We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lebanese food at an affordable price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ali Baba Grill

Ali Baba Grill
Ranked #9 of 148 Restaurants in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Lebanese food at an affordable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

The food at Ali Baba is authentic and plentiful. Our favorites include the lamb shank and any of the kebab combos. Their hummus is just right, not too salty like other places. I've been to the Middle East a couple of times, and the food here is pretty close to what you'd get there. Service can be a bit slow at times, especially when they're crowded.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Geodyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    48
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watkinsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

The atmosphere is amazing with authentic walls, fountains, etc. imported from Syria. The food was very good, huge helpings. The pita bread and hummus were outstanding. Ordered the Traditional Lebanese Meat Combo for 2 and had enough to feed 4. Lamb, Chicken and Kafta kabobs perfectly cooked followed by Baklava. The wait staff was awesome and answered any questions about the surroundings and food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harlaxton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
202 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Affordable healthy meal options.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Authentic Lebanese/Persian staples. Hummus; felafel; lentil soup et all. Cliental are regularly of Persian heritage I always take that as a good sign in authenticity and quality -"the proof is in the baklava" so to speak (although - don't bother with their baklava - that one thing is not very good) The ambience and decor offers a Turkish flavour; there is no license for alcohol; basic outdoor seating offered in warmer months and being front range Colorado Rocky region people often sit out there with their dogs.

All over, a variety of healthy meal options priced reasonably.

Service is friendly and unobtrusive. Casual and relaxed dining.

(website doesn't seem to be working)

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IMJetlagged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Holy cow this place is great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Try the Chai tea - best I've ever had. Great place, wonderful food, good value, wish I had heard of this place earlier.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ianm12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
218 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Love the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

What is it about finding good food and strip malls? It happens people! Not always, but sometimes. And sometimes it's Yelp-worthy.

An ad rep came to visit me today and we ended up at Ali Baba Grill for lunch - I hadn't been in ages and quickly worked up a craving for chicken shawarma...and falafel...and gyros. At the time it ALL sounded good.

We arrived and were promptly seated and orders taken. I got my chicken shawarma and loved every bite. My rep went with the gyro lunch entree and co-worker had the lamb kebab. HELLO! I had one bite and *almost* regretted my initial choice. But no worry, I'll be back and will have a whole kebab all to myself. Maybe even two!

As always the falafel was most dee-lish, as was everyone's entree. My ONLY (small) gripe with Ali Baba is: where does everyone go when it's time for the check? Seriously it's pulling teeth to get the bill there. Usually you can flag someone down and give the "we're ready for the check" wave but sometimes it's a little challenging.

No worries though, the food and atmosphere make up for it - at least in the upper level where the decor is Mediterranean-inspired and very inviting.

I work in Golden and our restaurant options are few - thank goodness for little strip-mall gems like Ali Baba Grill.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank writegirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ali Baba Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing