We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden in Golden”
Review of Elote's Cafe - CLOSED

Elote's Cafe
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican, Cafe, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: There is a mistake in your description, our restaurant is a Venezuelan and Latin American Restaurant. Please could you fix this? We will appreciated it Regards Luis Asprino
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
124 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Golden in Golden”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Like the precious metal for which the town is named, the tucked away Venezuelan inspired eatery is a keeper. Don't let the strip mall location on the edge of town fool you. Elote's may lack a flashy address, but you don't eat addresses. Dining is about the atmosphere inside, and of course, the food. The husband and wife team make diners feel at home. The atmosphere is airy with modern art alighting the walls, and sleek chairs of steel to sit in. The food boasts exotic but yet comforting flavors and textures, and with entrées less that $10.00, the value is unbeatable. A true delight.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bretjina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    14
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Eating latin american food this far from the sub-continent most of the time is almost either too plain or too dry, but at this place the authentic goes beyond the real deal to levels of being almost gourmet.
The flavors, the textures and the attention to detail is way beyond your typical mexican/hispanic place. Their version of Flan is beyond anything on these parts, their Venezuelan dishes quite good and their fast and pleasing service a rare treat, in this easy going town. Highly recommend if your adventurous, some of dishes you will not find anywhere else from here to Dallas.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank herivasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A must go place in Golden, Colorado”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

If you want to taste incredible food, that is different than your every day food, this is the place to go. Real modern latin food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edgar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
248 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“One of those local gems”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We felt we were in Venezuela! We were unfamiliar with almost all the dishes and enjoyed all of them. They are small, similar to tapas. I had the best squid dish I've ever eaten anywhere in the world. The place is small, so call ahead for reservations. And, yes, like the reviews suggest, it is hard to find and the owner is a fantastic host!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rutman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
139 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“A bit of a challenge to find, but glad we did”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This cafe was a jewel in the rough. The food was outstanding, and the staff friendly and helpful. My actual intent for this review is to make the cafe more visible so the family is successful in their endeavor.

Give it a try, you won't regret it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieCdA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing