We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a good meal & I love the apple” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Capitol Grill

Old Capitol Grill
Ranked #42 of 148 Restaurants in Golden
Price range: $10 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
96 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place for a good meal & I love the apple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I eat at the Capitol Grill several times a month. The food is always good and the selection is varied. Service is good and the apple is a great "take away."

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JHMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    111
    70
    46
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

This was the second time I have been here Both times the food has been great. Unfortunately the service this second time had something to be desired. Being the klutz I am, I accidentally spilt my mostly full glass of soda all over the table. I was able to wipe up the majority of it, but as tried to get the attention of our waitress to get a new one -- she was too busy flirting with two young gentleman and the few times she checked on tables it was never ours or the one next to us.

The first time I went the food and service was excellent. I will probably give the restaurant another try as the food was amazing, but if I ever get the same waitress I will ask to be moved to another area.

Recommend you try it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank rkymtn97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food in historic downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We visited Golden a little late (around 3:00) on a weekday afternoon. We went to the historic downtown area and just sort of picked this place because we liked the vibe of it. It is in a historic building and just seemed cool. We had to wait about 15 minutes to be seated and it was surprisingly sort of crowded for that time of day. My wife and I each had the onion soup (awesome), an order of chicken fingers (decent) and split a buffalo burger (had to try it - quite tasty). The portions were very large for the price. We had a Coors "banquet" beer just because the factory is there (not very good). Service was a little slow and waitress was just OK. Nice bar in the front for watching sports.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hydrorock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lunch with car club”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a group of about 20 go for lunch and they provided great service for us. No waiting because of the size of our group. Old Golden flavor for décor.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ROKColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
131 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great place and Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Worth stopping in for lunch when in Golden.
The selection of local brews is good.
The food is great- i had the bison melt
Service is attentive and quick

Not the place for an upscale meal though - an average bar interior but clean and bright interior.
Do not expect fancy menu either, mostly bar food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller187B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Capitol Grill also viewed

 

Been to Old Capitol Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing