We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Golden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dove Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Golden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best of Golden”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was our second stay here and it was just as wonderful as the first! Great location; quiet, lovely rooms; great breakfast and terrific hosts. I always enjoy being able to sit in the front garden and watch the world go by. Home made cookies are the best!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanmckibben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
60
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tenn.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

It's clean, comfortable, convenient, well-run, just a perfect home away from home when we stayed in Golden on a recent long weekend getaway.
They let us check in a couple hours early. They accommodated a request for an early breakfast on the morning of our departure for the airport. They asked what our favorite cookie was (coconut macaroon) and made them.
We came back late from Neil Young and Crazy Horse concert at Red Rocks, and there were the macaroons under glass in self-service snack and coffee area. The living room and dining area were roomy and inviting. Breakfast was excellent and included healthier options such as chicken sausage with a luscious lemon custard french toast.
Our room (Red Rocks Room) was nicely furnished and very comfy, they had an extensive collection of DVDs. A forward-looking environmental impact policy was evident in the reusable water bottles, flourescent light bulbs and other touches. Also noteworthy was the bathtub in our room. It was so long, an NBA player could take a good bath in it. Just very good, personalized service and great attention to detail.
The Dove Inn sits right across the street from one of the better ethnic restaurants in town, Thai Gold, and half a block from old-town Golden's main thoroughfare, Washington Street. Made it a breeze to walk to shopping, restaurants, coffee bars, bar bars, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noriboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We only stayed one night here and I was sad to go. The house is large and tastefully decorated. We stayed in the downstairs room which was nice as we didn't have to go up all the stairs to the other rooms. Our room was lovely. To note- the air conditioning is on a wall switch and we didn't know that, so we woke up the innkeeper because we thought a fuse had blown. We felt really bad about this - so sorry Elizabeth. The innkeeper, Elizabeth, was super friendly and helpful. She even loaned us umbrellas as it was raining. Guests can use a shared fridge if needed. Coffee, tea, and snacks (fruit, cookies) are always available. Breakfast was tasty. This place is in walking distance of downtown- a neat walk. The Coors brewery is also close. Also to note - We chose this place because it was close to the red rocks area. It is, maybe a 10-15 minute drive. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hulagirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The Dove Inn is conveniently located near downtown historic Golden, Colorado. Of all the B&Bs we've stayed at over the decades (about 200), this is in the top 10%!

Like most B&Bs, it has historic charm, and it offers a wonderful breakfast (better than most). But at the Dove Inn, everything works! The shower, the hair dryer, the toilet, the windows, the lamps, the key, the TV, the overhead fan, the air conditioner, etc. This is rare in our experience.

The room was well appointed, candies in a bowl, instructions, bower window with comfortable chair, choice of pillows, lots of light if desired. Our hosts were "inn sitters" for the owners, but they were exceedingly competent and friendly and helpful. Did I mention homemade cookies in the parlor with current newspapers and dining menus?

The two drawbacks we noticed were that there is no on-site parking (although street parking is usually available right in front of the inn) and the window air conditioner had trouble keeping up with the unusual heat wave that affected Colorado this year so that the noise was not pleasant through the night.

We would go back again and again if we lived in Colorado, and even the price was attractively low!

Room Tip: We had a corner suite, the other rooms looked good also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmarKhayyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Would like to thank all at the Dove Inn Golden it was amazing beautiful accomodation and the breakfast were to die Thank you for a great Stay

Room Tip: The Location to Bars and \Restaurants was great just around the corner Coors Brewery 2 Mins walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durango46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This was our second time staying at the Dove Inn and the first with the new owners. Golden is still a great location, a nice quite town with some interesting shops and a few good restaurants and is a great gateway to the Rockies as well as everything else Denver has to offer. The Inn itself if a great place to stay with the rooms clean and well appointed. Elizabeth the innkeeper made us feel extremely welcome and cooked lovely breakfasts.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Heath, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

What can I say about Dove Inn that won't jump immediately to superlatives? Think of a touristy, but very attractive town on the edge of the Front Range in Colorado, then take a house that was constructed in 1868 (and added on to since), convert it to a B&B, and then add a warm and engaging couple who will make your stay very pleasant.

Breakfasts are first-rate and varied, and coffee and snacks are available in the spacious living area. Our bedroom was well furnished, the bed comfortable.

The house has a pleasant front porch and garden, which is provided with chairs and tables for relaxing in the cool early Summer Colorado days.

The house itself is situated only a few hundred feet from Golden's main street, and only two blocks from the center of town. Parking is on the street, but we never experienced any difficulty in finding a spot close by. There are plenty of good places to eat in easy walking distance, and for touring the area, easy access to Interstate 70 and several Colorado highways.

We would unhesitatingly visit Dove Inn again when we're in the area, not least to renew our acquaintance with Elizabeth and Ric, and I believe anyone seeking first-rate bed & breakfast accommodations in the Golden area should give their web site a good look.

Room Tip: The ground floor room is across the hall from the living area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rico567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.1 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
1,061 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
0.2 mi away
The Silk Pincushion
The Silk Pincushion
#13 of 18 in Golden
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denver West - Golden
3.2 mi away
Denver Marriott West
Denver Marriott West
#5 of 18 in Golden
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Dove Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 711 14th St, Golden, CO 80401-1906
Location: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Golden, Colorado, the Dove Inn Bed & Breakfast is walking distance to the Colorado School of Mines, the Coors Tour, and all the shops, restaurants, museums, and attractions in the downtown area. A hearty breakfast, comfortable guest rooms, and friendly hospitality await you here. Free Wi-Fi, cable TV, DVD players. All rooms have private baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Dove Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing