We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit of a rip off.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Denver Marriott West
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
HAYDEN
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bit of a rip off.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nice enough hotel, good location for us. However the room rate is way to high for what you get. Hotel is very average, they are making efforts to be a very upscale hotel but fall short. Many so called lesser hotels in the Marriott family offer much more for much less. I hate having to pay for things that are included at 90% of other hotels such as wi-fi and breakfast. It was not a small charge for these items either. Hotel is very clean and staff was very helpful but $13 a day for wi-fi kinda broke he camels back. Maybe less candy and cookies at check-in and in stead provide more useful services in the nightly rate. Not sure if we will stay here again based on what we feel is gouging the customer.

Room Tip: Ask for room close to lobby or you could be in for a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLOYD W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    157
    70
    23
    10
See reviews for
93
72
14
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

For $200.00 per night you would think you would at least get a cold breakfast. It was very nosiy the rooms were not as nice as ones $70.00 cheaper. I will not stay here again. Not worth the price. The breafast and dinner prices were to high.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Level Contributor
267 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is decent hotel with a great staff. Everyone is extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel itself feels a bit like a Marriott skin on top of an older motel skeleton. Most of the rooms are either close to the noise of an ice machine, elevator, or have line of sight to the highway. They have done a nice job of outfitting the rooms. The restaurant serves a good breakfast. There are plenty of the standard eateries across the highway (I was informed that you can't walk there, but the hotel runs a shuttle to them for convenience).

It's a decent stay, but could probably be better with some infrastructure improvements.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguyPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights while he attended a conference. The elevators are a ways from the lobby and then we were a long way from the elevators on the 6th floor, so I got my exercise while there. The room was a little small, but adequate with a nice view of the National Renewable Energy Labs and the mountains. There is a shopping center with Whole Foods, DSW, restaurants, and movies that you can walk to if you like to walk, but there are busy streets around. Across a busy wide street is Colorado Mills Mall and various stores and restaurants around that. Again you can walk, but it's not a little stroll. All in all we had a nice stay there, altho I had greater expectations of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottWestMgmt, Manager at Denver Marriott West, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I'm glad that you had the opportunity to visit while your husband attended the conference. The mall and theaters across the highway can be a great diversion. I hope that you enjoyed your shopping experience. While the walk may be more than one wants to take on...or shopping has been successful and the packages are plentiful, we are happy to provide shuttle service. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here for a business trip. The staff was quick, helpful and friendly. Very clean, the rooms were nicely decorated, and you can control the thermostat in your room. The resturant inside the hotel is also nice, the food was great and the bartenders/waitstaff were attentive and quick. The resturant was, however, very cold. The coffee shop within the hotel was excellent. The same person worked each day I was there, and he was always friendly and made the best coffee I've ever had!! :) If you get a chance to stay here, please do. They'll even hook you up with a shuttle ride to and from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklefacer520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottWestMgmt, Manager at Denver Marriott West, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I am glad that business brought you to us and appreciate you being our guest. Our staff truly takes pride in making sure that you feel the comforts and conveniences of home while on the road. We know that a good meal and a great cup of coffee can make all the difference. Please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Love the location of the Denver Marriott West. Easy access to anywhere you want to go. The grounds of this hotel are well maintained and the service was very good. The room we stayed in was clean, but definitely showed signs of wear. The bathroom at this hotel was so small it was impossible for my husband and I to be in there at the same time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjcast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

When I go to Denver on business I stay at the Denver Marriott West. It is just 10 minutes from downtown Denver. The staff is always freindly. The rooms are always neat and clean. I usually use the gym too. Overall it meets all of my needs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mama29papa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Denver West/Golden
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Denver West/Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denver West - Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denver Marriott West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denver Marriott West

Property: Denver Marriott West
Address: 1717 Denver West Blvd, Golden, CO 80401-3294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Golden
#6 Business Hotel in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Denver Marriott West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Denver Marriott West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Marriott West Hotel Golden
Marriott Hotel Golden
Marriott Golden
Golden Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing