We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

The location is perfect for this hotel and the staff is wonderful. The room was large but the decor is rather dated and the bathroom rather small. This is our second stay here and we would definately come back. Highly recommend the restaurant as well. No charge for parking and the free wifi worked perfectly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onthegoTwainHarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing the award-winning Golden Hotel, we are so pleased you selected to stay with us again. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the amenities including our in-house restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Golden, Colorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    124
    29
    9
    5
See reviews for
164
159
18
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, OK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel is lovely. I was told that they had recently remodeled the rooms. We had a regular Double room that was not huge, but comfortable. The only thing we did not like about the room itself was the very small vanity/sink. Our room overlooked Washington Street and at times we could hear all the noise from the street. Get a room that overlooks the Bluffs or Clearwater creek, less noise.

We ordered Room Service for Breakfast one morning and it was wonderful! The lounge was great and the drinks were well made.

We were here for a wedding and reception which all went out without a hitch. The reception was a plated dinner with chicken or pork and it was fabulous. The wedding was held outside under the Pergola and it was as pretty as a postcard.

All the Staff; from the wedding planners, to the nice Gentleman that helped us with our luggage, were awesome. I highly recommend this venue to all the future Brides out there.

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the Bluffs or Clearwater Creek, less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillbrook11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. We are so pleased you enjoyed our property and that you found everything to be just perfect for the wedding. I will definitely share your comments with all our team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a great wedding and I just wanted to say hats off to the Golden Hotels staff. Everyone of them was attentive, sensitive to the guest and their special request, several stayed in rooms and raved about the stay. Oh and the food, wonderful and served so well from presentation to selection and taste!

I'd highly recommend them!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your amazing 5 star review of our property. We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel and had a “great wedding”. We are so honored you selected us as the location for your special day. We consider a recommendation one of the highest compliments we could receive, so again thank you very much. I will be sure to share your comments with all of our team members and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a great location, right off of Washington Ave and walking distance to shops, local breweries and restaurants. The room we had was huge, like they combined two rooms into one. The large double sink area outside the tiny bathroom left little room for improvement. The two small changes that would make it better is to move the fixed soap/lotion dispenser between the two sinks and install a towel bar for each sink. The bathroom is tiny (like midtown New York City sized) so watch where you step.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chritty_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review; we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate guest feedback and take it into consideration as we are always striving to improve guest satisfaction. Thank you again, we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

3 of us shared large suite for one night July 28 concert night. Nice large room with living room area. Beds were comfortable. We had end room- quiet. Hotel staff were friendly and gave tips for getting to Red Rocks Concert early for parking.
Only draw back- they knew 3people would be in room and we only had 2wash cloths- too late and last one in shower at midnight to get another! Maid made up sofa bed but springs were uncomfortable . We would stay again.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Screensave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed the hotel as well as our team and our location. We are however, disappointed that there was an inconvenience with how many wash cloths were in the room. Our front desk staff is available 24 hours a day and are always more than willing to accommodate any additional items needed in your guest room.. We were also disappointed to learn that you found our sofa beds uncomfortable as they are brand new as of this year with the completion of our guest room renovations. We take all of our guest comments very seriously and will look into a way to make our brand new sleeper sofas more comfortable.


We hope that you would consider staying with us again if your future travels bring you back to the area or for another concert at Red Rocks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We choose to stay in Golden because it was very close to the Ampitheater. We fell in love with the little town of Golden and especially with the Golden Hotel. Graciella at the front desk couldn't be more gracious! All of the front desk were courteous and gracious. The staff in the restaurant were so friendly and made several excellent recommendations. The rooms were very clean, large and comfy and quiet! Love the view of the creek and all of the folks tubing on a hot day. My only regret is that we didn't have more time to explore and enjoy the Golden Hotel. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worthotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review of our property. We are absolutely thrilled your enjoyed stay. We appreciate your kind words; and it will be my absolute pleasure to share your comments with the entire team. Thank you again – we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We chose to stay here because it is close to Red Rocks Amphitheater and we needed somewhere to crash after the concert. We'll definitely return because the service is superb. We were greeted by two lovely desk attendants and a charming lobby with a wooden staircase and rock fireplace. Our room was decorated with a perfect combination of rustic mountain masculine and soft luxurious comfort. The view of the river and mountain was perfect. We had plenty of towels, and appreciated the toiletry dispersers and other environmentally conscious touches. The shower head was low, but the pressure was good. An in-room mini-fridge and microwave was an appropriate amenity I've come to expect at this class of hotel. The location is perfect to enjoy this charming mountain town. We will find a reason to return so that we can further enjoy this lovely location.

Room Tip: A view of the river or the butte is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeKB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your amazing review of our property. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, as we pride ourselves providing exceptional customer service and exceeding guest expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
952 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Denver West/Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Denver West/Golden
0.4 mi away
The Silk Pincushion
The Silk Pincushion
#13 of 18 in Golden
33 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denver West - Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel

Property: The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
Address: 800 11th St, Golden, CO 80401-1104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Golden
#1 Romantic Hotel in Golden
#1 Family Hotel in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Golden Hotel is located in the heart of historic downtown Golden overlooking the foothills of the Rocky Mountains. Featuring over 6,500 square feet of meeting and event space, an in-house restaurant and lounge with creekside dining, this solar powered hotel offers guest amenities such as five star bedding and plush robes, flat panel televisions with HD programing and complimentary high speed internet access. 12 miles west of Denver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing