with us during your very special day. We truly appreciate your review and are excited to know Lily was able to provide you with outstanding service during your stay. We hope you see you again on your next anniversary.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The front desk staff was great! Rooms were clean. Breakfast was good quality hot breakfast. for a 'included' option of the room. The hotel is located where you can visit several historical landmarks in a two week time frame. We thoroughly enjoyed the room and it's location. You must try Little Ricci's right by the hotel for dinner.
I had a points creating issue and Paul, the general manager was outstanding at resolving the issue quickly and fairly for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daneille S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Daneille S, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was quite surprised you mentioned me in your review. It was a pleasure meeting you and discussing Jacksonville football. Thanks again for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip. It was very near my office which was fantastic. It was also right in a little cluster of businesses so their were a few places to eat within walking distance.

My room was clean and nicely decorated although to me it smelled a little too much like fabric softener. I always worry when their is a strong smell of air freshener or something similar because it makes me wonder what smell they are trying to cover up. Two minor complaints: the bathroom was awkwardly designed to where you have to squeeze to one side to shut the door forcing you to touch the toilet - just seems like a design flaw. Also, the rear entrance key card door apparently doesn't work consistently which no one told me so when I returned late one night and tried to use it, I had to walk around the hotel to the front door in the dark. Not very happy about that.

The staff was very helpful and accomodating. The breakfast spread looked great although I only had coffee. Overall, this is a decent hotel and I will probably stay here again on my next trip to Denver.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnGolden, General Manager at Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Christina H, we would like to thank you for taking the time to comment about our hotel. I do however, want to apologize for the issue with the back entrance door, I want to ensure that the safety and security of our guest is to the utmost importance. Since your stay the back entrance door lock has been replaced and is working flawlessly. Regarding the fabric softener smell you refer to in your comment this is actually Frebreze Linen & Sky scent which is used in all Hamptons. The good thing is Hampton Inns offer Allergy Free rooms which can be requested prior to your arrival so you can avoid additional scents. If you have any questions I would be happy to assist you, please feel free to contact me directly at 303-278-6600.

Sincerely,

Paul Urioste
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
2.7 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denver West - Golden
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Denver West/Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Denver West/Golden
2.0 mi away
Denver Marriott West
Denver Marriott West
#7 of 18 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden

Property: Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
Address: 17150 West Colfax Avenue, Golden, CO 80401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Golden
#3 Family Hotel in Golden
#3 Business Hotel in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden Hotel Golden
Hampton Inn Golden
Golden Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing