We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Capitol Grill

Old Capitol Grill
Ranked #42 of 148 Restaurants in Golden
Price range: $10 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Bremen, Oh
Level Contributor
130 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Great spot downtown. A statue of Adolf Coors stands just outside of this Grill. We stopped because of the history of the building, as told by our Coors Brewery Tour Guide. We dined on the outdoor patio. Awesome views of downtown Golden.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela_45869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    111
    70
    46
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
west chester pa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best thing about the place is the porch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We enjoyed sitting outside on a beautiful summer evening. That was the best part of the meal. Service polite but excruciatingly slow. The food was below average, in fact, it was bad. Our table shared tasteless nachos.. My daughter had a bowl of very disappointing chili, which is described in mouth-watering terms on menu but VERY bad texture and tasteless in reality... I had the blackened chicken tacos. The worst I have ever eaten anywhere. This would have been a total bust if we hadn't enjoyed the patio so much... I would never go back...even for the patio.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank corgilover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Will start by saying the staff was friendly and accommodating. Short wait times to be seated and for food to arrive after ordering. Was disappointed with the food. My husband and son ordered the Pioneer steak and were not impressed with the entree or the sides. Food tasted like it was premade and frozen, not freshly prepared. Very bland with little seasoning. Although prices were average, seemed expensive for the quality of the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vkochenower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Shores, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for a bite to eat. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The food was incredible. The decor was a mix of old and new decor with cool stuff like money vaults from back in the day, etc. This restaurant is a place you definitely want to check out while in Golden. It's near the Coors beer place so you can check that out while here also!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jody J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Food - Good Selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Looking for a place to eat dinner while walking the downtown area of Golden, CO. Old Capitol Grill was a good choice as we had 7 in our party, and the menu selection satisfied each of us. Our salad was crisp and fresh, French onion soup was delicious as well. Three in our party had New York steak served perfectly as ordered. Side selections gave many choices. This restaurant location has an interesting history, and being an old building with tall ceilings kept the noise level down, making conversation easy for our group.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Capitol Grill also viewed

 

Been to Old Capitol Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing